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CONNECTICUT'S MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE COMPLIANCE 
PROGRAM 

  

By: Janet L. Kaminski Leduc, Senior Legislative Attorney 

 
You asked what program the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has 

in place to verify if people are maintaining the minimum motor vehicle 
insurance required by state law for private passenger vehicles. 

 
SUMMARY 

 
Connecticut law requires private passenger vehicle owners to provide 

and continuously maintain a minimum amount of financial security (e.g., 
insurance), including liability coverage.  Liability insurance covers bodily 

injury and property damage caused by a driver’s negligence.  The law 
requires a minimum of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for 
bodily injury liability and $10,000 per accident for property damage 
liability (CGS §§ 38a-335 and 14-112(a)). 

   
DMV, insurance companies, and law enforcement officers partner to 

enforce compliance with the insurance requirement.  DMV checks for 
insurance when a person registers a vehicle or DMV restores a driver’s 
license after a suspension.  Insurance companies notify DMV monthly of 
certain motor vehicle policies cancelled the prior month.  DMV follows up 
on cancellation notices and suspends vehicle registrations when 
warranted.  DMV also electronically forwards cancellation information to 
the Connecticut On-Line Law Enforcement Communications 
Teleprocessing (COLLECT) system that police officers access from their 
patrol cars. 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_700.htm#Sec38a-335.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-112.htm
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INSURANCE CANCELLATION NOTIFICATION 

 
Each insurer issuing private passenger motor vehicle liability 

insurance policies in Connecticut must notify DMV monthly of any policy 
cancelled in the prior month (CGS § 38a-343a).  The notification must 
include the name of the named insured in the policy, policy number, 
vehicle identification number of each vehicle covered by the policy, and 
policy cancellation effective date. 

 
In addition to notifying DMV of the policy cancellation, the insurer 

must provide the named insured with a warning notice that, among other 
things, informs him or her that (1) the cancellation will be reported to 
DMV, which will contact him or her to determine if the required 
insurance is being maintained, and (2) if coverage lapses at any time, 
DMV will cancel the vehicle registration and confiscate the license plates 
(CGS § 38a-343(b)). 

 
INSURANCE COMPLIANCE PROGRAM 

 
Upon receipt of the monthly cancellation reports from insurers, DMV 

reviews the data in conjunction with registration records to identify 
registered vehicle owners who have failed to continuously maintain 
insurance throughout the registration period.  DMV mails letters to the 
identified registrants, who must respond within 30 days with proof of 
insurance (CGS § 38a-343a(b)).  If a person does not reply to the letter 
with proof of insurance, DMV initiates a registration suspension process, 
which includes an opportunity for a hearing (CGS §§ 14-12c and 14-12g). 

 
A person who receives a letter and cannot prove he or she 

continuously maintained insurance can enter into an insurance 
compliance consent agreement with DMV, obtain insurance, and pay a 
$200 fine.   

 
DMV maintains a database with cancelled insurance information.  

The database is not directly accessible by police officers and is not a real-
time system.  Instead, DMV provides the Department of Emergency 
Services and Public Protection (DESPP) the cancelled insurance 
information electronically on a weekly basis.  The data transfer uploads 
to DESPP’s COLLECT system, which all law enforcement officers can 
access from their patrol cars.  When an officer queries a license plate in 
COLLECT, the code “CAN/INS” appears if DESPP has been made aware 
of cancelled insurance. 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_700.htm#Sec38a-343a.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_700.htm#Sec38a-343a.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_700.htm#Sec38a-343a.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-12c.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-12g.htm
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Officers take enforcement action whenever a motor vehicle operator 

appears to have violated state law.  A person’s failure to produce an 
insurance identification card constitutes evidence that he or she failed to 

maintain the required insurance.  A person convicted of operating a 
private passenger automobile without the required insurance is subject 
to a fine of between $100 and $1,000. Connecticut law also requires 
DMV to suspend his or her vehicle registration and driver’s license for 
one month for a first conviction and six months for subsequent 
convictions (CGS § 14-213b(c)).  A motorist whose registration has been 
suspended may also have his or her license plates confiscated and 
vehicle impounded (CGS § 14-12h). 

 
OTHER RESOURCES 

 
For information about: 

 

 automobile insurance requirements in Connecticut, see OLR 
Report 2008-R-0493;  
 

 DMV’s insurance compliance program, see 
http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=1523&Q=270154&dmvN
avPage=%7C52413%7C; and 
 

 real-time insurance verification systems in other states, see OLR 
Report 2012-R-0332. 

 
JKL:ts 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-213b.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-12h.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/2008/rpt/2008-R-0493.htm
http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=1523&Q=270154&dmvNavPage=%7C52413%7C
http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=1523&Q=270154&dmvNavPage=%7C52413%7C
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2012/rpt/2012-R-0332.htm

