Testimony of Alan Wilensky
Owner of Max’s Package Store, East Lyme
President, Connecticut Package Stores Association

In 1920 Max Wilensky, a Russian immigrant, came to the Flanders section of Fast
Lyme to establish a general store specializing in hay, grain, shoes and boots. In 1946, this
same man asked his son to help him start a liquor store on the same property. This April,
that same liquor store, still owned by the same family, will celebrate our 66 anniversary.

I started working on weekends alongside my father when I was 8 years old. It was
at that time that I decided that I wanted to go into the family business, Seeing my father
so active in the industry, I decided to attend my first Connecticut Package Stores
Association (CPSA) meeting when [ was 13 years old.

I learned the business and how to operate a business; I took educational courses
on wine and spirits; I joined local coalitions to prevent alcohol sales to minors. I became
a delegate to our national retail association and I learned about the industry, the special
nature of the products that we sell, and the need for statutes and regulation governing the
sale of this unique product. I also learned the history of the beverage alcohol industry and
how we got to where we are today. '

Until about two months ago, there was not a doubt that this third generation
family business would continue to be a stable, venerable landmark in town. There was
never a time when I was doubtful that | would finish my working career in this store and
possibly pass it on to the fourth generation.....until now. Over the past few weeks, for the
first time in my life, because of the proposed bill before us today I have been conversing
with my family about the possibility of being forced out of the liquor business, looking
for a new job and leaving the state of Connecticut.

The bill before this committee described as the “modernization™ of the liquor
industry is nothing less that the elimination of the independent liquor retailer; just like
what has happened to the independent pharmacies, hardware stores, bookstores, toy
stores, and electronics stores.

The drastic changes proposed will create massive disparity in the industry that
favors only the largest corporate entities at all levels of the industry. Retailers and
wholesalers are sacrificed while manufacturers are left whole and are the only players left
standing.

1 refer to this proposal as the “Reverse Robin Hood bill” for it surely takes from
the have-nots and gives to the haves. The sacrificing of the independent business
community is not what I thought the governor meant when he said that Connecticut was
“open for business™. .

There are some who call us a “protected industry” due to the many statutes
associated with our industry. Let me remind you of the products that we sel! and the
sensitive nature of them. Remember that one does not get arrested for selling a can of
tuna fish to a 16 year old; nor are we worried about their ability to drive a car after eating
too many sandwiches made from that tuna.



What is ; in the bill?

The elimination of all pricing postings:

-Currently wholesale pricing is provided to retailers uniformly on a monthly basis.
The elimination of all price posting means that wholesale prices are undefined and
could change hourly and for any reason. Retailers could be discriminated against for
any reason and bigger retailers would gain an unfair advantage.

The legalization of discounts, rebates. free goods and inducements:
-Quantity discounts will actually raise prices on 95% of products and decrease the
selection of products available for sale. Prices increase at the one-case level in order
to subsidize the larger volume discounts.
-It will be a financial burden purchasing in large volume in order to get the same price
that we pay now. e.g. In Mass., a store must buy 50 cases of Beringer White Zinfandel
in order to get our 1 case price. The investment in that one brand precludes the
purchasing of 31 other mid-price brands.
-CT prices are already less expensive than MA and we are competitive with all but the
largest stores in MA.

Removes the restriction against sales below cost:
-Larger stores and chains will be at a competitive advantage in their ability to
purchase and then sell at predatory prices at or below cost in order to drive out
competition. (By the way, the State of Connecticut itself has a “sale below cost”
prohibition; it’s called a balanced budget provision)

Raises the permit limit from 2 to 9:
-Connecticut is one of the last bastions of independent retailers in the nation.
Allowing the ownership of nine permits fundamentally changes this and virtually
guarantees the destruction of the independent entrepreneur. Connecticut is a small
state and several chains of 9 stores each could easily eliminate the locally owned
store.

Eliminates the 1/2500 population restriction on package store permits:
-The value of stores is dependant on location, goodwill and the density of stores in the
area. Having the 1/2500 limit provides stability in the marketplace and in every town
in the state.

Establishes a “Convenience Store Beer Permit™:
-This would add hundreds of additional liquor permits in the state in locations like gas
stations, convenience stores, food stores and, without the arguably arbitrary square
footage restriction, could include stores like Target and Wal-Mart etc.

Allows sales on Sunday, certain holidays and until 10:00 p.m.:
-Our historic arguments still stand in our opposition to the extension of days and
hours of sale. There is no definitive data to support the assertion of an increase in
consumption due to an increase in hours of availability.




It is apparent that neighboring state laws were “cherry-picked” for inclusion in
this bill. However there are neighboring laws that were ignored: Rhode Island’s I-permit
limit and lack of a bottle bill; New York’s I-permit limit; and Massachusetts’s 1/5000

Encl: OLR report on cigarette and liquor sales 1/12/ 10
Comparison of states liquor laws
U.S. per capita spirits consumption (NIAAA)
DISCUS map of Sunday sales (From the DISCUS website)
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CIGARETTE AND LIQUOR SALES

By: Duke Chen, Legislative Analyst

You asked why there is a minimum mark-up for cigarettes and a prohibition
against selling alcohol below cost. Also, you asked why there are defined hours for
the sale of alcohol to be consumed off premises.

SUMMARY

Connecticut law imposes a minimum mark-up for cigarette sales (CGS § 12-326D)
and prohibits selling alcohol below cost (CGS § 30-68m). The rationale behind
these laws is to prevent monopolies in these industries. The laws protect smaller
merchants from being forced out of business by larger merchants, who may have
the ability to sell their products below costs, thus creating a monopoly.

The law restricting the time of liquor sales serves a different purpose from the
minimum pricing laws. Under the Twenty-first Amendment of the Constitution,
which repealed Prohibition, states are given great amounts of authority to regulate
the production and distribution of alcohol. One of the ways Connecticut regulates
the distribution of alcohol is by statutorily limiting when it may be sold.

Currently, Connecticut allows the sale of alcohol for consumption off premises to
be between Monday and Saturday from 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. {CGS § 30-91(d)).
Since the inception of the Liquor Control Act, the deadline for sales has changed
several times, from 6:00 p.m. in 1933, to 11:00 p.m. in 1939, to 9:00 p.m. in
1957, to 8:00 p.m. in 1967, and back to 9:00 p.m. in 2003.

MINIMUM PRICING LAWS

The reasoning behind mark-ups and prohibitions against selling below costs is to
prevent monopolies in certain industries. Generally the purpose of these laws is to
protect small independent merchants from larger merchants, who could, in theory,
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sell items below cost and drive out their competitors, thus creating a monopoly.
Cigarettes

Connecticut prohibits cigarette distributors and dealers from selling below cost.
The law presumes that their cost includes a percentage mark-up that depends on
the type of seller and transaction {CGS § 12-326b). The law defines “cost” as the

basic cost of cigarettes and the cost of doing business. The “basic cost of cigarettes”

means the sum of the lower of the invoice or replacement cost plus the face value

“of tax stamps minus any trade discount for something other than cash. The “cost

of doing business” means costs related to the sale of cigarettes, as calculated for
federal income tax purposes, including labor, rent, depreciation, selling costs,
maintenance, delivery, interest, licenses, taxes, insurance, advertising,
pre-opening expenses, and central and regional administrative expenses.

Alcohol

Connecticut prohibits retailers of alcohol for off premises consumption from selling
at a price below their cost. For this purpose, “cost” means the posted bottle price
from the wholesaler plus charges for shipping or delivery to the retailer's place of
business paid by the retailer (CGS § 30-68m(a}). (Attachment 1 is an OLR report
(2009-R-017 1) providing information on minimum pricing laws,)

HOURS FOR ALCOHOL SALE
Authorization to Regulate

Unlike other products, the manufacture, sale, or transportation of alcohol was
originally prohibited by the Eighteenth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution, which
was adopted in 1919. The amendment was subsequently repealed in 1933 by the
Twenty-first Amendment, which also allowed states to regulate the production and
distribution of alcohol. Connecticut subsequently passed the Liquor Control Act in
1933, which

regulates the production and distribution of alcohol within the state, including the
hours when alcohol may be sold. Currently, Connecticut allows the sale of alcohol
for consumption off premises to be between Monday-Saturday from 8:00 a.m. to
9:00 p.m. (CGS § 30-91(d)).

Legislative History

1933 and 1939. The statute for when alcohol may be sold has changed several
times. The Liquor Control Act originally allowed package stores to stay open until
6:00 p.m. In 1939, package store owners successfully sought legislation allowing

them to stay open until 11:00 p.m. There are no records concerning the legislative

rationale for extending the hours because the legislature did not transcribe the
public hearings or floor debates.

1957. In 1957, the General Assembly moved the closing time from 11:00 p.m. to
9:00 p.m. by amending on the floor a liquor price bill.
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The Liquor Control Committee held public hearings on an earlier bill that proposed
an 8:00 p.m. closing time. During the hearing, the package store owners, who
were the major group advocating for the earlier closing time, expressed their fear
of being robbed due to the late closing hour. This fear was brought about by Mad
Dog Taborski and his partner Culombe, who committed a series of robberies, pistol
whippings, and execution-style murders that took six lives in late 1956 and early
1957.

The 9:00 p.m. closing time that was ultimately agreed to was a compromise
between the 8:00 p.m. proposal heard before the Liquor Control Committee and
the existing 11:00 p.m. closing hour.

1967. In 1967, the General Assembly moved the closing time back from 9:00 p.m.
to 8:00 p.m.

The original bill had a closing time of 7:00 p.m. At the hearing, the majority of
package store owners supported the earlier closing time, again expressing
concerns about keeping the stores open past 7:00 p.m. They also stated that there
were relatively few shoppers after 7:00 p.m. and an carlier closing time would give
them a chance to do more social and community work.

Grocers, on the other hand, generally opposed the proposed earlier closing time,
because it would force them to cover shelves and turn away potential customers.

During the legislative debate, legislators made many similar arguments. They
finally agreed on an 8:00 p.m. closing, and the bill passed with a substantial
majority. (Attachment 2 is an OLR report (2000-R-0918) providing more
information on the 1957 and 1967 public hearings and legislative debates.)

2003. In 2003, Connecticut changed the closing time of package stores from 8:00
p.m. to 9:00 p.m. as part of the budget bill. The bill was sent to the floor through a
procedure known as “Emergency Certification,” which means the speaker and
president pro tempore jointly propose a bill and send it directly to each chamber
floor for action without any committee referrals or public hearings. The House and
Senate transcripts on the bill do not mention the later closing time or indicate
legislative intent.
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Comparison of some state liguor laws

Alabama

Alaska

Arkansas

Colorado
Delaware

Wash D.C.

Florida

Georgia

Indiana

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maryland

Mass.

Beer containers may not exceed 16 ounces

Twenty-six of Alabama's 67 counties do not allow the sale of alcohol.
Sellers/servers may not, for any reason, give a person alcohol for free or sell it
for less than its cost.

Alcohol sales are generally prohibited on Sundays, but exceptions can be made
through local option ‘

Liquor stores and liquor-licensed drug stores may have only one location

No person under 21 may enter z liquor store or taproom for any reason even for
the intent of purchasing only tobacco or lottery tickets

No singles sold

Liquor stores must close on Sundays (except on December 24 and 31 when those
dates fall on Sunday). Grocery stores, which are allowed to sell beer and wine
only, can sell alcohol on Sundays.

Sale, processing, or consumption of any liquor or spirit of greater than 153 proof
is illegal.

Beer must be sold in quantitics of 32 or fewer ounces or greater than 1 gallon.
Forty- and 64-ounce beverages are illegal.

Sunday off-premises sales from 12:30 p.m. to 11:30 p.m. allowed only by local
referendum

Sales limited to on-premises in restaurants, wineries and breweries on Sundays.
No sales on Christmas. Minors, including babies, are not allowed to enter a liquor
store. No sales of cold beer in grocery stores or gas stations,

29 counties still do not permit the on-premises sale of alcohol. 59 counties
require a business to receive at least 30% of revenue from food sales to allow on-
premises sate of alcohol. Only 17 counties allow general on-premises sales. Not
all communities which allow off-premises sales allow sales on Sunday. Sales are
prohibited on Christmas and Easter.

Approximately 39 counties in the state (mostly eastern and southern counties) are
dry,

Packaged alcoholic beverages of any strength may be sold in supermarkets, drug
stores, gas stations, and convenience stores 24 hours a day. Local municipalities
may not restrict this. As a result, dedicated "liquor stores” are mostly specialty
stores in larger cities, and some supermarkets have large selections of liquors and
wines, and compete on the basis of liquor prices and selection.

Variable by locality Baltimore County prohibits the sale on Sunday in some
areas.

In the counties of Montgomery, Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester sale of
alcoholic beverages are controlled directly by the county Liquor Control Boards,
there is exceptions in Montgomery where some liquors are still sold in grocery
store due to being grandfathered before the change of the law.

Garrett County prohibits the sale on Sunday except in some areas.

The sale of alcohol at grocery and convenience stores varies by county.

There are no dry counties, but some individual voting districts within counties
restrict or prohibit alcohol on a local-option basis.

No individual, partnership, or corporation may have more than three off-premises
licenses in the state, or more than two in any city, nor more than one in any town.
No individual, partnership, or corporation not resident or headquartered m
Massachusetts may apply for a license, although one may devolve thereupon.!
Off-premises sale of alcohol is prohibited on the last Monday in May (Memorial
Day), Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and the day after Christmas if
Christmas falls on a Sunday. '
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Michigan
Mirinesota
Mississippi
Nebraska
New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Car.
N. Dakota

Oklahoma
Rhode Island

S. Carolina
Tennessee

Texas
Utah

Washington

Puertio Rico

Sale of alcohol is prohibited during polling hours on election days (subject to
local exceptions)

maintains a monopoly over wholesaling of distilled spirits only.

No alcohol off-sale on Sunday.

In most counties, alcohol cannot be sold on Sundays

No on- or off-premises sales of spirits before noon on Sundays.

Though there is not a ban on selling alcoholic beverages at grocery stores, New
Jersey limits each chain to two licenses, so except for a few exceptions, most
supermarkets/convenience stores/gas stations/pharmacies do not sell alcoholic
beverages.

An additional Sunday permit is available which allows sale (on and/or off
premise) on Sundays from noon until midnight. Exceptions are the prohibition of
alcohol sale on Christmas, regardless of the day it falls on, and a Sunday permit
allowing of sale (on and/or off premise) until 2:00 a.m. January 1, if December
31 falls on a Sunday. Sunday permits are only available where approved by
voters within a local option district

All liquor stores must be owned by a single owner, who owns that store and lives
within a certain distance of it — effectually banning chain liquor stores from the
state.

State stores closed on Sundays. Bottled liquor must be sold in ABC Packages
stores, open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., Monday through Saturday.

No off-sale on Thanksgiving Day. No Christmas Day on-sale, nor sales on
Christmas Eve after 6 p.m.

Liquor Stores closed on Sundays and some holidays.

All alcohol may be sold only in liquor stores. Thus, convenience stores and
supermarkets in Rhode Island are dry.

No hard liquor sales after 7 p.m. and none on Sundays.

Wine is only sold in liquor stores. Sales of liquor are limited to on-premises in
restaurants on Sundays. Beer above 5% ABW / 6.3% ABV must be sold in liquor
stores. Open container law only applies to drivers, not passengers.

Liquor stores statewide closed all day Sunday.

State-controlled stores close on Sundays and cease operations no later than 10
p.m. the rest of the week

No alcohol may be served on Election Day until 8 p.m.

A handful of state and contract stores are open Sundays from 12 midday to 5
p.m.

Dry law during elections and tropical storm emergencies
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December 2010

Preliminary Report

APPARENT CONSUMPTION OF DISTILLED SPIRITS BY STATE, IN WINE GALLONS
) 12 Monlhs Ending December

LICENSE STATES
Alaska '
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Gennecticut
Delaware

Dist. Columbia
Florida
Georgia *#
Hawaii

Iiinois

[ediana @
Kansas
Kentucky
louisiana
Maryland
Magsachusetis
Minnesota
Missousi
Nebraska
Nevada @
New Jersey
New Meaxico
New York
North Dakota
Okiahorna

- Rhade Island

FURRNY
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South Carolina *
South Dakota
Tennessee

Texas

Wiscensin
LICENSE TOTAL
CONROL STATES
Alabama

ldaha

lowg **

Maine @
Michigan @
Mississippi
Montana

New Hampshire
North Caralina
Ohio @

Oregeon
Pennsylvania
Utah

Vermont

Virginia
Washiagton

West Virginia **
Wyoming "
CONRQL TOTAL
U.5. TOTAL

January - December

2010

1,488,502
10,405,688
3,802,262
52,244,411
10,088,269
6,308,808
2,461,627
1,808,577
35,705,446
12,510,658
1,973,365
8,468,813
0,496,810
3,706,414
5,674,884
7,503,392
16,280,085
11,254,218
11,007,707
9,608,511

2,895,006

8,450,586
15,178,269
3,235,862
27,660,464
1,615,657
4,573,702
1,609,131
7,130,266
1,474,860
7,844,471
28,723,907
12,787,302
347,470,028

6,501,040
2,151,867
4,445,162
2,309,757

16,211,517

4,081,151
1,762,064
6,054,698
10,861,664
13,756,782
6,402,302
16,239,132
2,387 455
918,986
5,487,653
9,782,052
1,686,571
1,186,342
114,235,118
461,705,145

2009

1,625,838
9,082,341
3,756,644
1,467,312
9,849,357
6,088,754
2,301,373
1,882,138
35,073,557
12,232,484
1,044,834
19,440,167
9,168,767
3,649,729
5,562,419
7.509,218
9,863,177
11,188,827
9,765,694
9,817,395
2,761,747
5,922,224
15,036,269
2,884,892
27,545,886
1,514,344
4,573,702
1,623,562
6,960,481
1,407,406
7,666,602
27,817,944
13,107,645
340,113,504

5,427,568
2,084,474
4,307,850
2,280,350
16,134,061
4,063,949
1,728,827
4,919,240
10,653,734
13,580,672
6,286,375
15,202,579
2,330,308
904,801
9,252,143
9,844,881
1,678,643
1,178,128
111,858,885
451,972,789

Percent
Change

~1.8%
14.8%
1.2%
1.8%
2.4%
3.4%
2.9%
-39%
1.6%
23%
1.5%
-5.0%
37%
4.0%
1.8%
-0.1%
4.2%
0.6%
12.7%
-1.2%
4.8%
8.9%
0.9%
12.2%
0.4%
B.7%
0.0%
4.7%
2.1%
4.8%
2.3%
4.0%
2.4%
2.2%

1.4%
3.2%
3.2%
13%
0.5%
0.4%
1.3%
28%
2.0%
1.3%
1.8%
6.8%
2.9%
1.6%
2.5%
-0.5%
0.5%
0T%
21%
Z.2%

2010

1,498,592
10,408,688
3,802,262
52,244,411
10,088,259
6,309,806
2,461,627
1,808,577
35,706,445
2,510,668
1,973,365
18,468,813
9,496,870
3,798,414
5,674,884
7,503,392
10,280,085
11,254,218
11,007,707
9,698,511
2,895,006
6,450,586
15,178,289
3,235,892
27,660,464
1,615,657
4,673,702
1,908,131
7,130,266
1,474,850
7,844,471
28,723,907
12,787,302
347,470,028

5,501,040
2,151,887
4,445,162
2,309,757
16,214,817
4,081 151
1,752,064
5,054,598
10,861,664
13,755,782
6,402,302
16,239,132
2,397 455
918,866
9,487,653
9,792,052
1,688,571
1,186,342
114,235,116
461,705,145

SOURGE: License siate stafistics based on state treasury fax colisctions except where noted.
Control state stalistics ceme from MABCA, based on retail sales by state liquor stores except where noted,

NOTE:

2008

1,525,838
9,062,331
3,756,644
51,467,312
9,849,857
6,009,754
2,391,373
1,882,138
35,073,557
12,232,484
4,044,834
19,449,167
9,158,767
3,649,729
5,562,819
7,509,218
9,863,177
11,188,827
9,765,694
9,817,395
2,761,747
5,922,224
5,036,259
2,884,692
27,545,986
1,514,344
4,673,702
1,828,562
6,080,484
1,407,496
7,666,802
27,617,944
13,107 646
340,113,904

5,427,669
2,004,474
4,307,850
2,280,350
16,134,081
4,063,949
1,728,827
4,818,240
10,652,734
13,580,873
6,286,376
15,202,679
2,330,308
904,801
©.252,143
9,844,881
1,678,643
1,178,128
111,358,385
451,972,789

* Based on shipments from distilfers to wholesaiers. Georgia and Sourth Carolina uable to provide
** Based on shipments from state Fguor boards {o private retailers and other

# Georgia consumpiion includas supplier shipments o AAFES.

@ Figure includes low proof

? Value estirated as data s presently not avallable from the state.

Parcent
Change

-1.8%
14.8%
1.2%
1.6%
24%
3.4%
2.9%
-3.9%
1.8%
2.3%
1.5%
-5.0%
3.7%
4.0%
1.6%
-0.1%
4.2%
0.6%
12.7%
-1.2%
4.8%
8.9%
0.9%
12.2%
0.4%
6.7%
0.0%
4.7%
2.1%
4.8%
2.3%
4.0%
-2.4%
2.2%

1.4%
3.2%
3.2%
1.3%
0.5%
0.4%
1.3%
2.8%
2.0%
1.3%
1.8%
6.8%
2.9%
1.6%
2.5%
-0.5%
0.5%
0.7%
21%
2.2%



States Allowing Sunday Sales of Distilled Spirits

20

,_V
THE NUMBERS:
» 37 some form (statewide/local option)

* 17 oft-premise statewide
» 16 off-premise local option
» 4 certain demographics areas (control st.)

Allow Sunday sates of sprits off premise

Allow local government option throughout the state

Sunday sales in certain geographic/ demographic areas

* 13 no Sunday spirits sales
oTN, TX, UT, CT, OK, AL, MS, MT, MN, IN, WV, NC, 8C

DISCUS - 2011



