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PENALTIES FOR DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE WITH MINOR 
PASSENGERS 

  

By: Paul Frisman, Principal Analyst 
 
 
 
You asked whether Connecticut has any laws specifically penalizing, 

or enhancing the penalty for, driving under the influence (DUI) while 
transporting a child in the vehicle. You also want to know (1) if such a 
driver can be prosecuted under other state laws, (2) the percentage of 
alcohol-impaired traffic fatalities or injuries in the state involving the 
death or injury of such a child passenger, and (3) the percentage of all 

state DUI arrests involving a minor in the vehicle.  

SUMMARY 

 
Connecticut does not have a law imposing a separate or enhanced 

penalty on a driver charged with DUI who was transporting a child (age 
15 or less) when charged. However, a driver charged with DUI who has a 
child age 15 or younger as a passenger may be charged with risk of 
injury to a minor (CGS § 53-21) in addition to DUI. Risk of injury in such 
a case is punishable by between one and 10 years in prison, a maximum 
fine of $10,000, or both. The penalty would be in addition to any 
sentence the motorist receives if convicted of DUI.  

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_939.htm#Sec53-21.htm
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Also, a driver who, under the influence of alcohol or drugs, causes the 
death or serious injury of another person, could face charges of 2nd- 
degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle or 2nd-degree assault with a 
motor vehicle, respectively, regardless of the victim’s age. Other criminal 

charges may apply, depending on the circumstances (see below). 
 
We searched the federal Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) for 

recent instances where a child passenger in a car driven by an alcohol-
impaired driver was killed or injured in Connecticut. (The National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration considers a traffic death to be 
alcohol-impaired when a fatal crash involves a driver with a blood alcohol 
concentration of at least 0.08). Specifically, we searched for Connecticut 
accidents where there was driver alcohol involvement, and in which 
occupants age 15 or younger were in the driver’s vehicle. 

 
We found one instance in 2010 where a 14-year-old boy was killed in 

a crash involving the intoxicated driver of the car in which he was riding. 
The 14-year-old was one of 121 (0.008%) state alcohol-impaired driving 
fatalities in 2010 (Traffic Safety Facts, Connecticut, 2006-2010). The 
driver pleaded guilty to first-degree manslaughter. In 2009, three 
children were injured in a crash that killed the intoxicated driver of the 
car in which they were passengers. Newspaper articles (attached) provide 
details about these incidents.  

 

We were unable to learn the number of accidents involving only 
injuries because the FARS reporting system only records crashes in 
which someone died. We were unable to learn the percentage of DUI 
arrests involving the presence of a minor passenger because the state 
does not track such information. 

POSSIBLE CHARGES IN CRASHES INVOLVING A DRIVER CHARGED 

WITH DUI WHO HAS A MINOR PASSENGER 

 
 Risk of Injury to a Minor 

 
 By law, any person who willfully or unlawfully causes or permits a 

child under age 16 to be placed in a situation where the child’s life or 
limb is endangered is guilty of a class C felony (CGS § 53-21). A class C 
felony in punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to 
$10,000, or both. 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_939.htm#Sec53-21.htm
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Crashes Causing Injuries or Death 

 
Second Degree Manslaughter with a Motor Vehicle. CGS § 53a-

56b establishes the crime of 2nd degree manslaughter with a motor 

vehicle. A person commits this offense when, while operating a motor 
vehicle under the influence of alcohol or any drug, he or she causes the 
death of another person as a consequence of the effect of the alcohol or 
drug. The penalty is a prison term of up to 10 years, a fine of up to 
$10,000, or both. The operator's driver's license also is suspended for 
one year and he or she can only operate vehicles equipped with an 
ignition interlock device for two years after completing the suspension 
period.  

 
Second Degree Assault with a Motor Vehicle. CGS § 53a-60d 

establishes the crime of 2nd degree assault with a motor vehicle. A 
person commits the offense when, while operating a motor vehicle under 
the influence of alcohol or any drug, he or she causes serious physical 
injury to another person as a consequence of the effect of the alcohol or 
drug. The penalty is a prison term of up to five years, a fine of up to 
$5,000, or both. The operator's driver's license also is suspended for one 
year and he or she can only operate vehicles equipped with an ignition 
interlock device for two years after completing the suspension period. By 
law, a “serious physical injury” is one that creates a substantial risk of 
death, or causes serious disfigurement, serious impairment of health, or 
serious loss or impairment of the function of any bodily organ (CGS § 
53a-3 (4)). 

CONNECTICUT FATAL CRASHES INVOLVING ALCOHOL AND 

MINORS  

 

2009 

 
According to the July 16, 2009 Hartford Courant, a 40-year-old Bristol 

man died on March 29, 2009, when, driving with his two sons and their 
young friend as passengers, he drove into a curve on Route 6 at more 
than twice the speed limit. His BAC (0.22) was nearly three times the 
legal limit (0.08). We have attached two newspaper articles on the crash. 
FARS data for this crash indicates that the three children, ages 15, 13, 
and 12, each suffered a “non-incapacitating evident injury.” This is 
defined as an injury that is evident to observers at the scene of the 
collision.  

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-56b.htmhttp://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#Sec53a-56b.htmhttp://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_950.htm
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2010 

 
 A January 23, 2010 crash at the intersection of Chandler and 

Coolidge streets in Hartford killed a 14-year-old passenger and injured 

seven other people, according to the Courant. The Courant said that at 
least two cars were involved in the accident, both of which rolled over. 
One vehicle crashed into a utility pole, pulling down live electrical wires. 
The FARS data indicates the driver of the vehicle transporting the 14-
year-old had a BAC of 0.18. The 14-year-old was one of 121 (0.008%) 
people killed in alcohol-impaired state traffic accidents in 2010. The 
Courant reported that the driver of the car in which the 14-year-old was 
riding pleaded guilty to first-degree manslaughter, which is punishable 
by up to 20 years in prison, a fine of up to $15,000, or both. 
 
 
 
PF:ro 


