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MINIMUM AUTO INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS 

  

By: Janet L. Kaminski Leduc, Senior Legislative Attorney 

 
 
You asked why auto insurance companies can provide only $10,000 

in coverage for property damage when most cars cost more than that 
amount 

 
SUMMARY 

 
Auto insurance companies can provide $10,000 in coverage for 

property damage because that is the minimum amount Connecticut law 

requires.  But an individual may purchase more coverage than the 
minimum required by law. 

 
MINIMUM AUTO INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS 

 
Connecticut law requires that drivers continuously maintain at least a 

minimum amount of financial security (e.g., auto insurance coverage), 
including liability coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist 
coverage (CGS §§ 38a-335 and 14-112(a)). 

 
The liability coverage portion of auto insurance covers damage to 

property and injury to people.  The law requires a minimum of $10,000 
per accident for property damage liability.  It also requires a minimum of 
$20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for bodily injury liability.  
People often purchase higher levels of coverage. 

  

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_700.htm#Sec38a-335.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm#Sec14-112.htm
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The uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage portion of auto 
insurance covers bodily injury to the vehicle owner, relatives living with 
the owner, and passengers injured in an accident caused by (1) an 
uninsured motorist, (2) a motorist whose bodily injury liability limits are 

less than the owner’s uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage limits, 
or (3) a hit-and-run driver.  The law requires a minimum amount of 
coverage of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.  In practice, 
the standard coverage amount equals a policy’s bodily injury liability 
coverage, but an owner may purchase additional 
uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage up to double the bodily 
injury liability.   

 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

 
For more information about auto insurance requirements in 

Connecticut, please see OLR report 2008-R-0493. 
 
For a discussion of compulsory auto insurance requirements in all 

states, see http://www.iii.org/issues_updates/compulsory-auto-
uninsured-motorists.html.  Included is a state-by-state table of minimum 
liability limits. 
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