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Senator Doyle, Representative Taborsak, Honorable members of the General Law
Committee — I appear before you today to address some of the issues in Governor’s Bill
5021.

For the record, 1 am State Representative Mary Fritz of the 90® District. I represent parts
of Cheshire and Wallingford.

As you know, this proposed legislation has raised quite a storm throughout our state. In
my district, it has reached hurricane proportions.

Unfortunately, misrepresentation has taken place in many venues — from the television
stories to a huge ad in The Hartford Courant as recently as Sunday. The whole proposal
for the general public has been boiled down to two issues: 1) Sunday Sales and 2) getting
rid of the Blue Laws. These topics are all that is discussed and preached about this bill.

For me — it is a different story! I’ve read this bill carefully and talked to package store
owners and discovered other parts of HB 5021 that will clearly put the package stores out
of business. Many are not greatly concerned over Sunday Sales — if that was all
However, one of the most onerous provisions for the package stores is the repeal of 30-68
k of the General Statutes which prohibited discrimination in the pricing for sale. HB
5021 allows wholesalers to charge retailers different prices. So if you are a small
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package store — as most of the stores in Connecticut are — right now wholesalers charge
you the same as a huge store. This bill repeals this and establishes discrimination
between large and small stores. This is what the repeal of a blue law wili do.

Let’s think about the effect of this repealer. The reality is now big and small package
stores are on a level playing field — they can compete! HB 5021 climinates this parody
and it is projected it will result in the closing at a minimum of 81 stores.

Now — up here we spend a great deal of time talking Jobs! What about all the people
these stores employ — not only on the floor but their insurance people, their lawyers, etc,
etc, etc. The ramifications are mighty. And guess what — these people will lose their
incomes and the State will lose its desperately needed taxes. The State will also have to
pay, the unemployment compensation fund will take a big hit!

We can’t have it both ways! We can’t preach jobs and destroy a business community.

Since we all know — at the end of the day it comes down to money, I have attached a
chart for you from Legislative Research which points out the taxes on beer, wine and
liquor here in Connecticut and the taxes paid by our neighbors.

You have all heard the argument, Connecticut is going to make millions with Sunday
Sales becanse people won’t have to cross the border. Guess what! Not so!
Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont do not have sales tax. Rhode Island does,
it is 7 % versus our 3.5%. However, our excise tax on liquor is $5.40 vs. $3.75 in Rhode
Island. Please check out all the taxes in the chart.

In conclusion, I thank you for your time. Please do not destroy an industry — the package
stores — in response to hype!
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TAXES ON ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

By: Judith Lohman, Assistant Director

Rute Pinho, Associate Analyst

You asked for (1) a history of increases in taxes on alcoholic beverages in
Connecticut, (2) the alcoholic beverage tax rates in surrounding states, and (3)
whether any surrounding states have recently increased their alcoholic beverage
taxes,

SUMMARY

Since 1968, Connecticut has increased its excise tax on alcoholic beverages three
times, including the 20% increase that took cffect on July 1, 2011, The tax was last
increased in 1989, When the Tegislature doubled the tax on beer, wine, and liquor.
During that time, Connecticut also reduced taxes on two subcategories of alcohol:
(1) wine with 21% alcohol or less produced by small wineries and (2) low-alcohol
liquor coolers.

A comparison of Connecticut's current per-gallon alcoholic beverage taxes with
those of eight other states in the region shows that Connecticut ranks in the top
half of the nine states in its taxes on beer, liquor, ahd wine. Sitrice 2008, three other
states in the region (Maine, New Jersey, and New York) have increased their state
alcoholic beverage taxes. Maine's increase was subsequently repealed by voters i a
referendum. Among the states bordering Connecticut, Massachusctts and Rhode |
Island have made no changes in their alcoholic beverage taxes since 2000.

Like the majority of its surrounding states, Connecticut also imposes sales taxes on
alcohol sales. Among the eight surrounding states, Vermont and Massachusetts do

hitp://ega.ct.gov/2011/rpt/2011-R-0252 htm 2/20/2012
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not apply state sales tax to alcohel sales and New Hampshire has no sales tax.
Alcohol sales in Massachusetts were subject to sales tax from August 1, 2000 to
December 31, 2010, but a November 2010 voter referendum repealed that law,

CONNECTICUT'S ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAX

Connecticut imposes an excise tax on beer, wine, and distilled spirits. The tax is
based on volume: per barrel, fraction of a barrel, or wine gallon (128 ounces) for
beer; per wine gallon for wine; and either per wine gallon or per proof gallon for
distilled spirits. Since July 1, 1968, Connecticut has raised the tax three times.
Taxes on most types of alcohol were raised by 20% as of August 1, 1983; 100% as
of March 23, 1989; and 20% as of July 1, 2011.

Connecticut has also reduced taxes on two categories of alcoholic beverages since
1968: (1) wine with no more than 21% alcohol produced by someone who produces
a maximum of 55,000 wine gallons per year and (2) liquor coolers with no more
than 7% alcohol. Even with the most recent 20% across-the-board increase
effective with sales on or after July 1, 2011, alcohol taxes on those two categories
are currently lower than they were on July 1, 1968 (see Table 1),

Table 1: Connecticut Alcoholic Beverage Tax Rates,

1968 to Present

Julyt, 1968t August?, 1983fc  March 23, 1988t July1, 2011 to
Aleokolic Beverage UnitTaxed " 1b 31 1983 March 22, 1989 Juune 30, 2011 Present
BEER AND CIDER
Beer and cicer with no more than Barrel $2.50 $3.00 $6.00 $r.20
7% alcohol ‘
12 Barre! 1.25 1.60 3.0 380
Y2 Barrsl 0.625 0.76 1.50 1.80
Wine gallon® or
fraction under % 0.08 0.0 0.20 0,24
barrel
WINE
Still wines wi th 9 "
ihes '.-.rltgi gghroriore 2%l \wine gallon 025 0.30 0.60 072

http://cga.ct.gov/201 1 Apt/2011-R-0252.litm 2/20/2012
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Still wines with no more than 21%
aicohol produced by a person
pradusing no mare than 55,000
wine galions arnually

Wine gation® 0.25 030 .5t 0.18

n
ii

Still wines with more than 21%
aleshol

Wine gallon” 0.525 0.75 1.50 1.80

Sparkiing winges

Table 1:-Confinued-

= e fre e e e T
July 1, 1963 to Auvgust 1, 1983 to Mareh 23, 1929 to Jidy 1, 2011 o
Algoholic Beverage Unit Taxed |\ )0l 31,1983 || March 22, 1989 June 30, 2011 Present
LIQUOR AND LIQUOR COOLERS
Liquor Wine gaflon® 2,50 3.00 4,50 540
N
Alcohol - mare than 100 procf Praof gation® 250 3.00’ 4,50 540
p— SV | I
Liguor coolers with no more than «
7% alcohal by velume Wine galion 250 1.35% 2:05 246
T T — ; —l S——

™ A wine gallon Is 128 sunces. A proof gallon is @ measurement based en volume and alaohce content,
1 Rate offective May 19, 1993

I Rate effective July 1, 1987
SURROUNDING STATES' TAXES ON ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

Current Tdax Rates

The best way to compare state excise taxes on alcoholic beverages is on a per-
gallon basis. Table 2 shows per-gallon taxes on beer, wine, and liquor (distilled

spirits) in Connecticut; other New England states; and New York, New Jersey, and
Pennsylvania. :

The comparison shows that Connecticut's tax on beer is the fourth highest. It is
lower than in Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont, but higher than in our border
states of New York, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island. Connecticut's tax on wine is

http://cga.ct.gov/201 1/rpt/2011-R-0252 htm : 2/20/2012
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the second highest in the region after New Jersey's and its tax on liquor is the third
highest behind New York and New Jersey.

Six of the nine states, including Connecticut, also apply state sales tax to alcohol
purchases. Table 2 shows the alcoholic beverage and sales taxes that apply to beer,
wine, and liquor purchases in each state.

Table 2: Taxes on Alcoholic Beverages in Connecticut and Neighboring States

! Maine also Imposes additions! per-galion taxes of 10¢ for beer, 30 for wina, and §1.25 for distlled spirits.

PerGaflon Excise Tax
State mm======|  State Sales Tax
Beer Wine Liguor
e e e e
Connecticut $6.24 $0.72 $5.40 6.35%
Maine 0.25' 0.30’ 2 5,0%
Massachusetts 0.11 0.55 . 405 Not applicabie ®
%‘ r———ToT %
New Hampshire 0.30 z A No sales tax
New Jeraey 312 088 5.50 7.0%
I - -
New York 0.14 8.30 6.44" 4.0%
,——_""—""’"_"“...m.."'”“ rm——— r——
Pennsylvania (.08 2 2 6.0%
- A SN | W
e F e ——— e
Rhode Island 0.11 0.60 3.75 7.0% *
e — oo T e e
Vermont 0.27. 0.65 2 Not applicable

? State controis all sales directly. Revenue Is generated from ofhar taxes, fees, and net profits,

% Massachuset!s' aales tax oh alcaholic beverages was repealed by voter referendum, effective with sales o or aftat January 1, 2011,

Sources; Tax Foundation, Federation of Tax Administrators, Commerce Clearihghauze

http:/fega.ct.gov/20] 1rpt/2011-R-0252 htm
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' Recent Alcoholic Beverage Tax Rate Increases

Compilations of alcoholic beverage tax rates dating back to 2000 by the Federation
of Tax Administrators show that, since 2008, Connecticut, Maine, New Jersey, and
New York bave increased alcohol taxes on beer, wine, or liquor. The Maine
legislature increased taxes on beer and wine in April 2008, but the increase was
repealed by voters in a referendum on November 4, 2008. In 2009, New Jersey
raised taxes on wine and liquor and New York increased taxes on beer and wine.
Table 3 compares these tax increases on a per-gallon basis.

Table 3: Alcoholic Beverage Tax Increases in Connecticut and Neighboring States

Since 2008

:“““u'.).m_| et sl LTy o | m_
Stata Per-Gallon Increase Effactive Date
Beer J Wine Liquor
whev——rY L-'mmr A errarel ke mprparmp TRt oo put i 2 e ——r-
L———-a - i = comm——— —
Connecticut 20 to 24 cents 60 to 72 cents $4.5C fo $5.40 Juty 1, 2011
(20%) (20%) (20%)
. - o T e
Maine 2510 54 cenfs (1168%) || 30 to 65 cents (116%) |} - No change Aptil 20608
Repealed November 4, 2008
New Jetsey No change ‘—7;’:0 87.5 cenls (25%){{  $4.40 to $5.50 August 1, 2009
{25%)
—_— — e ———w—-—-—--w-l
]
New York 11 to 14 cents 18.83 to 30 cants No change May 1, 200¢
(27%) (58%)

Sources; Federation of Tax Administrators; state tax department websites
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