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Testimony presented to the Joint Committee on Judiciary
Chief Anthony Salvatore and Chief Matthew Reed for the Connecticut Police Chiefs

Association

The Connecticut Police Chiefs Association (CPCA) represents all municipal police
departments in Connecticut as well as police departments at private and state
universities,

The Connecticut Police Chiefs Association SUPPORTS H.B. 5512, AAC The
Reporting of a Missing Child.

CPCA would recommend a minor amendment to the proposed language. The
recommended amendment would set forth that when a parent, guardian or other
person who supervises a child determines that the child is missing such parent,
guardian or other person who supervises the child must immediately notify police.
Any such person that delays notification for a period greater than 24 hours from
when such disappearance is discovered shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

For years police have been challenged by the notion of both parents and police
officers that a child or other person must be missing for more than 24 hours before
it can be reported. The genesis of this notion that there is 24 hour waiting period is
unknown; it may be historical practice, it may be the result of police shows on
television. Nonetheless, current police policy and practice is to initiate an active
investigation as soon as a report of a missing child is made.

We are of the opinion that codifying the 24 hour time frame without clarification
that it is expected that a missing child will be reported immediately may add to the
notion that no report can be made until 24 hours has passed.

CPCA supports this legislation but would like it amended with this additional
language in order to clarify the responsibility of parents or other persons
responsible for the child’s welfare.
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