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AN ACT MANDATING EMPLOYERS PROVIDE PAID SICK LEAVE TO 
EMPLOYEES 

SUMMARY:  This act requires most employers of 50 or more people in the state 
to provide certain employees with paid sick leave accruing at a rate of one hour 
per 40 hours worked. It provides paid sick leave to service workers who work one 
of 68 federal Standard Occupational Classification System titles named in the act 
and are paid by the hour.   

The earliest service workers can begin accruing sick leave is January 1, 2012. 
Before they can begin using accrued sick leave they must: (1) have worked for the 
employer for at least 680 hours and (2) have worked an average of at least 10 
hours a week for the employer in the most recently completed calendar quarter.   

Under the act, the leave can be used for the service worker’s illness, injury, 
and related treatment or for the service worker’s child or spouse. The leave time 
can also be used for reasons related to family violence or sexual assault. 
Employers that offer other types of paid leave that can be used for the same 
purposes and accrues at least as quickly are deemed to comply. 

The act does not require manufacturers and certain tax-exempt organizations 
to provide paid sick leave. Also, it does not require covered employers to provide 
paid sick leave to day or temporary workers or non-hourly employees such as 
salaried professionals. 

Anyone aggrieved by an alleged violation of the act may file a complaint with 
the labor commissioner. The commissioner can impose a civil penalty of up to 
$100 on employers found in violation. The act bans employers from retaliating or 
discriminating against employees who request or use the leave the act provides or 
that the employer voluntarily provides. The labor commissioner can impose a fine 
of up to $500 on employers found in violation of the retaliation ban. The 
commissioner can also order other appropriate relief such as rehiring or payment 
of back wages. Parties can appeal the commissioner’s decision to Superior Court. 

The act requires employers to provide service workers with notice of the 
rights and protections it provides and allows the labor commissioner to develop 
regulations for additional notice requirements. 

The act also specifies that it does not preempt the terms of any union contract 
in effect before January 1, 2012, or diminish any right provided to any employee 
under a union contract. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2012 

§ 1 — DEFINITIONS  
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Employer 

The act defines “employer” as any person, firm, business, educational 
institution, nonprofit agency, corporation, limited liability company, or other 
entity, including the state and its municipalities, that employs 50 or more 
individuals in Connecticut in any quarter in the previous year, which must be 
determined annually on January 1. The 50-person threshold is satisfied if the 
employer employs that many Connecticut workers regardless of how many of 
them are service workers entitled to sick leave under the new law. 

The employee count must be made based upon the quarterly wage reports that 
employers must, by law, submit to the commissioner (CGS § 31-225a (j)).  

“Employer” does not include (1) any manufacturing business as classified in 
sectors 31, 32, and 33 of the North American Industrial Classification System 
(NAICS) or (2) any nationally chartered, nonprofit, tax-exempt organization that 
provides recreation, child care, and education services.  The NAICS codes cover 
all forms of manufacturing including the following products: food, textiles, wood, 
petroleum, chemical, plastics, metal, machinery, motor vehicles, aerospace, 
computer, electronic, and miscellaneous products. 

Service Worker and Employee 

In the act, “service worker” means an employee primarily engaged in an 
occupation with one of the following occupation code numbers and titles, as 
defined by the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics Standard Occupational 
Classification system or any successor system:  

 
Title Code Title Code 

Food Service 
Managers 11-9050 Medical and Health 

Services Managers 11-9110 

Social Workers 21-1020 Social and Human 
Service Assistants 21-1093 

Community Health 
Workers 21-1094 

Community and 
Social Service 
Specialists, All 
Other 

21-1099 

Librarians 25-4020 Pharmacists 29-1050 
Physician 
Assistants 29-1070 Therapists 29-1120 

Registered Nurses 29-1140 Nurse Anesthetists 29-1150 
Nurse Midwives 29-1160 Nurse Practitioners 29-1170 

Dental Hygienists 29-2020 
Emergency Medical 
Technicians and 
Paramedics 

29-2040 

Health Practitioner 
Support 
Technologists and 
Technicians 

29-2050 
Licensed Practical 
and Licensed 
Vocational Nurses 

29-2060 

Home Health 
Aides 31-1011 

Nursing Aides, 
Orderlies, and 
Attendants 

31-1012 

Psychiatric Aides 31-1013 Dental Assistants 31-9091 
Medical Assistants 31-9092 Security Guards 33-9032 

Crossing Guards 33-9091 
Supervisors of Food 
Preparation and 
Serving Workers 

35-1010 
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Cooks 35-2010 Food Preparation 
Workers 35 -2020 

Bartenders 35-3010 Fast Food and 
Counter Workers 35-3020 

Waiters and 
Waitresses 35-3030 Food Servers, 

Nonrestaurant 35-3040 

Dining Room and 
Cafeteria 
Attendants and 
Bartender Helpers 

35-9010 Dishwashers 35-9020 

Hosts and 
Hostesses, 
Restaurant, 
Lounge, and 
Coffee Shop 

35-9030 
Miscellaneous Food 
Preparation and 
Serving Related 
Workers 

35-9090 

Janitors and 
Cleaners, Except 
Maids and 
Housekeeping 
Cleaners 

37-2011 Building Cleaning 
Workers, All Other 37-2019 

Ushers, Lobby 
Attendants, and 
Ticket Takers 

39-3030 
Barbers, 
Hairdressers, 
Hairstylists, and 
Cosmetologists 

39-5010 

Baggage Porters, 
Bellhops, and 
Concierges 

39-6010 Child Care Workers 39-9010 

Personal Care 
Aides 39-9021 

First-Line 
Supervisors of 
Sales Workers 

41-1010 

Cashiers 41-2011 Counter and Rental 
Clerks 41-2021 

Retail 
Salespersons 41-2030 Tellers 43-3070 

Hotel, Motel, and 
Resort Desk 
Clerks 

43-4080 Receptionists and 
Information Clerks 43-4170 

Couriers and 
Messengers 43-5020 

Secretaries and 
Administrative 
Assistants 

43-6010 

Computer 
Operators 43-9010 

Data Entry and 
Information 
Processing Workers 

43-9020 

Desktop 
Publishers 43-9030 

Insurance Claims 
and Policy 
Processing Clerks 

43-9040 

Mail Clerks and 
Mail Machine 
Operators, Except 
Postal Service 

43-9050 Office Clerks, 
General 43-9060 

Office Machine 
Operators, Except 
Computer 

43-9070 Proofreaders and 
Copy Markers 43-9080 

Statistical 
Assistants 43-9110 

Miscellaneous 
Office and 
Administrative 
Support Workers 

43-9190 

Bakers 51-3010 
Butchers and Other 
Meat, Poultry, and 
Fish Processing 
Workers 

51-3020 
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Miscellaneous 
Food Processing 
Workers 

51-3090 
Ambulance Drivers 
and Attendants, 
Except Emergency 
Medical Technicians 

53-3010 

Bus Drivers 53-3020 Taxi Drivers and 
Chauffeurs 53-3040 

 
Under the act, service workers must be (1) paid on an hourly basis or (2) 

subject to the 1938 federal Fair Labor Standards Act’s minimum wage and 
overtime compensation requirements to be eligible for paid sick leave. These 
requirements generally exclude managers who have authority to hire and fire 
staff, professional occupations (such as lawyers and physicians), salespeople, and 
certain skilled computer professionals.  

Furthermore, service worker excludes day or temporary workers, which the 
act defines as those who perform work for another on (1) a per diem basis or (2) 
an occasional or irregular basis, for only the time required to complete the work, 
whether they are paid by the person for whom such work is performed or by an 
employment agency or temporary help service, as defined by law. 

§§ 2-4 — PAID SICK LEAVE 

Benefit Accrual  

Under the act, service workers start accruing leave time on January 1, 2012. 
Those hired before then will start accruing on that date and service workers hired 
after that date will start accruing on their date of employment. Service workers 
cannot use the benefit until they have worked at least 680 hours after the benefit 
starts accruing and they must have worked an average of at least 10 hours a week 
for the employer during the most recently completed calendar quarter. The act 
does not prevent an employer from allowing service workers to begin accruing 
time before January 1, 2012. 

Service workers accrue one hour of sick leave for every 40 hours of work and 
they cannot accrue more than 40 hours of sick leave in a calendar year. They can 
carry up to 40 hours of sick leave into the next calendar year, but cannot use more 
than 40 hours of leave in any year.  

Sick Leave Pay 

The act requires the service worker’s compensation while on sick leave to be 
the greater of (1) the worker’s normal hourly wage or (2) the statutory minimum 
wage while the worker is on leave. If the service worker’s hourly wage varies, the 
“normal hourly wage” is the average hourly wage paid to him or her in the pay 
period prior to the leave.  

An employer does not have to pay a service worker for unused sick leave 
upon termination, unless otherwise provided by an employer policy or collective 
bargaining agreement. 

Other Complying Leave 

Employers are deemed to be in compliance if they provide other paid leave 
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that (1) accrues at least as quickly as the act’s sick leave and (2) can be used for 
the same purposes. Under the act, “other paid leave” includes paid vacation, 
personal days, or other time off. 

The act does not prevent employers from providing a more generous paid 
leave policy than it requires, and employers may limit the use of benefits they 
provide that exceed the act’s requirements. 

Hour, Shift, and Benefit Flexibility 

The act permits employers to allow, but not require, service workers to switch 
shifts or work extra hours in lieu of using sick leave. The different shifts or extra 
hours must be (1) upon the mutual consent of the employer and service worker 
and (2) during the same or following pay period as the sick leave. Employers can 
also allow service workers to donate any unused sick leave to their co-workers. 

Job Termination and Accrued Sick Leave 

Under the act, any termination of a service worker’s employment, whether 
voluntary or not, is construed as a break in service with that employer. If a service 
worker is rehired after such a break in service, he or she is not entitled to use any 
sick leave that was accrued before the break unless agreed to by the employer. 
The service worker begins accruing sick leave time anew when rehired.  

Sick Leave Abuse 

The act specifies that it does not prohibit an employer from disciplining an 
employee for using paid sick leave for unauthorized purposes. 

§ 3 — PERMITTED USES 

The act requires an employer to allow a service worker to use paid sick leave 
for his or her, or a spouse’s or child’s:  

1. illness, injury, or health condition;  
2. medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, 

injury, or health condition; or  
3. preventive medical care.  
The act defines a “child” as an employee’s biological, adopted, or foster child, 

stepchild, legal ward, or a child of an employee acting instead of a parent, when 
the child is either under 18 years old or over 18 but incapable of self-care due to 
mental or physical disability.  

The act also requires employers to provide paid sick leave when the service 
worker is a victim of family violence or sexual assault for: 

1. medical care or psychological or other counseling for physical or 
psychological injury or disability,  

2. services from a victim services organization,  
3. relocating, or  
4. participation in a related civil or criminal legal proceeding.  
Family violence is any physical harm or threatened act of violence that 

constitutes fear of such harm between family or household members. Sexual 
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assault includes all penal code crimes of unlawful contact with the intimate parts 
of another person’s body, except aggravated sexual assault of a minor (CGS § 
53a-70c). 

Under the act, an employer does not have to provide paid sick leave for any 
reasons not specified in the act. 

§ 3 — PERMITTED REQUIREMENTS OF THE SERVICE WORKERS 

The act allows employers to require that service workers provide notice (1) up 
to seven days before taking the leave if it is foreseeable or (2) as soon as 
practicable if it is not foreseeable. 

If the leave is for three or more consecutive days, the employer can require 
reasonable documentation verifying the leave’s purpose. Table 1 details 
reasonable documentation. 

Table 1: Documentation Needed for Sick Leave 
Type of Leave Documentation 

For mental or physical 
illness, treatment of an 
illness or injury, mental or 
physical diagnosis, or 
preventive medical care 
for the service worker or 
the employee’s child or 
spouse 

Documentation signed 
by the health care 
provider treating the 
service worker or the 
service worker’s child or 
spouse and indicating 
the need for the number 
of days of the leave 

For a victim of family 
violence or sexual assault 

A court record or 
documentation signed by 
an employee or 
volunteer working for a 
victim services 
organization, an 
attorney, police officer, or 
other counselor involved 
with the service worker 

 
§ 5 — ENFORCEMENT 

Retaliation Prohibited 

The act bans most employers from terminating, suspending, constructively 
discharging, demoting, unfavorably reassigning, refusing to promote, disciplining, 
or taking any other adverse employment action against an employee because the 
employee (1) requested or used paid sick leave as provided by the act or in 
accordance with the employer’s own paid sick leave policy or (2) filed a 
complaint with the labor commissioner alleging an employer violated the act’s 
provisions.  

Since this part of the act uses the term “employee” rather than “service 
worker,” it applies to a larger number of workers than the rest of the law, which 
focuses on job classification codes. Thus the retaliation ban covers all employers 
with 50 or more employees, excluding manufacturers and the tax-exempt 
organizations described in the act, that provide their own paid sick leave. This 
means employers fall into one of three groups: (1) covered by all the act’s 
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provisions, (2) covered by only the retaliation ban, and (3) exempt from the act.  

Complaints, Hearings & Penalties 

Employees aggrieved by an alleged violation may file a complaint with the 
labor commissioner. The commissioner may hold a hearing on the complaint and, 
after the hearing, any employer who is found by a preponderance of the evidence, 
to have violated the act’s: 

1. general provisions will be liable to the Labor Department for a civil 
penalty of up to $100 for each violation or 

2. retaliation provision will be liable to the department for a civil penalty of 
$500 for each violation. 

The commissioner can award the employee all appropriate relief, including 
the payment for used paid sick leave, rehiring or reinstatement to the employee’s 
previous job, payment of back wages, and reestablishment of benefits for which 
the employee was otherwise eligible if not for the retaliatory personnel action or 
being discriminated against. Aggrieved parties can appeal the commissioner’s 
decision to Superior Court. 

 The act requires the labor commissioner to enforce its provisions within 
available appropriations. 

§§ 4 & 5 — EMPLOYEES UNDER UNION CONTRACTS 

The act does not preempt the terms of any union contract in effect before 
January 1, 2012 or diminish any right provided to any employee under a union 
contract. 

It requires the labor commissioner to advise any employee who is covered by 
a collective bargaining agreement that provides paid sick days and files a 
complaint under the new law of his or her right to file a grievance with his or her 
union.  

§ 6 — SERVICE WORKER NOTICE 

The act requires each covered employer to provide notice to each service 
worker at the time of hiring that the: 

1. service worker is entitled to paid sick leave, the amount provided, and the 
terms under which it can be used; 

2. employer cannot retaliate against the worker for requesting or using sick 
leave; and 

3. worker can file a complaint with the labor commissioner for any violation. 
An employer can comply with this requirement by displaying a poster with the 

required information in English and Spanish in a conspicuous place, accessible to 
service workers, at the employer’s place of business. The act authorizes the labor 
commissioner to adopt regulations establishing additional notice requirements. It 
requires him to administer the notice provision within available appropriations. 
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