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CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE PROSECUTIONS 

  

By: Sandra Norman-Eady, Director 
 

 
 
You asked for a summary of arguments raised during the floor debate 

on PA 02-138 for and against extending the statute of limitations for 
prosecuting sex crimes with child victims. You also asked what the 
statutes of limitations are in other states.  

SUMMARY 

 
Among other things, PA 02-138 (An Act Concerning Sexual Assault of 

a Minor) extended Connecticut’s statute of limitations for prosecuting 
sexually-based offenses with child victims from two to 30 years after the 
victim reaches age 18 but retained a requirement that the prosecution be 
within five years of the date he or she notifies any police officer or state’s 
attorney of the crime. PA 02-138 passed both chambers without 
substantive debate on the pros and cons of passage. But legislators 
debating a similar bill in the 2001 session presented arguments for and 
against this change. The primary arguments in support were to protect 
innocent, young victims. The arguments against centered on a provision 
that would have applied the new period of limitations retroactively. 

 
We examined the statutes of limitations for child sexual abuse crimes 

in the New England states. This report focuses on the period of 
limitations for child sexual abuse, which includes such offenses as 
unlawful sexual contact, rape, child molestation, sexual assault, and the 
intent to commit any of these crimes against a child under age 18.  
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The limitations periods vary by state and within states based on a 

number of factors such as the victim’s age, the relationship of the 
offender to the victim, whether the offender remains in the state, and 

when the crime is reported to the police. The periods ranges from six 
years after commission of sexual assault or abuse of a victim between 
ages 16 and 18 in Maine and Vermont to no period of limitation for rape, 
aggravated sexual assault, and sexual abuse of a child under age 16 in 
Rhode Island, Vermont, and Maine, respectively. No period of limitations 
means the crime may be prosecuted at any time. 

ARGUMENTS FOR AND AGAINST EXTENDING STATUTE OF 
LIMITATION IN CHILD SEXUAL ASSAULT CASES 

 

2002 Legislative Debate: HB 5680 (PA 02-138) 

 
With two exceptions, PA 02-138 extended the statute of limitations for 

prosecuting sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, or sexual assault of a 
minor from (1) two to 30 years after the victim reaches age 18 (i.e. until 
age 48) or (2) up to five years from the date the victim notifies the police 
or a prosecutor of the crime, whichever is earlier. The exception were that 
prosecutions of (1) second-degree sexual assault with a victim between 
ages 13 and 16 when the offender is more than two years older had to 
take place within five years after the crime was committed and (2) 

employing a minor in an obscene performance, like other class A felonies, 
could happen at any time. (See the table below for a summary of current 
law.) 

 
Representative Michael Lawlor brought the bill out in the House. He 

explained each section of the bill but did not make arguments for its 
passage other than to state that it was not retroactive in application. No 
one offered arguments in opposition to the bill’s passage.  

2001 Legislative Debate: sHB 5654 

 
During the House debate on sHB 5654, legislators, particularly 

Representatives Lawlor and Cafero, identified policy reasons for and 
against lengthening the statute of limitations for sexual offenses 
involving child victims. (When the debate took place, the bill included a 
provision that would make the change retroactive.)  

 
Representative Lawlor, the bill’s proponent, argued in favor of 

lengthening the statute of limitations. He contended that this was 
necessary because: 
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1. these crimes were not taken seriously 10-15 years ago, making 
children afraid to go to adults and authority figures; 

 
2. children may not realize that the contact they were being exposed 

to was wrong and consequently few came forward; 
 

3. there are cases from years ago that can still be proved, particularly 
with the advances made in DNA profiling; and 

 
4. many victims who have come forward with overwhelming evidence 

of abuse are frustrated when law enforcement authorities are not 
able to do anything to bring the offender to justice. 

 
Representative Cafero opposed the provision that would make the law 

retroactive. He also opposed long limitations periods. Specifically, 
Representative Cafero contended that it would be unfair to charge 
suspects long after an incident had occurred. In such situations, he 
asserted, those accused of child sexual offenses might be unable to prove 
their innocence because:  

 
1. memories have dulled with the passage of time, 
 
2. defense witnesses cannot be located or have passed away, and 

 
3. circumstantial or exonerating evidence has disappeared. 
 
Senator Eric Coleman brought the bill out in the Senate. He stated the 

reasons for the bill were because (1) experts on victims of child sexual 
assault have reported that the victims are so traumatized that it takes 
them a considerable period of time in order to come forward to even 
discuss or report these kinds of incidents.  
  

The bill eventually died on the House calendar. 

STATUTES OF LIMITATIONS IN THE NEW ENGLAND STATES 

 
Statutes of limitations in the New England states vary considerably, 

but all lengthen the limitations period for prosecuting allegations of child 
sexual abuse. When comparing the statutes of limitations for child 
sexual abuse, we found a range from six years after commission of 
sexual assault or abuse of a victim between ages 16 and 18 in Maine and 
Vermont to no period of limitation for rape, aggravated sexual assault, 
and sexual abuse of a child under age 16 in Rhode Island, Vermont, and 

Maine, respectively. A number of factors contribute to the range in 
limitation periods such as the victim’s age when the crime was 
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committed, the relationship of the offender to the victim, whether the 
offender remains in the state, and when the crime is reported to the 
police.  

 

Table 1 shows the primary statutes of limitations by state in the six 
New England States. There may be circumstances in a state that 
increase the statutes of limitations. For example, in Connecticut there is 
no statutes of limitations for certain sexual offenses if (1) the victim 
reports the crime within five years of the date it is committed and (2) 
DNA is used to identify the offender (CGS § 54-193b). 

 
Table 1: Statutes of Limitations for Child Sexual Abuse in New 

England States 
 

States Statutes of Limitations* Crimes Covered 

Connecticut 
(CGS § 54-193a) 

 30 years after the victim 
reaches age 18 (i.e. until 
age 48) or up to five years 
from the date the victim 
notifies the police or a 
prosecutor of the crime, 
whichever is earlier 

 

Sexual abuse, 
exploitation, or 
assault of a minor 
 

 Within five years after the 
crime is committed 

Second-degree sexual 

assault if the victim is 
between ages 13 and 
16 and the offender is 
more than three years 
older 

 No period of limitations  Employing a minor 
in an obscene 
performance  

 First-degree 
aggravated sex 
assault 

 Aggravated sex 
assault of a minor 

Maine 
(MRSA 17-A § 8) 

 No period of limitation if the 
victim is under age 16 

 Six years after the crime is 
committed if the victim is 
over age 16 

 Sexual abuse of a 
minor 

 Rape or gross 
sexual assault 

 Unlawful sexual 
contact 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_966.htm#Sec54-193b.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_966.htm#Sec54-193a.htm


Table 1 (continued) 
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States Statutes of Limitations* Crimes Covered 

Massachusetts 
(MGLA 277 § 63) 

 No period of limitations; 
however, any case 
prosecuted more than 27 
years after the crime is 
committed must include 
independent evidence that 
corroborates the victim’s 
allegations. If the victim is 
under age 16 when the 
crime is committed, the 27 
years is not triggered until 
the victim turns 16 or the 
crime is reported to police, 
whichever occurs earlier. 

 Indecent assault 
and battery on a 
child under age 14 

 Rape of a child 

 Rape and abuse of 
a child aggravated 
by age difference or 
when the offender 
is a mandated 
reporter 

 Rape and abuse by 
a previously 
convicted offender 

 Assault with intent 
to commit rape 

New Hampshire 
(NH Rev. Stat. § 
625:8) 

 Within 22 years of the 
victim’s 18th birthday 

 Within one year of 
discovery of the offense if 
evidence is destroyed or 

falsified, victims are 
tampered with, or other 
unlawful conduct delayed 
discovery  

 Aggravated 
felonious sexual 
assault 

 Felonious sexual 
assault 

 Sexual Assault 

Rhode Island 
(R.I. Gen. Laws 
§12-12-17) 

 No statutes of limitations  Rape 

 First-degree sex 
assault 

 First- and second-
degree molestation 
sex assault 

Vermont 
(13 VSA § 4501) 

 No statutes of limitations  Aggravated sex 
assault of a child 

 Six years after commission  Sexual Assault 



Table 1 (continued) 
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States Statutes of Limitations* Crimes Covered 

 If the victim is under age 
18, when he or she turns 
24 or 10 years after the 
crime is reported, 
whichever is earlier 

 Lewd and 
lascivious conduct 

 Sexual exploitation 
of a minor 

*These are minimum periods of limitations, which may be tolled (suspended) during any 
period the offender is out of the state. 

 
SN-E:ro 


