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CALIFORNIA’S SELF-DRIVING VEHICLE LAW

By: Paul Frisman, Principal Analyst

You asked for a summary of California’s Self-Driving Vehicle law.

SUMMARY

On September 25, 2012, California Gov. Brown signed into law SB
1298, which allows self-driving (“autonomous”) vehicles to operate on
that state’s roads. California is the third state (after Nevada and Florida)
to allow the operation of autonomous vehicles. The new law will be
codified as Division 16.6 (beginning with § 38750) of the California
Vehicle Code. It will take effect January 1, 2013.

The California legislature found that autonomous vehicles “offer
significant potential safety, mobility and commercial benefits for
individuals and businesses,” and approved the measure to encourage
their testing and operation on California roads.

Under the new law, autonomous technology is technology able to drive
a vehicle without a person physically controlling or monitoring it. A
manufacturer is someone who either builds a vehicle equipped with
autonomous technology, or who retrofits an existing vehicle with this
technology. (A vehicle with advanced safety technology, such as collision
avoidance systems, but that cannot operate without a driver’s control, is
not considered an autonomous vehicle.)
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The California legislation addresses the testing and general operation
of these vehicles and requires the California Department of Motor
Vehicles (CA DMV) to adopt regulations for both.

TESTING AUTONOMOUS VEHICLES

The law allows self-driving vehicles to operate on California roads for
testing purposes if they have an operator present. Before conducting
these tests, a manufacturer must obtain, and provide to CA DMV, proof
of insurance, a surety bond, or self-insurance of $5 million.

Only a manufacturer’s properly licensed employee, contractor, or
other designated person may operate the vehicle on public roads for
testing purposes. The operator must sit in the vehicle’s driver’s seat,
monitor its operation, and be able to take control of the vehicle in an
emergency.

GENERAL OPERATION

The law allows for the general operation of these vehicles once a
vehicle manufacturer applies for, and receives, CA DMV approval. To
obtain this approval, a manufacturer must, at a minimum, certify to CA
DMV that (1) it will maintain $5 million in self-insurance or surety bond
coverage, (2) the vehicle meets specific operating and safety
requirements, and (3) it has successfully tested the technology on public
roads and complied with any CA DMV testing standards. CA DMV must
approve the application if it finds a manufacturer has submitted the
information, completed the testing, and complied with all the regulatory
requirements CA DMV adopts. The department may charge
manufacturers a reasonable fee to cover their costs.

The law allows manufacturers to seek approval for autonomous
vehicles capable of operating without a driver. It allows CA DMV to
impose additional requirements for such vehicles and to require the
presence of a driver if it finds it necessary for safe operation. CA DMV
must notify the legislature when a manufacturer seeks approval of a
driverless vehicle and when the department approves it. The approval
cannot take effect for at least 180 days after the application is submitted.
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Operating and Safety Requirements

In seeking approval to operate autonomous vehicles, a manufacturer
must certify to CA DMV that the vehicle:

1. has a mechanism to engage and disengage the technology, easily
accessible by an operator;

2. indicates visually to the operator that the autonomous technology
is engaged,;

3. alerts the operator if the technology fails, and either (a) requires
the operator to take control of the vehicle or (b) enables the vehicle
to come to a complete stop;

4. allows the operator to take control in several ways (e.g., by means
of the steering wheel or gas and brake pedals) and alerts the
operator when the technology is disengaged;

5. meets federal safety standards for the vehicle’s model year, as well
as all other applicable safety standards and performance
requirements;

6. does not render any such standards inoperative;

7. has a separate mechanism to capture and store technology sensor
data for at least 30 seconds before a collision occurs between the
vehicle and a person, object, or other vehicle; and

8. is able to extract this collision data from the vehicle.

The collision data must be preserved for three years after the date of
the collision.

CA DMV REGULATIONS

The law requires the CA DMV to adopt regulations by January 1,
2015 governing the safe operation of autonomous vehicles both for
testing and general operation. The regulations must address such issues
as submitting evidence of insurance; the application and approval
process; and testing, equipment, and performance standards necessary
for safe operation, with or without a driver. In developing these
regulations, the department may consult with the California Highway
Patrol (CHP), the University of California’s Institute of Transportation
Studies, and other entities with expertise in automotive technology,
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vehicle safety, and autonomous system design. The law does not limit or
expand the current authority to drive autonomous vehicles on
California’s public roads until 120 days after the CA DMV adopts the
regulations on insurance and the application process.

The law requires the department to hold a public hearing before
adopting any regulation concerning the operation of a vehicle without a
driver present. And, it allows CA DMV, in consultation with CHP, to
establish additional regulations if necessary to address such issues as
the total number of autonomous vehicles on the road; special rules for
registration; new license requirements; and rules for revoking,
suspending, or denying a license or approval related to autonomous
vehicles.

The law requires that federal regulations supersede the state
regulations when the regulations conflict. The law also requires
manufacturers to notify a buyer in writing of the information collected by
the autonomous technology.

MORE INFORMATION

More information on the law is available on the California legislature’s
website, at: http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-
bin/postquery?bill number=sb_ 1298&sess=CUR&house=B&author=padi
lla.

News articles on autonomous vehicles can be found at
http:/ /www.cnn.com/2012/09/18 /tech/innovation/ieee-2040-
cars/index.html and

http://spectrum.ieee.org/automaton /robotics /artificial-
intelligence /intelligent-cars-could-boost-highway-capacity-by-273.

Information on automated driving legislation in other states can be
found at the website of the Stanford University Center for Internet and
Society at
http:/ /cyberlaw.stanford.edu/wiki/index.php/Automated_Driving: Legis
lative and Regulatory Action.
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