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By: Rute Pinho, Associate Analyst 
 

 
In states like Connecticut, where municipalities levy property taxes for 

general government and education purposes, you wanted to know if any 
authorize municipalities to (1) split the tax bill between the general 
government and education portions of the budget and (2) exempt seniors 
from paying the education tax bill. 

 
We found no state that allows towns to split their property tax bills 

and exempt seniors from the portion of the bill that supports the 
education budget. But in some states, municipalities and school districts 
are separate jurisdictions levying property taxes only for their purposes. 
Consequently, taxpayers pay property taxes to the municipality for 
general government and the school district for education. Some of these 
states authorize tax relief for seniors against school district property 
taxes. 
 

Delaware allows local school boards to offer property owners age 65 or 
older a credit against the school property taxes assessed on their primary 
residences. The credit amount is the lesser of (1) 50% of the taxes due 
after applying other eligible tax exemptions and (2) $500 (Del. Code Ann. 
Tit. 14 § 1917).  
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New York provides qualifying homeowners with partial exemptions 
from school property taxes, with an increased benefit for seniors age 65 
and older with combined incomes of up to $79,050. For qualifying 
seniors, it exempts the first $62,200 of the full value of the home from 
school taxes (N.Y. Real Property Tax Law § 425 (McKinney)). 

 
Georgia offers a school property tax exemption for homeowners age 62 

or older whose household income is $10,000 or less (excluding certain 
retirement income). Eligible applicants receive a $10,000 exemption from 
the assessed value of their primary residence for property taxes levied by 
any school district (GA. Code Ann. § 48-5-52). 

 
Texas freezes school district taxes once a homeowner reaches age 65. 

The freeze also applies to surviving spouses who are at least age 55. It 
does not include the value of any additions or improvements made to the 
property (Tex. Tax Code Ann. § 11.26 (West)).  
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