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GAS STATION CASH DISCOUNTS IN NEIGHBORING STATES 

  

By: Duke Chen, Legislative Analyst II 

 
 
You asked if certain states neighboring Connecticut, specifically 

Massachusetts, New York, and Pennsylvania, also allow cash discounts 
for gas purchases.  

 
SUMMARY 

 
Connecticut and all of these neighboring states allow gas stations to 

offer discounts to consumers who pay cash for gas purchases (cash 

discounts).  The authority for the cash discounts vary.  Connecticut and 
Massachusetts permit cash discounts by statute, while New York and 
Pennsylvania allow the practice by executive agency rulings. 

 
Gas stations offer cash discounts to consumers in an attempt to avoid 

credit or debit card fees.  Credit card companies, such as American 
Express, MasterCard, and Visa, charge stations as much as 3% of the 
transaction.  According to the Oil Price Information Service, credit card 
companies make between 10 and 12 cents on a $3.50 gallon of gas 
(http://www.ajc.com/news/business/some-gas-stations-give-cash-
discounts/nQNMJ/). 

http://www.ajc.com/news/business/some-gas-stations-give-cash-discounts/nQNMJ/
http://www.ajc.com/news/business/some-gas-stations-give-cash-discounts/nQNMJ/
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CONNECTICUT 

 
Connecticut law allows any seller, including gas stations, to offer a 

discount to induce consumers to pay by cash, debit card, check, or other 
means rather than credit card (CGS § 42-133ff(c)).  The law bans any 
contract or agreement that would prohibit offering cash discounts. 

 
Connecticut regulations require gas stations to post clear and 

conspicuous signs with both the credit card and cash prices.  Among 
other things, these signs must (1) be clearly visible, (2) have letters that 
contrast in color to the background, and (3) be large enough to direct 
consumers to the appropriate dispenser (Conn. Agencies Reg. § 16a-15a-
2). 

 
MASSACHUSETTS 

 
Massachusetts law allows any seller, including gas stations, to 

discount their price for consumers paying with cash (Mass. Gen. Laws 
ch. 140D, § 28A).  The law bans credit card companies from prohibiting 
sellers from offering a discount to induce a cash payment. 

 
If a gas station offers cash discounts, it must clearly and 

conspicuously post both the credit card and cash prices 
(http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/docs/dos/202cmr2-00final-clean.pdf).  

 
NEW YORK 

 
According to the New York State Bureau of Weights and Measures, 

gas stations may give cash discounts if certain conditions are met.  This 
includes making sure the (1) consumer is able to select “cash” or “credit” 
by using the dispenser controls, (2) dispenser window displays the 
correct price when the consumer selects “cash” or “credit,” and (3) 
“pump-topper signs” display both cash and credit prices. 

 
The bureau states that the signs by the road do not have to show both 

credit and cash prices, but whichever price is advertised should be 
clearly and correctly labeled in letters large enough to be read from the 
road.   

 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_739.htm#Sec42-133ff.htm
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/docs/dos/202cmr2-00final-clean.pdf
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PENNSYLVANIA 
 
According to the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, Bureau of 

Ride & Measurement Standards, cash discounts for gas stations are 

allowed if certain conditions are met.  The bureau’s 2009 enforcement 
guidance requires, among other things, the gas station to post the higher 
credit card price on its street signs, but allows posting the lower cash 
price.  It also requires the printed receipt to have the date, product, total 
units pumped, correct price per unit, and total price. 
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