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SHOCK THERAPY STATUTE 

  

By: James Orlando, Associate Analyst 

 
You asked for a summary and history of the statute addressing 

informed consent for shock therapy (CGS § 17a-543(c)). 

SUMMARY 

 
Connecticut law generally prohibits shock therapy from being 

administered to a patient without the patient’s written informed consent.  
The patient may revoke the consent at any time, and the consent is valid 
for up to 30 days.  

 
If the head of the hospital and two qualified physicians determine that 

a patient has become incapable of giving informed consent, shock 
therapy may be administered following a probate court order after a 
hearing.  The court must find that (1) the patient is incapable of informed 
consent and (2) there is no other, less intrusive beneficial treatment. 
Such an order is valid for up to 45 days (CGS § 17a-543(c)). 

 
For these purposes, the law defines shock therapy as a form of 

psychiatric treatment in which electric current, insulin, carbon dioxide or 
indoklon, or other similar agent is administered to the patient and 
results in a loss of consciousness or a convulsive or comatose reaction.  
Informed consent is defined as permission given competently and 
voluntarily after a patient has been informed of the reason for treatment, 
the nature of the proposed treatment, its advantages or disadvantages, 
medically acceptable alternatives, the risks associated with receiving the 
proposed treatment, and the risk of no treatment (CGS § 17a-540). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319i.htm#Sec17a-543.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319i.htm#Sec17a-543.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319i.htm#Sec17a-540.htm
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Connecticut law has limited the use of shock therapy without a 

patient’s informed consent since at least 1971.  Following the 1971 act, 
the provision on shock therapy was codified at CGS § 17-206d; it was 

later moved to CGS § 17a-543.   
 
Since 1971, significant changes to the statute include the following, 

among others: 
 
1. a 1978 act (1) set separate consent requirements for shock therapy 

and other types of medical or surgical procedures for mental health 
treatment, (2) eliminated differences between the consent 
requirements for patients who were voluntarily or involuntarily 
admitted, and (3) provided that shock therapy could be given 
without a patient’s consent only following an order of the probate 
court under specified circumstances; 

 
2. a 1993 act strengthened the definition of informed consent; and 

 
3. a 2003 act set a 45-day limit on probate court orders authorizing 

shock therapy for people unable to give informed consent.  
 
Below, we summarize substantive changes to the shock therapy 

statute since 1971.  We also summarize certain substantive changes to 
definitions that apply to the shock therapy statute.  We do not include 
minor or technical changes.  

HISTORY OF CHANGES TO SHOCK THERAPY STATUTE  

 
1971, P.A. 834 

 
1971, P.A. 834 established the general requirement for informed 

written consent prior to electroshock therapy.  The act differentiated 
between patients who were admitted voluntarily and involuntarily.   

 
For voluntary patients, the act prohibited performing medical or 

surgical procedures, including electroshock therapy, without the 
patient’s written informed consent.  For involuntary patients, the act 
prohibited performing medical or surgical procedures, including 
electroshock therapy, without the written informed consent of (1) the 
patient’s guardian, if any; (2) the patient’s next of kin; or (3) a qualified 
physician appointed by a probate court judge who signed the 
hospitalization order.  

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319i.htm#Sec17a-543.htm
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The act did not define electroshock therapy.  It defined informed 
consent as permission given on the basis of knowledge of the 
implications, consequences, or possible consequences or effects of that 
permission. 

 
PA 74-35 

 
PA 74-35 added a provision allowing for electroshock therapy (and 

other medical or surgical procedures) for a voluntary patient whom the 
head of the hospital and two qualified physicians determined had become 
incapable of giving informed consent.  In that situation, the procedure 
could be performed only with the written informed consent of the same 
parties who could give informed consent for involuntary patients (i.e., a 
guardian, next of kin, or qualified physician appointed by a probate 
judge). 

 
The act also added a provision allowing for emergency measures, 

including medical or surgical procedures (such as electroshock therapy), 
without the consent otherwise required if the head of the hospital, in 
consultation with two physicians, determined that the patient’s condition 
was of such a critical nature that it would be immediately fatal unless a 
medical or surgical procedure were administered.  This provision applied 
whether the patient had been admitted voluntarily or involuntarily. 

 
PA 76-227 

 
This act added a provision prohibiting a facility from requesting or 

requiring blanket consent to all procedures as a condition of admission 
or treatment for mental illness.  
 
PA 78-219 

 
PA 78-219 reorganized the statute and made several substantive 

changes concerning shock therapy.  The act established consent 
requirements for shock therapy or psychosurgery (e.g., lobotomy) that 
differed from the requirements for other medical or surgical procedures.   

 
For psychosurgery and shock treatment, the act no longer 

differentiated between patients who had been admitted voluntarily or 
involuntarily.  It also eliminated the ability of a guardian, next of kin, or 
court-appointed physician to give consent on a patient’s behalf, as prior 
law allowed regarding (1) voluntarily admitted patients who were no 
longer capable of giving informed consent or (2) involuntary patients.    
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The act generally prohibited shock therapy or psychosurgery without 
the patient’s written informed consent, specified that the patient could 
revoke the consent at any time, and made the consent valid for up to 30 
days. 

 
Under the act, if the head of the hospital and two qualified physicians 

determined that a patient had become incapable of giving informed 
consent, shock therapy could be administered following a probate court 
order after a hearing.  The court had to find that (1) the patient was 
incapable of informed consent and (2) there was no other reasonable 
alternative procedure. 

 
The act removed shock therapy and psychosurgery from the provision 

allowing for emergency measures without consent under certain 
circumstances (see PA 74-35). 

 
The act also added definitions for shock therapy and psychosurgery.  

Other than technical changes, the definitions have not changed since 
then (see summary above for shock therapy definition).  
 
PA 93-369 

 
This act strengthened the definition of informed consent.  It defined 

such consent as permission given competently and voluntarily after the 
patient had been apprised of the reason for treatment, the nature of the 
proposed treatment, its advantages or disadvantages, medically 
acceptable alternatives, the risks associated with the proposed 
treatment, and the risk of no treatment. Prior law required that the 
patient be apprised of the implications, consequences, or possible 
complications and effects of the proposed treatment. 

 
The act deleted the provision specifically prohibiting a facility from 

requesting or requiring blanket consent to all procedures as a condition 
of admission or treatment, but made many other changes expanding the 
rights of patients being treated for mental illness to consent to their 
treatment (e.g., providing involuntary patients in many circumstances 
with the right to refuse medication). 

 
PA 03-31 

 
This act established a 45-day limit on probate court orders 

authorizing shock therapy for people unable to give informed consent. 
The law already set a 30-day limit on voluntary consents, but did not 

limit the duration of involuntary orders.  
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Before issuing an involuntary order, the act required probate court 
judges to find, after a hearing, that there was no other less intrusive, 
beneficial treatment. Under prior law, the court instead had to find that 
no other reasonable alternative procedure existed.  

 
 
JO:ro 


