LABOR and PUBLIC EMPLOYEES COMMITTEE
HEARING MARCH 13, 2012

TESTIMONY ON HB - 5401

SENATOR PRAGUE REPRESENTATIVE ZALASKI AND MEMBERS OF THE
COMMITTEE THANK YOU FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO TESTIFY ON THIS
IMPORTANT ISSUE TODAY. WE BELIEVE THAT THE PRESENT PREVAILING WAGE
LAWS AS DEFINED IN SECTION 31-53 OF THE GENERAL STATUES REGARDING
THRESHOLDS SHOULD BE LOWERED OR DELETED NOT RAISED. THESE
THRESHOLDS ARE THE SECOND HIGHEST IN THE COUNTRY(SEE ENCLOSED
CHART). THE ASSUMPTIONS THAT THERE WOULD BE SIGNIFICANT SAVINGS FOR
THE STATE AND MUNICIPALITIES ARE FAR FROM REALITY. CLAIMS OF SAVINGS
OF 20 TO 30% ARE FANTACIES SINCE THE AVERAGE COST OF LABOR ON THESE
PROJECTS IS IN THE 30% RANGE. THE ECONOMY OF THIS STATE IS NOT GOING
TO IMPROVE IF WE LESSEN THE CHANCES FOR EMPLOYMENT FOR OUR
CITIZENS THAT RECEIVE FAIR WAGES AND BENEFITS AND THEREFORE CAN
PATRONIZE THE BUSINESSES IN OUR COMMUNITIES AND HELP HEAL OUR
ECONOMIC STRIFE. FOR THESE REASONS WE ASK THAT YOU VOTE AGAINST

THIS BILL.

TESTIMONY FROM CAMERON CHAMPLIN REPRESENTING PLUMBERS AND PIPE
FITTERS LOCAL 777 AND JOYCE WQJTAS REPRESENTING MECHANICAL
CONTRACTORS ASSOCIATION OF CONNECTICUT. FOR QUESTIONS OR MORE
INFORMATION CONTACT CAMERON AT CELL (860)287-0020 EMAIL camc@att.net OR

JOYCE AT CELL (860) 280-4623 EMAIL jawojtas@myway.com






32

Appendix 3B: Dollar Threshold Amount for Contract Coverage under State Prevailing Wage Laws

(February 23, 2009)
State Threshold Amount
Aiask:i $ 2,000
Arkansas 75,000
- California 1,000
Connecticut 400,000 for new construction o
100,000 for remodeling
Delé\;vére 100,000 for new construction o
15,000 for remodeling
Hawaii 2,000
illinois None _
Indiana 150,000
Kentucky 250,000 R
| Maine 50,000 - N
Marytand 500,000 )
M;ssachusetts None h h
Michigan None
Minnesota 25,000 where more than one trade is involved
2,500 where a single trade is involved
i Missouri None T
| Montana o 25,000 )
Nebraska o None
Nevada 100,000
New Jersey ) 2,000
11,892 if the work is done for municipality
New Mexico 60,000 )
New York None
| Ohio 73,891 for new construction'
22,166 for remodeling’
Oregon | 50,000 o i
Pennsylvania 25,000 o
Rhodesland | 1000 h h
a Tennessee 50,000 )
I Texas o None o B
Vermont 100,000 N i
Liﬁ Washington None? - o i
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West Virginia None®
‘Wisconsin
State and Municipal 234,000 where more than one trade is involved; 48,000 where a single
contracts trade is involved
State highway contracts None
Wyoming 25,000
" Notes: o - - T

Source: U.S. Department of Labor (htgg://www.dol.gov/whd/state/dollar.htm » accessed December 5,
2009)

'Ohio, Beginning January 1, 1996, and cvery two years thereafter, threshold amounts will be adjusted

according to the change in the U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census Implicit Price

Deflator for Construction, provided that no increase or decrease may exceed 6 percent for the two-year
eriod. .

Washington. A separate law applicable only to State college/university construction provides for a

$25,000 threshold amount.

*West Virginia. A $50,000 threshold is applicable for projects of the West Virginia Infrastructure and

Jobs Development Council.



