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STATE LIMITS ON BUSINESS TAX CREDITS  

  

By: Judith Lohman, Assistant Director 

 
 
You asked if any states place limits on the total amount of business 

tax credits a company can claim in a year. 
 
The information in this report applies to state credit limits applicable 

to state corporate income taxes. It excludes credits against state taxes on 
(1) businesses that are not organized as C corporations, such as S 
corporations or limited liability companies, and (2) special kinds of 
corporations such as financial institutions, insurance companies, and 
utilities.  This report also covers only states that limit total credits to less 
than 100% of total tax liability and excludes those that allow companies 
to offset 100% of liability but require them to pay at least a minimum 
tax. Finally, it deals only with overall limits on multiple credits.  Many 
states other than those listed here impose per-credit, rather than 
aggregate, limits on the amounts companies can claim. 

 
We found eight states in addition to Connecticut that currently 

impose, or recently imposed, annual limits on the total tax credits 
companies may claim against state corporation taxes (see Table 1).  Six 
states, including Connecticut, limit total credits to between 50% and 
80% of a company’s tax liability without credits.  New York has a 
temporary limit of $2 million worth of credits with the excess credits 
deferred to after January 1, 2013. Oklahoma imposed a temporary 
moratorium on all tax credits, which expired July 1, 2012. 
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TABLE 1:  STATE LIMITS ON TOTAL ANNUAL CORPORATION TAX CREDITS  
 

State Corporation 
Tax Rate 

Overall Credit 
Limit 

Maximum Tax 
Liability Offset 

Minimum Tax Source 

California 8.84% Yes, temporary, 
for 2008 and 2009 
tax years only 

50%1  $800 CCH State Tax Guide 

Connecticut 7.5% Yes 70%, or 100% for 
2011 and 2012 tax 
years in some cases, 
but not below the 
minimum tax 2 

$250 Dept. of Revenue Services, Form 
CT 1120 and Instructions; 
CGS § 12-217zz 

Massachusetts 8% Yes 50%, but not below 
the minimum tax; 
some credits are 
exempt from the limit 

$456 Mass. Gen. Laws, Ch. 63, § 32C; 
Mass Dept. of Revenue, 2011 
Form 355, Schedule H 
Instructions  

Mississippi 3%-5% Yes, applicable to 
certain credits3 

50%3 None CCH State Tax Guide; 
Mississippi Dept. of Revenue 

New Jersey 9% Yes 50%, but not below 
the minimum tax 

Minimum tax 
varies based on 
New Jersey gross 
receipts4 

N.J.A.C. § 18:7-3.17; 
N.J. Stats. § 54-10A-4.5 

New York 7.1% Yes, temporary 
 

Certain credits over 
$2 million subject to 
deferral for tax years 
beginning 1/1/10 and 
before 1/1/13;5 

minimum tax applies 

Minimum tax 
varies based on 
New York 
receipts5 

Instructions for 2011 NY Form CT-
500, Corporation Tax Deferral  

North Carolina 6.9% Yes, for total of 14 
credits 

50%, less any other 
credits claimed  

$35 CCH State Tax Guide 

Oklahoma 6% Moratorium on 
most tax credits 
generated on or 
after 7/1/10 and 
before 7/1/12 

NA $25 CCH State Tax Guide; 
Oklahoma Tax Commission 

Vermont 6%-8.5% Yes 80%, but not less 
than the minimum 
tax 

$250 Vermont Dept. of Taxes, 
Corporate Income Tax and 2011 
Vermont Corporate Income Tax 
Instructions 

 
NOTES: 

 
1 California: Taxpayers with annual net business income under $500,000 were 

exempt. Full-time employment hiring credit was exempt. 
2 Connecticut: A company may offset additional tax liability for 2011 and 2012 by 

an amount equal to $6,000 times its average net monthly increase in employees, up to 
100% of its total tax liability. In order for an employee to count, he or she must (1) be 
required to work at least a 35-hour week and (2) not have been employed in 
Connecticut by a related company within 12 months before the applicable calendar 
year.  

http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/forms/2011forms/corpbusiness/ct-1120booklet.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/forms/2011forms/corpbusiness/ct-1120booklet.pdf
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208.htm#Sec12-217zz.htm
http://www.massachusettsgenerallaws.com/
http://www.mass.gov/dor/forms/corporate-excise/2011/355-forms-and-schedules
http://www.mass.gov/dor/forms/corporate-excise/2011/355-forms-and-schedules
http://www.mass.gov/dor/forms/corporate-excise/2011/355-forms-and-schedules
http://www.dor.ms.gov/info/faqs/faqs_corporatefaqs.html
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/njcode
http://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/cgi-bin/om_isapi.dll?clientID=203113097&Depth=2&depth=2&expandheadings=on&headingswithhits=on&hitsperheading=on&infobase=statutes.nfo&record=docnext&softpage=Document42
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/2011/corp/ct500i_2011.pdf
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/2011/corp/ct500i_2011.pdf
http://www.tax.ok.gov/faq/BATindex/BATFAQ/general.html
http://www.state.vt.us/tax/majorvttaxescorporate.shtml
http://www.state.vt.us/tax/pdf.word.excel/forms/business/2011/2011CO-411Instr.pdf
http://www.state.vt.us/tax/pdf.word.excel/forms/business/2011/2011CO-411Instr.pdf
http://www.state.vt.us/tax/pdf.word.excel/forms/business/2011/2011CO-411Instr.pdf
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3 Mississippi: The 50% limit applies to the sum of the state’s new jobs tax credit, 

headquarters credit, and research and development skills credit. Since many other 
credits are not subject to the limit, companies can combine limited and unlimited 
credits to offset 100% of tax liability. 

4 New Jersey:  For privilege periods beginning in 2012 and after, New Jersey’s 
minimum corporation tax is: 

 
NEW JERSEY MINIMUM CORPORATION TAX 

 

NJ Gross Receipts Minimum 
Tax 

Less than $100,000 $375 

$100,000-$250,000 562.50 

$250,000-$500,000 750 

$500,000-$1 million 1,125 

$1 million or more 1,500 

Affiliated or controlled group with 
payroll of $5 million or more 

2,000 

 
5 New York:  Refundable credits subject to deferral may be claimed over three tax 

years starting January 1, 2013 as follows: 50% of total accumulated credits for the 
2013 tax year, 75% of the balance of the accumulated credits for 2014, and remaining 
balance of accumulated credit for 2015. Nonrefundable deferred credits can be claimed 
in 2013 and subsequent years without limits except for the minimum tax. New York’s 
minimum corporation tax is:  

 
NEW YORK MINIMUM CORPORATION TAX 

 

NY Receipts Minimum 
Tax 

Less than $100,000 $25 

$100,000-$250,000 75 

$250,000-$500,000 175 

$500,000-$1 million 500 

$1 million -$5 million:  1,500 

$5 million-$25 million 3,500 

$25 million or more 5,000 

 
JL:ts 


