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You asked for (1) a summary of passed or proposed legislation in 

other states in response to the result of the Caylee Anthony case and (2) 

policy arguments for and against these measures. 

SUMMARY 

 
At least 35 states are considering or have considered legislation in 

response to the highly publicized death of Caylee Anthony, often called 

“Caylee’s Law.” New Jersey so far is the only state to have enacted a 
version of “Caylee’s Law.” The Florida legislature has recently passed 

legislation that is pending governor approval. 
 
The model statute is named after Caylee Anthony, a Florida toddler 

whose death became nationwide news. Casey Anthony, Caylee’s mother, 
failed to report her daughter missing for more than a month and the 
child’s body was discovered near the Anthony home several months later. 

After giving several fabricated explanations, Ms. Anthony admitted that 
she had known about Caylee’s death and disposed of the body. After a 

high-profile trial, Ms. Anthony was acquitted of 1st degree murder and 
related felony charges; she was convicted on four misdemeanor counts of 
providing false information to the police.  
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The “not guilty” verdict shocked and angered many who had been 
following the case and produced a groundswell of legislative proposals 

that would criminalize a parent’s failure to report the disappearance or 
death of a child. The volume of bill filings is partly due to a well-

organized, online petition campaign urging legislators to pass Caylee’s 
Law. As of July 2011, it was reported that more than 1.5 million people 
had signed the petition. 

 
Policymakers are divided in their support of such legislation. 

Proponents argue that the law is needed to make parents act more 

responsibly by holding them accountable for failing to report their child 
missing or dead. Some prosecutors have indicated that such laws would 

give them another tool to protect vulnerable children. 
  
Opponents contend that the bill is unnecessary because a parent’s 

failure to (1) act to protect the health and safety of his or her child and 
(2) notify the authorities about a death or the location of a dead body are 

already crimes in most states. Moreover, some members of law 
enforcement have warned that ill-considered laws on reporting missing 
children risk punishing the innocent and tying the police up with 

investigations of missing child cases where no foul play was suspected.  

ENACTED LAW 

 
New Jersey 
 

In 2011, New Jersey became the first state to enact a version of 
Caylee’s Law. The law requires the parent, legal guardian, or custodian of 
a child under age 14 to report the child’s disappearance within 24 hours 

of the time the parent knew or should have known that the child was 
missing. It makes failure to do so a crime of the 4th degree, punishable by 
imprisonment for up to 18 months, a fine of up to $10,000, or both (P.L. 

2011, ch. 174, codified at NJSA § 2c:12-1.3). 
 

The law also increased the penalty, from a misdemeanor to felony, for 
violating the state law that prohibits a person from willfully failing or 
refusing to notify authorities of any death. 

 
Florida 

 

Pending the governor’s signature, Florida will become the second state 
to enact a version of Caylee’s Law. Its new law makes it a crime to 

knowingly and willfully give false information to mislead a police officer’s 
investigation of a missing child. If the child who is the subject of the 

investigation suffers great bodily harm, permanent disability, permanent 
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disfigurement, or death, the person commits a third degree felony, 
punishable by imprisonment up to five years or a fine up to $5,000. 

Otherwise, the person commits a first degree misdemeanor, punishable 
by imprisonment up to one year or a maximum $1,000 fine (House Bill 

37). 

PROPOSED LEGISLATION 

 

Based on information from the National Conference of State 
Legislatures (NCSL) and media reports, legislators in at least 35 states 
have proposed Caylee’s Law legislation. Many states are considering 

multiple bills. While all deal generally with the issues addressed in 
Caylee’s Law, there is considerable variation among them. For example, 

proposed laws vary in the age range of children covered, the time period 
within which a parent must report the child’s death or disappearance, 
and the penalty for failing to do so. 

 
Table 1 below provides information on a representative sample of the 

pending bills. Where a state has more than one bill pending, we selected 
those that were farthest along in the legislative process. 

 

It shows, where applicable,  
 

1. the legislative citation;  

 
2. the ages of children covered;  

 
3. reportable events;  

 

4. reporting deadlines;  
 

5. penalties; and  

 
6. notes on significant aspects of the legislation, including provisions 

that apply when a parent or guardian gives false information to the 
police.  

http://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Bills/billsdetail.aspx?BillId=47026
http://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Bills/billsdetail.aspx?BillId=47026
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Table 1: Proposed State Legislation 

 

State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Alabama 
(SB 65) 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 12 hours Class B felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
between one year 
and two days and 
20 years, a fine of 
up to $30,000, or 
both 

Applies when child 
suffers great bodily 
harm, permanent 
disability, or 
disfigurement while 
missing 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 24 hours Class C felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
between one year 
and one day and 
10 years, a fine up 
to $15,000, or both  

 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 12 hours Class A 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to one year, a 
fine of up to 
$6,000, or both 

 

Under age 13 Death / location of 
body 

Within One hour Class C felony Applies when death 
occurs while in 
parent or 
guardian’s care 

Arizona  
(HB 2018) 

Under age 6 Disappearance: 
Parent must report 
if he or she 
believes that child 
is victim of 
physical injury  

Within 24 hours of 
knowledge  

Class 5 felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment with 
a presumptive term 
of 18 months 

 

Under age 18 Death Unspecified Class 6 felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment with 
a presumptive term 
of one year 

 

California  
(AB 1432) 

Under age 14 Disappearance  Within 24 hours Misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to six months, a 
fine of up to 
$1,000, or both 

 

http://alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/acas/searchableinstruments/2012rs/bills/sb65.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/DocumentsForBill.asp?Bill_Number=HB2018&Session_ID=107
http://www.legislature.ca.gov/cgi-bin/port-postquery?bill_number=ab_1432&sess=CUR&house=B&author=mitchell


Table 1 (continued)  
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Under age 14 Death or 
disappearance 
under 
circumstances 
where a crime 
may have 
occurred or the 
child may be in 
danger 

Within 24 hours Misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to one year, a 
fine up to $2,000, 
or both 

Delaware 
(HB256) 

Under age 18 Disappearance Unspecified If the child dies: 
Class E felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years 
 
 
If the child suffers 
a serious physical 
injury or is sexually 
assaulted: Class G 
felony, punishable 
by imprisonment 
up to two years 
 
 
Otherwise: Class A 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
one year, or a fine 
up to $2,300 

 

Georgia 
(HB974)  

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 18 hours Punishable by 
imprisonment 
between one and 
ten years 

 

Under age 16 Death Within 12 hours Punishable by 
imprisonment 
between one and 
ten years or a fine 
between $1,000 
and $5,000 

Not applicable 
when the death 
occurs in a hospice 
or under the care of 
a physician 

Hawaii 
(SB2485) 

Under age 18 Disappearance As soon as 
reasonably 
possible 

Class C felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years or a fine 
up to $10,000 

 

Under age 18 Death As soon as 
reasonably 
possible 

 

http://legis.delaware.gov/LIS/LIS146.nsf/2bede841c6272c888025698400433a04/0af8bd025d40ae338525797600689f22?OpenDocument&Highlight=0,missing
http://www.legis.ga.gov/Legislation/en-US/display/20112012/HB/974
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/measure_indiv.aspx?billtype=SB&billnumber=2485


Table 1 (continued)  
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Under age 18 Not specified Not specified Applies when the 
parent or guardian 
knowingly, 
intentionally, or 
willfully gives false 
information to the 
police  

Illinois 
(HB 3804) 

Under age 13 Disappearance or 
death 

Within 24 hours Class 4 felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment 
between one and 
three years, a fine 
of up to $25,000, 
or both 

Parent or guardian 
must reasonably 
believe child is 
missing, dead, or 
that death of child 
was caused by 
homicide, accident, 
or other suspicious 
circumstances 

Under age 2 Disappearance or 
death 

Within one hour Same 
circumstances as 
above 

Under age 13 Not specified Not specified Applies when 
parent of guardian 
gives false 
information to 
police 

Illinois 
(SB 2537) 

Under age 12 Death or 
disappearance 

In a timely manner Class 3 felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment 
between two and 
five years, a fine 
up to $25,000, or 
both 

Applies when 
parent or guardian 
knows that child is 
missing and knew 
or reasonably 
should have known 
child in potential 
danger of death or 
serious injury 

Under age 12 Not specified Not specified Class 3 felony Applies when 
parent or guardian 
gives false or 
misleading 
information to 
police and includes 
willfully touching, 
removing, or 
disturbing the 
evidence 

Iowa  
(HF 2253) 

Under age 13 Disappearance Reckless failure to 
make contact or 
verify whereabouts 
within 24 hours  

Class B felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to 25 years 

Applies when child 
found dead or died 
from injuries 
sustained while 
missing 

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/fulltext.asp?DocName=&SessionId=84&GA=97&DocTypeId=HB&DocNum=3804&GAID=11&LegID=61994&SpecSess=&Session=
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/fulltext.asp?DocName=&SessionId=84&GA=97&DocTypeId=SB&DocNum=2537&GAID=11&LegID=62663&SpecSess=&Session=
http://coolice.legis.state.ia.us/Cool-ICE/default.asp?Category=billinfo&Service=Billbook&ga=84&hbill=HF2253


Table 1 (continued)  
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Under age 13 Class C felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to 10 years and 
a fine of between 
$1,000 and 
$10,000 

Applies when child 
suffers serious 
injury 

Under age 13 Aggravated 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to two years 
and a fine of 
between $625 and 
$6,250 

Applies when child 
suffers no injury 

Under age 13 Disappearance Failure to make 
contact or verify 
whereabouts within 
24 hours 

Class C felony Applies when child 
found dead or died 
from injuries 
sustained while 
missing 

Under age 13 Class D felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to five years 
and a fine of 
between $750 and 
$7,500 

Applies when child 
suffers serious 
injury 

Under age 13 Serious 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to one year and 
a fine between 
$315 and $1,875 

Applies when child 
suffers no injury 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 24 hours Serious 
misdemeanor  

Applies when 
parent or guardian 
fails to make 
contact or verify 
whereabouts and 
safety of child 

Kansas 
(HB2534) 

Under age 13 Disappearance Promptly Severity level 8, 
nonperson felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
23 months, a fine 
up to $100,000, or 
both 

Must be with the 
intent to conceal 
another crime 

http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2011_12/measures/hb2534/


Table 1 (continued)  
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Under age 18 Death Promptly Failure by a parent 
to report: Severity 
level 8, nonperson 
felony 
 
 
Failure by person 
otherwise required 
to report: 
Class B nonperson 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
six months, a fine 
up to $1,000, or 
both 

 

Under age 13 Unspecified Unspecified Severity level 8, 
nonperson felony 

Applies when 
parent of guardian 
gives false 
information to 
police knowing that 
such information is 
false and intending 
that the officer or 
agency will act 
relying upon such 
information 

Kentucky 
(SB 33) 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within one hour Class D felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment 
between one and 
five years 

 

http://www.lrc.ky.gov/record/12rs/sb33.htm


Table 1 (continued)  
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Louisiana 
(SB75) 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 14 hours If the child is found 
dead: Punishable 
by imprisonment 
between two and 
50 years or a fine 
up to $50,000 
 
 
If the child is 
missing more than 
six months, but not 
dead: Punishable 
by imprisonment 
between two and 
10 years or a fine 
up to $25,000 
 
 
If the child is 
physically or 
sexually abused: 
Punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
10 years or a fine 
up to $10,000 
 
 
If the child is 
unharmed: 
Punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
six months, a fine 
up to $500, or both 

 

Between ages 14 
and 17 

Disappearance Within 26 hours Same as above  

Under age 18 Death Within one hour Punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years and a 
fine up to $5,000 

 

Under age 18 Unspecified Unspecified Punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years 

Applies when 
parent of guardian 
gives false 
information to 
police 

http://www.legis.state.la.us/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=770126


Table 1 (continued)  
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Maine 
(LD1633) 

Under age 18 Disappearance Within 24 hours Class C crime, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years or a fine 
up to $5,000 

Must know that the 
child is missing and 
know or reasonably 
should know that 
that child is 
potentially in 
danger 

Maine 
(LD1634) 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 48 hours Class C crime  

Under age 18 Death Within 2 hours Class C crime 

Under age 18 Unspecified Unspecified Class C crime Applies when 
parent of guardian 
gives false 
information to 
police with the 
intent the intent to 
mislead the agency 
or employee or 
impede the 
investigation 

Maryland 
(SB139) 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 24 hours Felony punishable 
by imprisonment 
up to 10 years, a 
fine up to $10,000, 
or both 

 

Between ages 13 
and 17 

Disappearance Within 48 hours Misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years, a fine 
up to $5,000, or 
both 

Only if (1) the child 
suffers from a 
mental or physical 
handicap, (2) the 
disappearance is of 
a suspicious or 
dangerous nature, 
(3) there is reason 
to believe the child 
has been abducted, 
or (4) the child has 
previously been 
subject of a child 
abuse report 

Under age 18 Death Within one hour Felony punishable 
by imprisonment 
up to 10 years, a 
fine up to $10,000, 
or both 

 

Under age 18 Unspecified Unspecified Felony punishable 
by imprisonment 
up to 10 years, a 
fine up to $10,000, 
or both 

Applies when 
parent of guardian 
gives false 
information to 
police 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/LawMakerWeb/summary.asp?ID=280043398
http://www.mainelegislature.org/LawMakerWeb/summary.asp?ID=280043394
http://mlis.state.md.us/2012rs/billfile/sb0139.htm


Table 1 (continued)  
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Massachusetts 
(HB 3905) 

Under age 17 Disappearance When whereabouts 
unknown for 48 
hours 

Punishable by 
imprisonment for of 
up to five years 

 

Under age 17 Death Within one hour of 
occurrence 

Punishable by (1) 
imprisonment for 
up to five years or 
(2) a fine of up to 
$10,000 including 
imprisonment for 
up to one and a 
half years 

Michigan 
(SB 580) 

Under 13 years  Disappearance When no contact or 
knowledge of 
whereabouts for 24 
hours 

Felony, punishable 
by imprisonment 
for up to two years, 
or a fine of up to 
$5,000 

Provides affirmative 
defenses 

Mississippi 
(HB126) 

Under age 14 Death Within 24 hours Circumstances that 
would lead a 
reasonable person 
to believe that the 
death occurred as 
a result of a crime: 
Felony punishable 
by imprisonment 
between one and 
five years and a 
fine of at least 
$5,000 
 
 
Otherwise: 
Misdemeanor 
punishable by 
imprisonment 
between 30 days 
and one year and 
fine of $1,000 

 

http://www.malegislature.gov/Bills/187/House/H03905
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2011-2012/billengrossed/Senate/pdf/2011-SEBS-0580.pdf
http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/2012/pdf/history/HB/HB0126.xml


Table 1 (continued)  
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Under age 14 Disappearance Within 24 hours Circumstances that 
would lead a 
reasonable person 
to believe that the 
child was in 
danger of physical 
danger: Felony 
punishable by 
imprisonment 
between one and 
five years and a 
fine of at least 
$5,000 
 
 
Otherwise: 
Misdemeanor 
punishable by 
imprisonment 
between 30 days 
and one year and 
fine of $1,000 

 

Missouri 
(HB1167) 

Under age 17 Disappearance Within 24 hours If death or serious 
injury occurs: 
Class B felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment 
between five and 
15 years 
 
 
Otherwise: Class A 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
one year or a fine 
up to $1,000 

 

Under age 17 Death Within one hour Class D felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
four years or a fine 
up to $5,000 

 

Nebraska  
(LB 1169) 

Under age 13 Disappearance or 
death 

Within 72 hours of 
knowledge 

Class 4 felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to five years, a 
fine up to $10,000, 
or both 

Provides affirmative 
defenses 

http://www.house.mo.gov/billsummary.aspx?bill=HB1167&year=2012&code=R
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/bills/view_bill.php?DocumentID=15098


Table 1 (continued)  
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

New Hampshire 
(SB271) 

Under age 12 Disappearance Within 24 hours Class A 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
one year or a fine 
up to $2,000 

 

Under age 12 Death Within 12 hours Class A 
misdemeanor 

 

New Mexico 
(SB13) 

Under age 18 Disappearance Within 24 hours Misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment 
between six 
months and one 
year or a fine up to 
$1,000 

 

Under age 18 Death Within one hour Misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment 
between six 
months and one 
year or a fine up to 
$1,000 

Not required if the 
death occurred 
under the care of a 
health care 
professional or 
emergency medical 
personnel 

New York  
(AB 596) 

Under age 18 Disappearance or 
death 

Within 24 hours Class D felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to seven years, 
a fine of up to 
$5,000, or both 

Failure to report 
must be knowing or 
intentional 

New York  
(AB936) 

Under age 18 Disappearance or 
death 

Within 24 hours Class E felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to four years, or 
a fine of up to 
$5,000, or both 

Not required to 
report death if child 
is under the care of 
a health care 
professional or 
emergency medical 
personnel 

Ohio  
(HB299) 

Under age 17 Disappearance Within one hour of 
knowledge 

Felony of the 2nd 
degree, punishable 
by imprisonment 
between two and 
eight years, a fine 
up to $15,000 fine, 
or both 
 
Felony of the 3rd 
degree, punishable 
by imprisonment 
between nine and 
36 months, a fine 
of up to $10,000, 
or both 

Applies if child is 
harmed 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Applies if child is 
unharmed 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2012/sb0271.html
http://www.nmlegis.gov/lcs/_session.aspx?chamber=S&legtype=B&legno=%20%2013&year=12
http://assembly.state.ny.us/leg/?default_fld=&bn=A08936&term=2011&Summary=Y&Actions=Y&Votes=Y&Memo=Y&Text=Y
http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bills.cfm?ID=129_HB_299
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Under age 17 Death Within one hour of 
knowledge 

Felony of the 3rd 
degree 

Ohio  
(SB203) 

Under age 18  Disappearance Child under age 13: 
within 24 hours 
Child age 13 to 17: 
within 48 hours 

If child is harmed: 
felony of the 2nd 
degree  
 
 
If child is 
unharmed: felony 
of the 3rd degree 

Applies if child is 
harmed 
 
 
 
Applies if child is 
unharmed 

Under age 18 Death Within one hour of 
knowledge 

Felony of the 3rd 
degree 

Oklahoma 
(SB1721) 

Under age 16 Disappearance Within 48 hours of 
knowledge 

Felony, punishable 
by imprisonment 
for up to 10 years 

Also prohibits 
parent or guardian 
from concealing the 
death or 
disappearance of a 
child 

Under age 16 Death As soon as 
reasonably 
possible 

Felony, punishable 
by imprisonment 
for up to 10 years 

Oregon 
(HB4048) 

Under age 12 Disappearance Within 24 hours Class C felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years, or a fine 
up to $125,000, or 
both 

Must be under 
circumstances that 
would cause a 
reasonable person 
to believe that the 
child is in danger of 
physical harm 

Under age 12 Death Within 24 hours Class C felony Must be under 
circumstances 
which would cause 
a reasonable 
person to believe 
that the death was 
a result of a crime 

Pennsylvania 
(HB1841) 

Under age 18 Death Not specified Felony in the 3rd 
degree, punishable 
by imprisonment 
for up to seven 
years 

Prohibits parent 
from concealing the 
death of a child 

Pennsylvania 
(HB1842) 

Under age 18 Disappearance or 
death 

Not specified Felony in the 3rd 
degree 

Also prohibits 
parent from falsely 
incriminating 
another or 
providing fictitious 
reports to law 
enforcement 
authorities 
regarding child 

http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bills.cfm?ID=129_SB_203
http://www.oklegislature.gov/BillInfo.aspx?Bill=SB1721
http://www.leg.state.or.us/12reg/measures/hb4000.dir/hb4048.intro.html
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/billinfo/BillInfo.cfm?syear=2011&sind=0&body=H&type=B&bn=1841
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/billinfo/billinfo.cfm?syear=2011&sind=0&body=H&type=B&BN=1842
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

South Carolina 
(H4442) 

Under age 18 Disappearance or 
death 

Within 24 hours Felony, punishable 
by up to five years 
imprisonment 

 

Under age 18 Unspecified Unspecified Felony, punishable 
by up to five years 
imprisonment 

Applies when 
parent or guardian 
gives false 
information to 
police with the 
intent to obstruct, 
delay, prevent, or 
impede the 
investigation of the 
death or 
disappearance of 
the child 

South Dakota 
(SB 43) 

Under age 14 Disappearance Within 48 hours of 
knowledge 

Class 1 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to one year, a 
fine of up to 
$2,000, or both 

 

Under age 18 Death Within six hours of 
knowledge 

Class 5 felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to five years 
and a fine of up to 
$10,000 

Tennessee  
(SB 2123) 

Under age 18 Disappearance Within 24 hours of 
knowledge 

Class E felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
between one and 
six years and a 
fine of up to 
$3,000 

 

Vermont 
(S124) 

Under age 18 Disappearance Within 24 hours or 
as soon thereafter 
as reasonably 
practicable 

Punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years, a fine 
up to $10,000, or 
both 

 

Under age 18 Death Within two hours or 
as soon thereafter 
as reasonably 
practicable 

Punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years, or a fine 
up to $10,0000, or 
both 

Not required if the 
child dies at a 
health care facility 
or while under the 
care of a health 
care provider 

http://www.scstatehouse.gov/billsearch.php?billnumbers=4442&session=119&summary=B&headerfooter=1
http://legis.state.sd.us/sessions/2012/Bill.aspx?File=SB43HJU.htm
http://wapp.capitol.tn.gov/apps/BillInfo/Default.aspx?BillNumber=SB2123
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/database/status/summary.cfm?Bill=S%2E0124&Session=2012
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State / Cite Age Reportable Event 
Reporting 
Deadline 

Penalty Notes 

Virginia  
(HB494) 

Under age 18 Death Within one hour Class 6 felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to five years, a 
fine of up to 
$2,500, or both 

Not required to 
report death if child 
is under the care of 
a health care 
provider 

Washington 
(HB2726) 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 48 hours Gross 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
one year, or a fine 
of $5,000, or both 

 

Under age 18 Death Within 6 hours Class C felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
five years, or a fine 
of $10,000, or both 

 

West Virginia 
(HB4242) 

Under age 18 Disappearance Within 24 hours of 
knowledge, or 
within 12 hours of 
knowledge if 
disappearance 
creates a 
substantial risk of 
serious bodily injury 
or death 

Child under age 
12: felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment of 
between one and 
five years and a 
fine up to $3,000 
 
 
Child ages 12 to 
17: misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment for 
up to one year, a 
fine of between 
$100 and $500, or 
both 

If failure to report is 
for the purpose of 
concealing a 
criminal act or 
activity, penalty is a 
felony, punishable 
by imprisonment of 
between three and 
13 years and a fine 
of between $1,000 
and $5,000 

Wisconsin 
(SB299) 

Under age 13 Disappearance Within 24 hours If the child dies: 
Class D felony, 

 

Age 13-15 Disappearance Within 48 hours  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=121&typ=bil&val=hb494
http://search.leg.wa.gov/pub/textsearch/ViewRoot.asp?Action=Html&Item=21&X=319060338&p=1
http://www.legis.state.wv.us/Bill_Status/Bills_history.cfm?input=4242&year=2012&sessiontype=RS&btype=bill
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2011/proposals/sb299
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Age 16-17 Disappearance Within 72 hours punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
25 years, a fine up 
to $100,000, or 
both 
 
 
If the child suffers 
an injury that 
causes a 
permanent 
disfigurement  
or results in a 
permanent or 
protracted loss or 
impairment of a 
bodily function: 
Class F felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
12 years and six 
months, a fine up 
to $25,000, or both 
 
 
If the child suffers 
pain or an injury 
such as a broken 
bone or one that 
requires stitches: 
Class H felony, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
six years, a fine up 
$10,000, or both 
 
 
If the child is 
unharmed: Class A 
misdemeanor, 
punishable by 
imprisonment up to 
nine months, a fine 
up to $10,000, or 
both 

 

Source: State Legislatures’ websites and official statutes 
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