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CONNECTICUT DUI LAW 

  

By: Paul Frisman, Principal  Analyst 

 
 
 You asked about Connecticut laws on driving under the influence 

(DUI) and related offenses. This report updates OLR Report 2011-R- 
0319.    

SUMMARY 

Connecticut’s DUI law consists primarily of two statutes, CGS §§ 
14-227a and -227b. The first prohibits a person from driving (1) while 

“under the influence” of alcohol or drugs or (2) with an “elevated” blood 
alcohol content (BAC). A person is under the influence if his ability to 
drive is affected to an appreciable degree. The maximum allowable BAC 
depends on the driver’s age and the type of vehicle he or she is operating. 

 
Under the second statute, CGS § 14-227b, motorists implicitly 

consent to be tested for drugs or alcohol when they drive. The law 
establishes administrative license suspension procedures for drivers who 
refuse to submit to a test or whose test results indicate an elevated BAC. 
(These provisions are called “implied consent” and “administrative per 
se,” respectively.) 

 
 Drivers over age 21 have an elevated BAC if it is found to be .08% or 

more. Drivers operating a commercial motor vehicle (e.g., a large truck) 
have an elevated BAC if it is .04% or more. Under CGS § 14-227g, people 
younger than 21 have an elevated BAC if it is found to be .02% or more.  

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/rpt/2011-R-0319.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/rpt/2011-R-0319.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227g.htm
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The laws specify evidence admissibility criteria for alcohol and drug 
tests. They establish criminal penalties and driver’s license suspension 
penalties for violations. 

 

Connecticut law also provides for a Pretrial Alcohol Education 
Program under which certain eligible offenders charged with DUI may 
successfully complete an alcohol intervention or substance abuse 
treatment program, as appropriate, and have the DUI charges dismissed 
(CGS § 54-56g). 

 
Criminal penalties for DUI include fines, prison terms, and license 

suspensions (see Table 1, below). By law, the Department of Motor 
Vehicles (DMV) must impose 45-day license suspensions for drivers age 
21 or older convicted of DUI. Once their licenses are reinstated, these 
offenders can drive only vehicles equipped with ignition interlock devices 
for specified periods of time.  

 
 First-time offenders can drive only interlock-equipped vehicles for one 

year after their license suspension ends; second-time offenders can drive 
only these vehicles for three years following a suspension. The law 
additionally requires second-time offenders, during the first year of the 
three-year interlock period, to drive these vehicles only to (1) work, (2) 
school, (3) a drug or alcohol treatment program, or (4) an interlock 
service center. 

 
DMV must revoke the license of a driver convicted of DUI for a third 

time. By law, until January 1, 2013, a third-time offender may seek 
restoration of his or her license after six years. Once restored, he or she 
must drive only interlock-equipped vehicles for 10 years. Starting 
January 1, 2013, however, the law allows the (1) offender to seek 
restoration of his or her license after two years and (2) commissioner to 
restore it on the condition that the driver operate only interlock-equipped 
vehicles for as long as he or she drives. (After 15 years of driving these 
vehicles, the offender may ask that this condition be lifted, and the 
commissioner may do so after a hearing and for good cause.) 

 
The law also requires use of an ignition interlock device for two years 

following the mandatory one-year license suspension following conviction 
for 2nd-degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle (CGS § 53a-56b) or 2nd 
-degree assault with a motor vehicle (CGS § 53a-60d). These crimes 
apply to drivers who cause the death or serious injury of another person, 
respectively, while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The court may 
also order an individual arrested for DUI, 2nd-degree manslaughter with a 

motor vehicle, or 2nd-degree assault with a motor vehicle to operate only 
motor vehicles equipped with ignition interlock devices as a condition of 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_960.htm#Sec54-56g.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-56b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-60d.htm
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(1) release on bail, (2) probation, or (3) granting his or her application to 
take part in the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program (CGS § 14-227j (b)).  

  
Someone who holds a commercial driver’s license (CDL) faces 

disqualification from driving a commercial motor vehicle for one year if 
he or she is found to have: (1) a BAC of .04% or more while driving a 
commercial vehicle, (2) a BAC of .08% or more while driving any other 
type of vehicle, (3) refused a BAC test when driving any motor vehicle, or 
(4) been convicted of DUI. CDL holders who commit two or more of 
certain offenses, including DUI, face a lifetime ban on driving commercial 
motor vehicles, but may get their license back if they meet certain 
conditions. 

 
Police must impound for 48 hours the motor vehicle of someone 

arrested for DUI who was driving while his license was under suspension 
or revoked. The owner may reclaim the vehicle after paying towing and 
storage costs (CGS § 14-227h). 

 
In addition, people found to be “persistent operating under the 

influence felony offenders” are subject to an increased criminal penalty.  

DRIVING WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL OR DRUGS 

(CGS § 14-227A) 

 

Driving Under the Influence or with an Elevated BAC 
 
The law prohibits driving (1) while under the influence of alcohol or 

drugs or (2) with an “elevated blood alcohol content.” A person is “under 
the influence” if his or her ability to drive is affected by alcohol or drugs 
to an appreciable degree (Infeld v. Sullivan, 151 Conn. 506 (1964)). This 
may be prosecuted with or without any direct evidence of his or her BAC.  

 
A person has an elevated blood alcohol content if his or her BAC is at 

least .08% alcohol by weight. The law also makes it illegal for someone 
driving a commercial motor vehicle to have a BAC of .04% or more and 
for anyone under age 21 to drive with a BAC of .02% or more.  

 
The DUI law applies to drivers operating motor vehicles anywhere, 

including their own property, and to people operating snowmobiles and 
all-terrain vehicles (CGS § 14-227a(a)). 

 
Before dismissing, declining to prosecute, or reducing a DUI charge, a 

prosecutor must state the reasons for doing so in court (CGS § 14-
227a(f)). 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227j.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227h.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
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BAC Tests 

 
A police officer may measure a motorist’s BAC by testing the driver’s 

blood, breath, or urine. The law establishes a rebuttable presumption 

that a driver’s BAC at the time it is tested is the same as the BAC at the 
time he or she was stopped. The law requires two tests at least 10 
minutes apart. If the result of the second test is .10% or less, and higher 
than the first test, the prosecution must demonstrate that the test 
results and analysis accurately reflect the driver’s BAC at the time of the 
alleged offense (CGS § 14-227a(b)). 

 
Admissibility of Evidence for Uninjured Drivers 

 
The standard for determining whether evidence is admissible depends 

on whether the driver was injured. 
 
In order for the test results of an uninjured driver to be admissible: 
 
1. the driver must have (a) been given a reasonable chance to call a 

lawyer before taking the test and (b) consented to taking it; 
 
2. a copy of the test results must be mailed or personally delivered to 

the driver within 24 hours or at the end of the next business day 
after the results are known; 

 
3. the test must be administered by a police officer or at the officer’s 

direction; 
 

4. the test must be administered using methods and equipment 
approved by the Department of Emergency Services and Public 
Protection (DESPP) and according to DESPP regulations; 

 
5. the test equipment must have been checked for accuracy according 

to DESPP regulations; 
 

6. a second test of the same type  must be administered at least 10 
minutes after the first test is conducted (unless the second test is 
to detect the presence of drugs, in which case it can be of a 
different type and does not have to be administered within that 
time frame); and 

 
7. the test must have begun within two hours of operation 

(presumably the time of the alleged offense) (CGS § 14-227a (b)). 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
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The DESPP commissioner must determine the reliability of each 
method and type of device used to test blood, breath, and urine, and 
certify those suitable for use in Connecticut. He must adopt regulations 
governing the conduct of tests; the operation and use of test devices; the 

training and certification of test operators; and the drawing or obtaining 
of blood, breath, and urine samples (CGS § 14-227a (d)).  

 
Evidence that a driver refused to submit to a test is admissible if the 

procedural requirements of CGS § 14-227b (described below) are 
followed. At trial, the court must instruct the jury as to what inferences it 
can and cannot draw from a refusal (CGS § 14-227a (e)). 

 

Admissibility of Evidence for Samples Taken from Apparently 

Injured Drivers Requiring Medical Treatment 
 
A different set of admissibility standards applies to blood or urine 

samples taken from an injured driver in the course of his or her medical 
treatment. Results of a chemical analysis of the sample are competent 
evidence to establish probable cause for the person’s arrest by warrant 
and are admissible in a subsequent prosecution if (1) the sample was 
taken for the diagnosis and treatment of the injury; (2) of a blood sample, 
it was taken in accordance with DESPP regulations; (3) a police officer 
satisfies a Superior Court judge that (a) he or she had reason to believe 
the motorist was driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs and (b) 
the blood or urine sample constitutes evidence of this offense; and (4) the 
judge issues a search warrant authorizing the seizure of the test results. 
The warrant may also authorize the seizure of hospital medical records 
prepared in connection with the diagnosis or treatment of the injury 
(CGS § 14-227a (k).   

 
Penalties 

 
A person convicted of DUI is subject to the criminal penalties listed in 

Table 1. In assessing these penalties, the law considers a subsequent 
conviction one that occurs within 10 years of a prior conviction for the 
same offense (CGS § 14-227a(g)).  

 
In practice, the first conviction of a driver for DUI is usually for the 

driver’s second violation. By law, a first offender charged with DUI may 
apply to the court for admission to the Pretrial Alcohol Education 
Program (see below). The applicant must state under oath that he or she 
(1) has not been in the program in the preceding 10 years or (2) if under 
age 21, has never been in the program. The court must dismiss the DUI 

charges if the driver satisfactorily completes the program. 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227c.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
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Table 1: DUI Criminal Penalties (CGS § 227a (g)) 

 

Conviction Prison Sentence Fine 
License 

Suspension 
First Either (1) up to six 

months with a 
mandatory minimum 
of two days or (2) up to 
six months suspended 
with probation 
requiring 100 hours of 
community service 

$500- 
$1,000 

45 days, followed by one 
year driving only a 
vehicle equipped with an 
ignition interlock.  

Second (Under 
Age 21) 

Up to two years, with a 
mandatory minimum 
of 120 consecutive 
days and probation 
with 100 hours 
community service 

$1,000- 
$4,000 

45 days or until age 21,* 
whichever is longer, 
followed by three years 
of driving only a vehicle 
equipped with an 
ignition interlock, with 
operation for the first 
year limited to travel to 
or from work, school, an 
alcohol or drug abuse 
treatment program, or 
ignition interlock service 
center. 

Second (Age 21 or 
older) 

Up to two years, with a 
mandatory minimum 
of 120 consecutive 
days and probation 
with 100 hours 
community service 

$1,000- 
$4,000 

45 days, followed by 
three years of driving 
only a vehicle equipped 
with an ignition 
interlock, with operation 
for the first year limited 
to travel to or from work, 
school, an alcohol or 
drug abuse treatment 
program, or ignition 
interlock service center. 
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Conviction Prison Sentence Fine 
License 

Suspension 
Third and 
Subsequent 

Up to three years, with 
mandatory minimum 
of one year and 
probation with 100 
hours community 
service 

$2,000- 
$8,000 

Through December 31, 
2012, the license is 
revoked, but the 
offender is eligible for 
reinstatement after six 
years. If reinstated, he 
or she must drive only 
interlock-equipped 
vehicles for 10 years 
after reinstatement.  
 
Starting January 1, 
2013, the license is 
revoked, but the 
offender is eligible for 
reinstatement after two 
years. If reinstated, he 
or she must drive only 
interlock-equipped 
vehicles for as long as 
the offender drives, 
except that the 
commissioner may lift 
this requirement after 
15 years, for good cause. 

*For a driver under age 18, the suspension period lasts until he or she turns 18 or 45 days, whichever is longer (CGS § 
14-227a (h)). 

  
The law allows the Department of Correction (DOC) commissioner to 

release an inmate sentenced for DUI, after admission and conducting a 
risk and needs assessment, to the inmate’s home. The released offender 
cannot leave his or her home without authorization, remains in DOC 
custody and is supervised by DOC employees. The DOC commissioner 
can revoke the release and return the person to prison for violating 
release conditions (CGS § 18-100h(a)). 

 
For second or subsequent DUI convictions, the law requires an 

offender to (1) submit to an alcohol or drug abuse assessment through 
the Judicial Branch’s Court Support Services Division (CSSD) and (2) 
undergo a treatment program if ordered to do so by the court.  

 
The license suspension is stayed while a conviction is appealed. For 

motorists driving under a special operator’s permit (described below) 
suspension periods are doubled. In addition to these penalties, the court 
can order a driver to participate in an alcohol education and treatment 
program (CGS § 14-227a (j)).    

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2012/sup/chap325.htm#Sec18-100h.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
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Suspension for conviction of a criminal DUI charge is in addition to 
any previously imposed administrative license suspension under the 
implied consent law (see below). The Connecticut Supreme Court has 
held that an administrative license suspension is not a bar to criminal 

prosecution (State v. Hickam, 235 Conn. 614 (1995)). 
 
If the court sentences someone to probation, it may require as a 

condition that the offender take part in a victim impact panel program 
approved by CSSD. The panel must provide a non-confrontational forum 
for victims of alcohol- or drug-related offenses and offenders to share 
experiences on the impact of alcohol- or drug-related incidents on their 
lives. The nonprofit organization that conducts the panel may charge a 
fee of up to $75 for any offender ordered to participate (CGS § 14-227a(l), 
as amended by PA 12-178). 

 
Also, any conviction that occurs in another state for an offense that 

the court determines has substantially the same essential elements as 
Connecticut’s criminal drunk driving offenses, 2nd- degree manslaughter 
with a motor vehicle, or 2nd- degree assault with a motor vehicle, will 
constitute a prior conviction of the same offense for purposes of 
determining someone’s prior criminal history (CGS § 14-227a(g)). 

SIXTEEN AND SEVENTEEN YEAR-OLD DRIVERS 

 

The law imposes stricter rules on 16- and 17-year-old drivers cited for 
either driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or with an elevated 
BAC (which for them is .02% or more). Under these conditions, the police 
officer, acting on behalf of the DMV commissioner, must seize the driver’s 
license for 48 hours and have the vehicle removed. The license is 
considered suspended for 48 hours, starting when the arrest is made or 
the summons issued.  

 
To regain the license, the 16- or 17-year-old and, unless he or she is 

an emancipated minor, his or her parent or legal guardian, must, after 
the 48-hour period ends, appear in person at the police department, 
state police barracks, or other designated location and sign a written 
acknowledgement of its return. No restoration fee may be charged for 
return of the license. The police officer who seized the license must send 
a written report of the violation and the suspension to the DMV 
commissioner (CGS § 14-36i(b)).    

 
A driver under age 18 who is arrested for DUI is not eligible for 

youthful offender status (CGS § 54-76b).  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-36i.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_960a.htm#Sec54-76b.htm
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IGNITION INTERLOCKS 

 
Ignition interlock devices are installed in motor vehicles to prevent 

people from driving under the influence of alcohol. They require the 

driver to breathe into them to operate the vehicle. If the device detects a 
BAC above a certain threshold (.025% in Connecticut), it  
prevents the vehicle from being started. Interlock devices also require the 
driver to submit periodic breath samples while he or she is driving. 
Offenders must pay DMV a $100 fee before the device is installed; DMV 
uses this money to administer the interlock program. Offenders also 
must pay the costs of installing and maintaining the devices (CGS § 14-
227a (i)). 
 
Interlock Requirements 

 
By law, DMV must suspend the license of all people convicted of DUI 

for 45 days (except for drivers under age 21, whose license is suspended 
until that age, if longer than 45 days). The following interlock restrictions 
apply once the license suspension ends. (However, the commissioner 
may extend, through regulations she adopts, periods of required 
interlock use beyond those the law requires (CGS § 14-227a (i) (10)).  

  
First- and Second-time DUI Offenders. First-time offenders must 

drive only vehicles equipped with ignition interlocks for one year. 
Second-time offenders (age 21 or older) must drive only interlock-
equipped vehicles for three years.  

 
During the first year of the three-year period, second-time offenders 

may only drive interlock-equipped vehicles to or from (1) work, (2) school, 
(3) an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program, or (4) an ignition 
interlock service center. The commissioner must note this restriction on 
the driver's electronic records (license and driving history) as she does for 
other ignition interlock requirements.  

 
First- and second-time offenders must verify to the commissioner, in a 

manner she determines, that they have had the interlock devices 
installed (CGS § 14-227a(i), as amended by PA 12-178).   

 
The law requires individuals convicted for a second or subsequent 

time of DUI to (1) submit to an alcohol or drug abuse assessment 
through CSSD and (2) undergo a treatment program if ordered to do so 
by the court (CGS § 14-111(i)(2), as amended by PA 12-178).  

 

Third-time or Subsequent DUI Offenders. The law requires DMV to 
revoke the license of third-time and subsequent offenders, although, 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-111.htm
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starting January 1, 2013, it allows the offender to request that DMV 
restore the license after two years. The commissioner may restore the 
license if she determines doing so does not endanger public safety, the 
individual has met certain requirements (including completing an alcohol 

and drug education program, see below), and on the condition the 
offender drives  only vehicles equipped with interlocks for as long as he 
or she continues to drive. But the law also allows an offender to ask the 
commissioner to lift the interlock requirement after 15 years, and allows 
the commissioner to do so after a hearing and for good cause.  

 
The same provisions apply through December 31, 2012, except that 

(1) an offender may apply for reinstatement after six, rather than two, 
years; (2) after reinstatement, the offender must drive only interlock-
equipped vehicles for 10 years, rather than for as long as he or she 
drives; and (3) there is no provision allowing the commissioner to remove 
the interlock requirement. 

 
Third-time and subsequent offenders also must submit to the same 

drug and alcohol assessment as second-time offenders.  
 

Sentence Re-imposition 

 
The law re-imposes the license suspension on anyone who does not 

install and use the device as required after a license suspension. The re-
suspension must be for a period not to exceed the period of the original 
suspension. The commissioner must adopt regulations specifying (1) 
which actions constitute a failure to comply with the requirements, (2) 
which of these actions will result in DMV increasing the length of time 
the individual must drive only interlock-equipped vehicles, and (3) the 
length of these extensions (CGS §§ 14-111(j) and 14-227a (i) (3)). 

 
Ignition Interlock Requirements for Other Offenses 

 
The law requires anyone convicted of 2nd-degree manslaughter with a 

motor vehicle or 2nd-degree assault with a motor vehicle to operate 
ignition interlock-equipped motor vehicles for two years following a 
mandatory one-year license suspension (CGS §§ 53a-56b and -60d). A 
court also may order anyone convicted of these crimes to only operate 
motor vehicles equipped with ignition interlock devices as a condition of  
(1) release on bail, (2) probation, or (3) granting his or her application to 
participate in the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program (CGS § 14-227j (b)).    

 
Penalties for Evading Ignition Interlock Restrictions 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-111l.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-56b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-60d.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227j.htm
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People under a court order regarding ignition interlocks or subject to 
DMV ignition interlock restrictions face criminal penalties for evading 
those restrictions. 

 

 Anyone who asks another person to breathe into an interlock to start 
a vehicle or tampers with, bypasses, or alters an interlock commits a 
class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to three months in 
prison, a fine of up to $500, or both (CGS § 14-227k (c)).  

 
 People who illegally drive a vehicle (1) not equipped with a 

functioning interlock or (2) that a court has prohibited them from 
driving, face stiffer penalties, as described in Table 2, below. 

 
Table 2: Penalties for Illegally Driving a Vehicle Without an Interlock 

(CGS § 14-227k(c)(2)) 
 

Offense Penalty 

First  $500 to $1,000 fine; 
Up to one year in prison, 30 days mandatory minimum* 

Second  $500 to $1,000 fine; 
Up to two years in prison, 120 day mandatory minimum* 

Third or subsequent  $500 to $1,000 fine; 
Up to three years in prison, 1 year mandatory minimum* 

*The court is not required to impose the mandatory minimum sentence if there are 
mitigating circumstances. The court must state the mitigating circumstances in writing. 

 

By law, DMV must also suspend for one year the license or 
nonresident operating privilege of anyone convicted of any of the above 
offenses (CGS § 14-227k(d)). 

 
A driver is ineligible to operate a motor vehicle with an ignition 

interlock if his or her license was suspended for any reason other than 
conviction of (1) DUI, (2) 2nd-degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle, 
or (3) 2nd-degree assault with a motor vehicle (CGS § 14-227a(i)). 

PERSISTENT DUI OFFENDERS (CGS § 53A-40F) 

 
A person is considered a “persistent operating under the influence 

felony offender” if he or she (1) is convicted of 2nd-degree manslaughter 
with a motor vehicle or 2nd-degree assault with a motor vehicle and (2) 
within the previous 10 years has been convicted of either of these 
offenses, DUI, or substantially similar offenses in other states. 

 
The court may impose the prison sentence for the next higher degree 

of felony for a persistent DUI offender. Thus, it increases, from 10 to 20 

years, the maximum possible prison term for a persistent offender 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227k.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227a.htm
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convicted of 2nd-degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle and from five 
to 10 years the maximum possible sentence for a persistent offender 
convicted of 2nd-degree assault with a motor vehicle. 

OUT-OF-STATE OFFENSES 

 
By law, DUI and other alcohol related criminal offenses that occur 

out-of-state, the essential elements of which are determined by the court 
to be substantially the same as Connecticut offenses, constitute a prior 
offense for determining the imposition of penalties for second or 
subsequent offenses. By federal and state law, states must record 
convictions for certain highway related offenses, including DUI, 
committed by nonresidents and report these convictions to the offender’s 
home state for imposition of penalties. Thus, if someone has a prior 
Connecticut DUI conviction and is subsequently convicted of DUI in 
another state, DMV is informed of the out-of-state conviction and 
imposes the license suspension Connecticut law requires for a second or 
subsequent offense.  

IMPLIED CONSENT TO TEST AND ADMINISTRATIVE PER SE 
LICENSE SUSPENSION (CGS § 14-227B) 

 
Implied Consent 

 

Anyone who drives implicitly consents to the testing of his or her 
blood, breath, or urine. If the driver is a minor, his or her parents or 
guardians are considered to have given their consent.  

 
Before administering the test, the police officer must: 
 
1. inform the driver of his or her constitutional rights; 
 
2. give the driver a chance to call a lawyer;  
 
3. inform the driver that his or her license will be suspended if he or 

she refuses to take the test, or if the test results indicate an 
elevated BAC; and 

 
4. inform the driver that evidence of a refusal may be used against 

him or her in a criminal prosecution. 
 

Administrative Per Se 

 
This law requires an administrative license suspension process for 

drivers who refuse to submit to the test or whose test results indicate an 
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elevated BAC (at least .08% for non-commercial vehicle drivers, .04% for 
commercial vehicle drivers, or .02% for drivers under age 21). In such 
cases, the police officer, acting on behalf of the motor vehicle 
commissioner, must revoke the driver’s license for 24 hours and submit 

a report to the DMV. The report must include any test results and the 
grounds the officer had for making the arrest. In the case of a test 
refusal, a third party who witnessed the refusal must sign the report 
(CGS § 14-227b(c)).  

 
A different procedure applies when someone gives a blood or urine 

sample at a police officer’s request because these require a laboratory 
analysis. In this case, the officer cannot immediately take possession of 
the person’s license or follow the other procedural requirements of the 
per se law. Instead, immediately upon receiving test results showing an 
elevated BAC, the officer must notify the DMV commissioner and submit 
the required written report (CGS § 14-227b(d)).  

 
The process followed once the commissioner receives the police report 

depends on the driver’s circumstances. As long as the driver either has 
not (1) previously been suspended for a DUI conviction within the 10 
years preceding the current arrest or (2) been involved in a fatal accident, 
the commissioner may suspend his or her license or nonresident 
operating privilege starting on a date not more than 30 days after the 
person receives notice of his or her arrest. In the case of someone with a 

prior DUI license suspension or who has been involved in a fatal 
accident, the commissioner may suspend his or her license or operating 
privilege on any date specified in the suspension notice. This can be 
immediate (CGS § 14-227b(e)).   

 
In either case, the driver is entitled to a DMV hearing. In the first case 

(no prior DUI suspension or fatal accident involvement), this must occur 
before the suspension goes into effect, provided the person contacts DMV 
no later than seven days after DMV mails the suspension notice. In the 
latter case (prior DUI suspension or fatal accident involvement), the 
hearing can occur after the suspension, but not more than 30 days after 
the person contacts DMV to schedule a hearing. He or she must request 
the hearing no later than seven days after DMV mails the suspension 
notice. 

 
In either case, the issues at the hearing are limited to whether: (1) the 

police officer had probable cause to make the arrest, (2) the driver was 
arrested, (3) he or she was driving, and (4) he or she refused the test or 
had an elevated BAC. In the case of test results obtained from a blood 

sample taken from an apparently injured driver, the hearing must 
additionally determine whether the sample was obtained according to the 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227b.htm
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statutory conditions for admissibility and competence as evidence.  If the 
answer to any of these questions is no, DMV must return the license to 
the driver. If the answer to all of the questions is yes, the driver’s license 
is suspended for the period specified in Table 3.     

 
Table 3: Administrative Per Se License Suspension Periods for 

Drivers Age 21 and Older 
 

Per Se Offense 
First 

Offense 

Second 

Offense 

Third or 

Subsequent 

Offense 

BAC of .08% or 
more  
 

90 days 9 months 2 years 

BAC of .16% or 
more 

120 days 10 months 2 ½ years 

Test Refused 6 months One year 3 years 

 
The test refusal penalties also apply to someone who takes the initial 

test but refuses to take a second chemical test. These provisions do not 
apply to someone whose condition makes such tests medically 
inadvisable. These administrative license suspension penalties are in 
addition to any suspension penalties imposed as a result of conviction on 
any criminal DUI charge (see Table 1).   

 
Enhanced Administrative Penalties for Drivers under Age 21 

 
Anyone under age 21 who does not contact DMV for a hearing, fails to 

show up for a scheduled hearing, or who receives an adverse hearing 
decision, is subject to a license suspension twice as long as the period 
that would otherwise be imposed (CGS § 14-227b(j)). 

 
The law makes the administrative license suspension even longer for a 

16- or 17-year-old. Specifically, the suspension for a first per se violation 
by a 16- or 17-year-old is one year if the driver submitted to a BAC test 
that showed a BAC of .02 or more or 18 months if the driver refused to 
take the test.  

 
Additional information on specific penalties for drivers under age 21 is 

available on the DMV website at: 
http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=813&q=245234.  

SUBSTANCE ABUSE TREATMENT PROGRAMS 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227b.htm
http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=813&q=245234
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Until January 1, 2012, the law required anyone whose license or 
nonresident operating privilege was suspended for a DUI conviction, or 
for two or more administrative per se suspensions for test failures or 
refusals, to take part in a DMV-approved substance abuse treatment 

program that included an assessment of the offender’s alcohol abuse and 
appropriate treatment. The commissioner could not restore an offender’s 
driver’s license or operating privilege unless the offender showed that he 
or she had complied (CGS § 14-227f). 

 
PA 11-48 and PA 11-51 eliminated this program. However, the law 

allows an individual (1) whose license, privilege, or certificate was 
suspended or revoked on or before December 31, 2011 and (2) who was 
participating in, or eligible to participate in, the treatment program, to 
complete the program or an equivalent program the commissioner 
designates, and seek reinstatement of his or her license or privilege.  
Such an individual can seek reinstatement if he or she (1) began 
participating in such a program by August 1, 2012; (2) submits evidence 
to the commissioner by June 30, 2014, that he or she has complied with 
the statutory requirements in effect on December 31, 2011; and (3) is 
otherwise eligible to have his or her license reinstated. 

 
CDL holders who commit two or more of certain offenses, including 

DUI, are disqualified for life from driving a commercial motor vehicle. 
Until July 1, 2012, most such CDL holders could apply for reinstatement 
after 10 years if they had voluntarily enrolled in and successfully 
completed the treatment program under CGS § 14-227f or a similar one. 
The law now requires that to be considered for reinstatement, 
disqualified CDL holders must voluntarily enroll in, and successfully 
complete, (1) a substance abuse treatment program established and 
operated by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
(DMHAS), (2) a program operated through a licensed substance abuse 
treatment facility, or (3) an equivalent program offered in another state. 
As under prior law, a CDL holder must wait 10 years to apply for 
reinstatement.   

 
More information on these laws can be found at 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=
Public+Act&bill_num=121&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.
y=10 and 
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=
Public+Act&bill_num=81&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.
y=10, respectively. 

PRETRIAL ALCOHOL EDUCATION PROGRAM (CGS § 54-56G) 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227f.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm#Sec14-227f.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=121&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=121&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=121&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=81&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=81&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=81&which_year=2012&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.y=10
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Someone charged with DUI or, if under 21, operating a vehicle with a 
BAC of .02% or more, may apply to the court for admission to the Pretrial 
Alcohol Education Program. The applicant must pay a $100 application 
fee and a $100 nonrefundable evaluation fee. The applicant also must 

make certain affirmations under oath before the court, including that he 
or she has not had the program previously invoked on his or her behalf 
within the preceding 10 years, or ever, if under age 21. The court must 
seal the file when the offender applies for the program. 

 
The court can grant the application after considering the 

recommendations of the state’s attorney. If the court grants the 
application, it must refer the motorist to CSSD for assessment and 
confirmation of his or her eligibility and to DMHAS for evaluation. Upon 
confirmation of eligibility, the person is referred to DMHAS for placement 
in either an appropriate alcohol intervention program for one year, or a 
state-licensed substance abuse treatment program. 

 
If the defendant satisfactorily completes the assigned program, he or 

she may apply for dismissal of the charges. The court must dismiss them 
on a finding of satisfactory completion.  

 
The offender’s license suspension remains in effect while he or she 

participates in the program, although he or she has the option of not 
starting the program until the end of the suspension period.  

 
The court may require as a condition of granting the application that 

the offender take part in the CSSD-approved victim impact panel 
program. The program provider must offer to waive the program’s $75 fee 
if it determines it would pose an economic hardship for the participant 
CGS § 54-56g(g)). 

 
A driver is ineligible for the program if involved in an accident that 

caused a serious physical injury or if the charge resulted from operating 
a commercial motor vehicle. 

 
Reinstatement to the Program 

 
The law allows reinstatement to the program in certain cases.  
 
If a program provider informs the court that a defendant did not 

successfully complete the assigned program or is no longer amenable to 
treatment, the provider must, to the extent practicable, recommend 
whether the individual would best be served by (1) a 10-session 

intervention program, (2) a 15-session intervention program or (3) 
placement in a state-licensed substance abuse treatment program. The 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm#Sec54-56g.htm
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court may order reinstatement in such a program if the defendant 
requests it and CSSD verifies he or she is eligible (CGS § 54-56g(d) & (e)).     

 
However, if (1) CSSD informs the court that the defendant is ineligible 

for the program and the court makes such a finding, or (2) the program 
provider certifies to the court that the defendant did not successfully 
complete the assigned program or is no longer amenable to treatment, 
and the defendant does not request, or the court denies, reinstatement, 
the court must order the court file unsealed, enter a plea of not guilty for 
the defendant, and immediately schedule the case for trial (CGS § 54-
56g(b)) . 

RELATED PROVISIONS   

Operating While License Suspended For DUI (CGS § 14-215 (C)) 

Anyone who operates a motor vehicle while his or her license is 
suspended or revoked for (1) DUI, (2) 2nd-degree manslaughter with a 
motor vehicle, (3) 2nd-degree assault with a motor vehicle, or (4) refusing 
to submit to a BAC test or whose test shows an elevated BAC, is subject 
to a fine of between $500 and $1,000 and imprisonment for up to one 
year. The offense also carries a 30-day mandatory prison sentence unless 
the court specifies mitigating circumstances. 

 
A driver who operates a motor vehicle while his or her license is 

suspended or revoked for a second violation of the above is subject to a 
fine of between $500 and $1,000 and imprisonment for up to two years, 
120 days of which cannot be suspended unless the court specifies 
mitigating circumstances. A motorist who drives a motor vehicle while 
his or her license is suspended or revoked for a third or subsequent 
violation of the above is subject to a fine of between $500 and $1,000 
and imprisonment for up to three years, one year of which cannot be 
suspended unless the court specifies mitigating circumstances. 

 
The judge must specify the mitigating circumstances, or lack of them, 

in writing. 
 

Testing After Accidents (CGS § 14-227c) 

 
The chief medical examiner and other specified officials must include 

in any investigation of a fatal motor vehicle accident a blood sample from 
any driver or pedestrian who dies in the accident. These samples must 
be examined for the presence and concentration of alcohol and drugs by 
the chief medical examiner or the DESPP Division of Scientific Services. A 
blood or breath sample must be obtained from any surviving driver 
whose vehicle is involved in an accident resulting in the death or serious 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm#Sec54-56g.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm#Sec54-56g.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm#Sec54-56g.htm
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physical injury to another person if a police officer has probable cause to 
believe that the driver operated the vehicle while under the influence of 
alcohol, drugs, or both. Since the law requires the sample to be tested for 
drugs as well as alcohol, and breath samples cannot provide reliable 

evidence of the presence of drugs, the law, in effect, appears to require 
blood samples from surviving operators.  

 
The testing of any such samples must be performed at the direction of 

a police officer according to methods and using equipment approved by 
DESPP.  The person performing the test must be certified or recertified 
for this purpose by DESPP or recertified by someone certified as an 
instructor by DESPP. 

 
Test equipment must be checked immediately before and after the test 

by someone who is DESPP-certified. If a blood test is performed, the 
sample must be taken by someone licensed to practice medicine and 
surgery, a qualified laboratory technician, a registered nurse, a physician 
assistant, or a phlebotomist.  
 

Special Operator Permits (CGS § 14-37a) 
 
By law, anyone who has had a driver’s license suspended, except in 

certain instances, may apply for a special operator permit that allows 
certain work- or education- related driving. The commissioner may 
condition issuance of a special operator permit on the driver operating 
only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock (CGS § 14-227j(e)). 
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CDL Holders (CGS § 14-44k) 

 
If someone holding a CDL (required to drive buses, large trucks, and 

trucks carrying hazardous materials) is convicted of DUI, or found to 

have either refused to submit to a BAC test or taken and failed the test, 
he or she is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for one 
year. If an offense involves driving a vehicle transporting hazardous 
materials requiring placards under federal law, the disqualification is for 
three years (CGS § 14-44k(b), (c) & (d)). 

 
The disqualification applies for (1) any BAC test refusal, regardless of 

the type of motor vehicle he or she was driving; (2) a BAC result of .04% 
or more while driving a commercial motor vehicle or .08% or more while 
driving any other motor vehicle; or (3) a conviction of operating any 
vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both. 

 
The disqualification periods apply to convictions in another state if the 

commissioner believes the offenses in those states are similar to those 
under Connecticut’s administrative per se and implied consent law.   

 
CDL holders who commit two or more of certain offenses, including 

DUI, are disqualified for life from driving a commercial motor vehicle. But 
as noted above, most CDL holders disqualified for life may apply for 
reinstatement after 10 years if they have voluntarily enrolled in and 
successfully completed an addiction treatment program.    

 
Second Degree Manslaughter with a Motor Vehicle 

 
A person commits the crime of 2nd degree manslaughter with a motor 

vehicle when, while operating a motor vehicle under the influence of 
alcohol or any drug, he or she causes the death of another person as a 
consequence of the effect of the alcohol or drugs. The penalty is a prison 
term of up to 10 years, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. The operator’s 
driver’s license is suspended for one year and he or she can only operate 
vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device for two years after 
completing the suspension period (CGS § 53a-56b).  
 
Second Degree Assault with a Motor Vehicle 

 
A person commits the crime of 2nd degree assault with a motor 

vehicle, when, while operating a motor vehicle under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs, he or she causes serious physical injury to another 
person as a consequence of the effect of alcohol or drugs. The penalty is 

a prison term of up to five years, a fine of up to $5,000, or both. The 
operator’s driver’s license is suspended for one year and he or she can 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-44k.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-56b.htm
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only operate vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device for two 
years after completing the suspension period (CGS § 53a-60d).  

 
By law, a “serious physical injury” is one that creates a substantial 

risk of death, or causes serious (1) disfigurement, (2) impairment of 
health, or (3) loss or impairment of the function of any bodily organ (CGS 
§ 53a-3(4)). 
 
PF:ro 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-60d.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_950.htm#Sec53a-3.htm

