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You asked which states have state estate and inheritance taxes, as 

well as their current exemption thresholds and rates. This report updates 
the information in OLR Report 2009-R-0305. 

SUMMARY 

Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed on the taxable value of 
property a person bequeaths to his or her heirs. An estate tax applies to 
the total value (after deductions and exemptions) of a person’s real and 
personal property (“estate”) at his or her death, while an inheritance tax 
is a tax on each heir’s right to receive the property transferred.   

 
As of the date of this report, 16 states have only estate taxes, five have 

only inheritance taxes, and two have both. Estate taxes in three states 
are currently scheduled to expire, Ohio’s on January 1, 2013; Delaware’s 
on July 1, 2013; and Tennessee’s on January 1, 2016. Starting July 1, 
2013, Indiana will begin a nine-year phase out of its inheritance tax, 
which, under current law, will be eliminated as of January 1, 2022. 

STATES WITH ESTATE TAXES 

Table 1 lists the 18 states that currently impose state estate taxes, 
along with each state’s 2012 exemption threshold for taxable estates and 
minimum and maximum tax rates. Since Tennessee’s “inheritance tax” 
functions like an estate tax, we include it in Table 1. 
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Table 1: State Estate Taxes as of July 6, 2012 

 
State 2012 

Exemption 
2012 
Rates 

Additional Information 

Connecticut $2,000,000 7.2%-12% PA 11-6 reduced the exemption from $3.5 
million to $2 million for deaths on or after 
January 1, 2011. 

Delaware 5,120,000 0.8%-16% The tax applies to deaths on or after July 1, 
2009 and before July 1, 2013. 

District of 
Columbia 

1,000,000 0.8%-16%  

Hawaii 5,120,000 0.8%-16% Effective for deaths on or after May 1, 2010. 
The exemption applies to deaths after January 
25, 2012. 

Illinois 3,500,000 0.8%-16% Tax expired for 2010 but was reinstated for 
deaths on or after January 1, 2011. Exemption 
is scheduled to increase to $4 million for 2013.

Maine 1,000,000 0.8%-16% The exemption is scheduled to increase to $2 
million for deaths on or after January 1, 2013. 
Tax rates starting that date will be 8%-12%. 

Maryland 1,000,000 0.8%-16% State also has an inheritance tax (see Table 2).
Massachusetts 1,000,000 0.8%-16%  
Minnesota 1,000,000 0.8%-16%  
New Jersey 675,000 0.8%-16% State also has an inheritance tax (see Table 2).
New York 1,000,000 0.8%-16%  
North 
Carolina 

5,120,000 0.8%-16% Tax did not apply to deaths during 2010 but 
resumed for deaths on or after January 1, 
2011. 

Ohio 338,333 6%-7% No tax for deaths on or after January 1, 2013. 
Oregon 1,000,000 0.8%-16%  
Rhode Island 892,865 0.8%-16% For deaths on or after January 1, 2011, the 

exemption is indexed for inflation. 
Tennessee 1,000,000 5.5%-

9.5%
Legislation passed on May 2, 2012 phases out 
the tax over three years from 2013 through 
2015. No tax is due for deaths on or after 
January 1, 2016.  The exemption is scheduled 
to increase to $1.25 million in 2013; $2 million 
in 2014; and $5 million in 2015. 

Vermont 2,750,000 0.8%-16%  
Washington 2,000,000 0.8%-16%  

STATES WITH INHERITANCE TAXES 

Table 2 lists the seven states that have inheritance taxes.  Such taxes 
apply to the taxable value of the amount each heir receives rather than to 
the value of estate as a whole. Heirs, rather than the estate itself, are 
liable for the tax payment. Inheritance taxes divide heirs into categories 
or “classes” based on their relationships to the deceased, with the closest 
relatives (spouses and lineal relatives, such as children and 
grandchildren) typically considered Class A; collateral relatives (siblings, 
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nieces, and nephews), Class B; and more remote relatives and 
nonrelatives, Class C.   

 
Table 2: State Inheritance Taxes as of July 6, 2012 

 
State Class of 

Heir 
2012 

Exemption
2012 
Rates 

Additional Information 

Spouse 
/Charity 

100% 0

Class A $250,00
0

1%-10%

Class B $500 7%-15%

Indiana 

Class C $100 10%-20%

Legislation signed on 3/20/12 phases 
out the tax over nine years beginning 
January 1, 2013. No tax is due for 
deaths on or after January 1, 2022. 
The recent legislation also increased 
the exemption for Class A heirs from 
$100,000 to $250,000 retroactive to 
January 1, 2012. 

Class A 100% 0
Class B 0 5%-10%

Iowa 

Class C 0 10%-15%

 

Class A 100% 0
Class B $1,000 4%-16%

Kentucky 

Class C $500 6%-16%

 

Lineal  100% 0Maryland 
Others 0 10%

Maryland also has an estate tax (see 
Table 1) 

Immediate 
Relative 

$40,000 1%

Remote 
Relative 

$15,000 13%

Nebraska 

Others $10,000 18%

Tax is levied at county level 

Class A 100% 0
Class C $25,000 11%-16%

New Jersey 

Class D $500 15%-16%

New Jersey also has an estate tax (see 
Table 1) 

Lineal 
Heirs 

$3,500 4.5%

Siblings 0 12%

Pennsylvania 

Others 0 15%
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