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My name is Johanna Krebs, Victim Services Specialist for Connecticut Affiliate of Mothers
Against Drunk Driving. Thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of a Child

Endangerment Law for Connecticut.

Mothers Against Drunk Driving believes this Committee should support a revision of the current
Risk of Injury to a Minor law cwrently in place. Current law is difficult for police to arrest
under and difficult for prosecutors to win a conviction, Connecticut is one of thirteen states
lacking a separate or enhanced penalty on a driver charged with DUI who was transporting a

child (age 15 or less) when charged. Every child deserves a sober designated driver.

Driving drunk with a child passenger in a vehicle is a form of child abuse. For those who are
convicted of driving drunk with a child passenger in a vehicle or for injuring or killing a child
passenger in a vehicle, it is time for the punishment to fit the crime. Mothers Against Drunk
Driving urges this committee to look at New York state and how they improved their DUI child

endangerment law.
The new DUI child endangerment penalties in New York include:
» First time offenders driving while intoxicated (.08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) or

more) or impaired by drugs while a child of younger than 16 years old is in the vehicle

may be charged with a class E felony punishable by up to 4 years in State prison.




Individuals charged with driving with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater and with a
child under the age of 16 in the vehicle would automatically have their license suspended

pending prosecution.

Courts must order all drivers convicted of Child Endangerment install and maintain an
ignition interlock on any vehicle owned and operated by such driver for at least 6 months,

in addition to any term imprisonment,

Drivers who drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs and cause the death of a child
younger than 16 in the car may be charged with a Class B felony, punishable by up to 25

years in State prison.

Drivers who drive while intoxicated or impairéd by drugs and cause serious physical
injury fo a child in the vehicle may be charged with the Class C felony, punishable by up

to 15 years in State prison.

Individuals who are a parent, guardian, custodian or otherwise legally responsible for a
child who are charged with driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs while that child is
a passenger in the car would be reported to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse

and Maltreatment by the arresting agency.

In conclusion, MADD respectfully requests that the Judiciary Committee take a hard look at the
current Risk of Injury to a Minor law and revise it to include Child Endangerment language.
Thank you.
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Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for ages 3to 14.1

In 2009, 14 percent of the children age 14 and younger who were killed in motor vehicle crashes
were killed in alcohol-impaired crashes.2 Of the 181 children O to 14 years old who were killed

in alcohol-impaired driving crashes during 2009, 92 (51 percent) of those killed were passengers
in vehicles with drivers had a BAC level of .08 or higher.3

A child in a vehicle with a drinking driver is not only at risk from the impaired driver, but also
from the lack of safety restraint use (like a seat belt or child safety seat), as drinking drivers are
much less likely to make sure a child is properly restrained. Specifically, in fatal crashes, sober
drivers had restrained their children 30.5 percent of the time, compared with only 18 percent for
drinking drivers.4

MADD believes that driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs is criminal and
irresponsible. Having a child in the car elevates this criminai act to child abuse.

Black's Law Dictionary defines child abuse as:

When a child’s parent or custodlan, by reason of cruelty, mental incapacity,
immorality or depravity, Is unfit to properly care for him or her, or neglects or
refuses to provide necessary physical, affectional, medical, surgical or
institutional care for him or her or is under such improper care or control as to
endanger his or her morals or health.

Clearly, driving under the influence with a child in the vehicle - child endangerment - is
“improper care... so as to endanger his or her morals or health” and thus constitutes child abuse.

Thus, additional sanctions should be placed on those who drive under the influence with a child
in the vehicle - regular sanctions and treatment are not enough.

41 states and the District of Columbia have laws enhancing penalties for those who drive drunk
with a child passenger in a vehicle. The laws vary widely in severity and definition of a child
passenger, For example in New York it Is a felony to drive drunk with a child passenger under
the age of 16. Whereas in Wisconsin, the same offense is a misdemeanor.
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New York's Leandra’s Law:
National Model for DUI Child Endangerment Law

In November 2009, New York enacted comprehensive DUI Child endangerment laws including
making it a felony to drive drunk with a child passenger in a vehicle. Only three states besides
New York have laws have similar felony laws for those who drive drunk with a child passenger
in a vehicle: Arizona, Oklahoma, and Texas.

Key provisions of Leandra’s Law,

i=irst time offenders driving while intoxicated (.08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) or
more) cor impaired by drugs while a child of younger than 16 years old is in the vehicle
imay be charged with a class E felony punishable by up to 4 years in State prison.

Individuals charged with driving with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater and with a
child under the age of 16 in the vehicle would automatically have their license suspended
pending prosecution.

Courts must order all drivers convicted of a misdemeanor or felony DWI(regardless if
child passenger was in the vehicle) to install and maintain an Ignition interlock on any
vehicle owned and operated by such driver for at least 6 months, in addition to any term
imprisonment, The Department of Probation and Correctional Alternatives will issue
regulations that will provide counties with different options for supervising the use of
interlocks, so as to ensure that they can determine the most appropriate mechanism for
thelr needs.

Drivers who drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs and cause the death of a child
younger than 16 in the car may be charged with a Class B felony, punishable by up to 25
years in State prison.

Drivers who drive while intoxicated or impaired by drugs and cause serious physical
injury to a child in the vehicle may be charged with the Class C felony, punishable by up
to 15 years in State prison.

Individuals who are a parent, guardian, custodian or otherwise legally responsible for a

child who are charged with driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs while that child is

a passenger in the car would be reported to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse
and Maltreatment by the arresting agency.

Leandra’s Law in New York is a national model for other states to follow when improving their
DUI Child Endangerment Laws. Such improvements are necessary given the patchwork of DUI
laws relating to child endangerment.




