
 

OLR RESEARCH REPORT 
 

   

Sandra Norman-Eady, Director 

Phone (860) 240-8400 

FAX (860) 240-8881 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr 

 Room 5300 

Legislative Office Building 

Hartford, CT 06106-1591 

Olr@cga.ct.gov 

Connecticut General Assembly 
Office of Legislative Research 

 
 

 
July 23, 2012  2012-R-0311 

MINORS AND ATV SAFETY 

  

By: Katherine Dwyer, Legislative Analyst II 
 

 
 
You asked about laws in Connecticut and other states regarding (1) 

all-terrain vehicle (ATV) use by minors, (2) ATV passenger ridership, and 
(3) associated penalties. 

SUMMARY  

Connecticut law places age and training restrictions on ATV use by 
minors on state land. The law does not address ATV use by minors on 
private property. Currently, Connecticut does not (1) require ATV riders 
to wear helmet or eye protection or (2) prohibit ATV riders from carrying 
passengers. 

 
The Specialty Vehicle Institute of America (SVIA) compiles information 

on state ATV laws. According to SVIA, 33 states place some restrictions 
or requirements on ATV use based on age. 31 states require riders to 
wear helmet or eye protection in some circumstances, 24 states require 
riders to carry safety education certificates in some circumstances, and 
18 states place limits on ATV riders carrying passengers.  In some 
instances, these restrictions may only apply to ATV use on public land 
while others also apply to use on private land. 

 
To provide examples, we surveyed the ATV laws in five states 

(California, Florida, Michigan, New Hampshire, and North Dakota) with 
requirements in each of SVIA’s categories. These states’ requirements 
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vary based on the child’s age and location. Of the five, Michigan is the 
only one to impose a minimum age limit (age 10) for children riding ATVs 
on both public and private land. North Dakota is the only state of the five 
that does not impose any adult supervision requirement. California and 

Michigan require all ATV riders to wear helmets while on public land, 
while Florida, New Hampshire, and North Dakota require helmets for 
children under a certain age, but only in certain locations.  All five states  
have some type of (1) ATV safety education requirement based on a 
minor ATV rider’s age and (2) ATV passenger restriction. Penalties range 
from a $20 fine in North Dakota to a $500 fine and revocation of ATV 
rider privileges (for a second violation) in Florida.   

ATV SAFETY LAWS IN 50 STATES 

SVIA compiles information on state ATV laws. Table 1 depicts which 
states currently have laws regarding restrictions or requirements based 
on age, helmet or eye protection, safety education certificates, and 
passenger restrictions. 
 

Table 1: ATV Safety Restrictions in 50 States 

 

State 

Restrictions 

or 
Requirements 

Based on Age 

Helmet 
and/or Eye 

Protection 

Safety 
Education 

Certificate 

Passenger 
Restrictions 

Alabama no no no no 

Alaska yes no no no 

Arizona no yes no no 

Arkansas yes no no no 

California yes yes yes yes 

Connecticut yes no yes no 

Delaware yes no no no 

Dist. of Col. no no no no 

Florida yes yes yes yes 

Georgia no no no no 

Hawaii no no no no 

Idaho no yes no no 

Illinois no no no no 

Indiana yes no no no 

Iowa yes no yes yes 

Kansas no no no no 

Kentucky yes yes no no 

Louisiana no no no no 

Maine yes yes yes no 

Maryland yes yes no no 

Massachusetts yes yes yes no 

Michigan yes yes yes yes 

Minnesota yes yes yes yes 

Mississippi no yes yes no 

Missouri yes yes no yes 

Montana no no no no 

Nebraska no no no yes 

Nevada no no no no 

New Hampshire yes yes yes yes 

New Jersey yes yes yes no 

New Mexico yes yes yes yes 



   

July 23, 2012 Page 3 of 6 2012-R-0311 

 

State 

Restrictions 

or 
Requirements 

Based on Age 

Helmet 
and/or Eye 

Protection 

Safety 
Education 

Certificate 

Passenger 
Restrictions 

New York yes yes yes yes 

N. Carolina yes yes yes yes 

N. Dakota yes yes yes yes 

Ohio yes yes no yes 

Oklahoma no yes no yes 

Oregon yes yes yes no 

Pennsylvania yes yes yes no 

Rhode Island yes yes yes no 

S. Carolina yes yes yes yes 

S. Dakota no no no no 

Tennessee no yes no no 

Texas yes yes yes yes 

Utah yes yes yes no 

Vermont yes no yes no 

Virginia yes yes no yes 

Washington yes yes no no 

West Virginia yes yes yes yes 

Wisconsin yes yes yes no 

Wyoming no no no no 
 

Source: Specialty Vehicle Institute of America, “State All-Terrain Vehicle Requirements”, February, 2012. 
http://www.svia.org/Downloads/SVIA-Summary-Chart-February-2012.pdf 

CONNECTICUT ATV LAWS REGARDING MINORS 

By law, a child under age 12 cannot operate an ATV on state land. A 
child between age 12 and 16 may operate an ATV on state land if he or 
she (1) has obtained an ATV operation certificate from the energy and 

environmental protection commissioner after completing an ATV safety 
education course and (2) is supervised by a person age 18 or older who 
has completed an ATV safety education course (CGS § 23-26e). A child 
age 17 must have an ATV operation certificate to ride on state land, but 
does not need to be supervised. 

 
A person commits an infraction if he or she: 
 
1. knowingly allows a child under age 18 who has not obtained an 

ATV operation certificate to ride an ATV on state land, 
 
2. permits a child under age 12 to operate an ATV on state land, or 

 
3. allows a child between age 12 and 16 to operate an ATV on state 

land without being supervised by a person over age 18 (CGS § 23-
26g(b)). 

 
Connecticut law does not require helmet or eye protection and does 

not prohibit ATV passenger ridership.   
 

http://www.svia.org/Downloads/SVIA-Summary-Chart-February-2012.pdf
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_447.htm#Sec23-26e.htm
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OTHER STATES’ ATV LAWS REGARDING MINORS 

California 

 
In California, no child under age 18 can operate an ATV on public 

lands unless he or she: 
 
1. is taking a prescribed safety training course under the direct 

supervision of a certified ATV safety instructor,  
 
2. is under the direct supervision of an adult who possesses an 

appropriate state-issued safety certificate, or 
 

3. possesses an appropriate state-issued safety certificate (Cal. Veh. 
Code § 38503). 

 
In order for a child under age 14 to ride an ATV on public land, he or 

she must (1) satisfy one of the requirements above and (2) be under the 
direct supervision of a parent, guardian, or authorized adult (Cal. Veh. 
Code § 38504). A parent, guardian, or authorized adult who allows a 
child under age 14 to violate this rule may be: 

 
1. for a first conviction, fined $125 or be ordered to take or retake the 

ATV safety training course; 

 
2. for a second conviction, fined between $125 and $250; and 

 
3. for a third or subsequent conviction, fined between $250 and $500 

(Cal. Veh. Code § 38504.1). 
 
The court may require any child under age 14 who rides without 

proper supervision to attend and complete an ATV safety course 
accompanied by a parent, guardian, or authorized adult (Cal. Veh. Code 
§ 38504.2). 

 
Anyone riding an ATV on public land must wear a safety helmet that 

meets motorcycle and motorized bicycle requirements (Cal Veh. Code § 
38505). No one may carry a passenger while operating an ATV on public 
lands unless the ATV is designed for off-highway use while carrying the 
rider and one passenger (Cal. Veh. Code § 38506). There is no penalty 
stated for violating either of these statutes. 
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Florida 

 
Florida’s ATV statutes only apply to use on public lands. A child 

under age 16 must: 

 
1. be supervised by an adult when riding an ATV; 
 
2. wear eye protection, over-the-ankle boots, and a safety helmet 

approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation or Snell 
Memorial Foundation; and 

 
3. complete an off-highway vehicle safety course and possess a 

certificate of completion (Fla. Stat. Ann. 261.20(5)).  
 

Additionally, Florida law prohibits an ATV rider from carrying a 
passenger unless the ATV is specifically designed by the manufacturer to 
carry an operator and a single passenger (Fla. Stat. Ann. 261.20(6)). 

 
A person who violates the ATV statutes is subject to a minimum $100 

fine and may have his or her privilege to operate an ATV on public lands 
revoked. Additionally, a person who commits a second or subsequent 
violation is subject to a $500 fine and may have his or her privilege to 
operate an ATV on public land revoked (Fla. Stat. Ann. 261.20(6)). 

 
Michigan 

 
In Michigan, a child under age 10 cannot ride a four-wheeled ATV. A 

child age 10 or 11 can only ride a four-wheeled ATV on private land 
owned by the child’s parent or guardian. Children under age 16 are 
prohibited from riding 3-wheeled ATVs. A child from age 12 to 16 must 
(1) possess an off road vehicle safety certificate and (2) be supervised by a 
parent or legal guardian when riding an ATV (Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 
324.81129). 

 
A child age 16 or 17 must either (1) possess a driver’s license or (2) 

possess an off road vehicle safety certificate and be supervised by a 
parent or legal guardian when riding an ATV (Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 
324.81131(9)). 

 

All riders must wear crash helmets and protective eyewear approved 
by the U.S. Department of Transportation. No rider can transport a 
passenger on the ATV “unless the manufacturing standards for the 
vehicle make provisions for transporting passengers” (Mich. Comp. Laws 

Ann. § 324.81133(b) and (t)). 
 



   

July 23, 2012 Page 6 of 6 2012-R-0311 

 

A person who violates these rules commits a municipal civil 
infraction, for which he or she may be fined up to $500. The court must 
also order the violator to pay the cost of repairing any damage to the 
environment, a road or street, or public property as a result of the 

violation.   
 

New Hampshire 

 
In New Hampshire, if the land is not owned by the ATV rider, or the 

rider’s parents or guardian, the rider must: 
 
1. if age 12 or older, have (a) successfully completed a snowmobile or 

OHRV training program or (b) hold a valid driver’s license and  
 
2. if under age 14, be accompanied by someone at least age 18 who 

has either completed a snowmobile or off highway recreational 
vehicle (OHRV) training program or who holds a valid driver’s 
license (N.H. Rev. Stat. § 215-A:29(I)). 

 
Children under age 18 are prohibited from riding an ATV without eye 

protection and protective headgear. They are also prohibited from 
transporting or carrying passengers on an ATV (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 
215-A:29(XVI-XVII)). 

 

The Fish and Game Department executive director may suspend a 
rider’s OHRV training program certificate for violating these statutes 
(N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 215-A:29(V)).  

 

North Dakota 

 
A child under age 16 who does not possess an off-highway vehicle 

(OHV) permit may only ride an ATV on land owned by his or her parent 
or guardian. A child at least age 12 may ride an ATV on land designated 
for such use if he or she has completed an OHV safety training course 
and received a certificate of completion (N.D. Cent. Code § 39-29-10). 
There is no parental supervision requirement. There is also no penalty 
listed for violating these statutes. 

 
A child under age 18 must wear a helmet that meets the U.S. 

Department of Transportation standards. An ATV rider cannot carry a 
passenger unless the ATV manufacturer recommends such use ((N.D. 
Cent. Code § 39-29-09). Anyone who violates these laws commits an 
infraction and can be fined $20 (N.D. Cent. Code § 39-29-12). 
 
KD:ro 


