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DISABLED VETERAN LICENSE PLATES 

  

By: Joseph Holstead, Associate Analyst 
 

 
 

You asked for information about Massachusetts’ disabled veteran 
license plate, including the cost to the state’s taxpayers and if 
surrounding states have similar policies. 

 

SUMMARY  

Massachusetts provides one free disabled veteran (DV) license plate to 

qualified veterans (i.e., those with a 60% or greater rating of certain 
service connected disabilities). Based on Massachusetts’ $50 biennial 
registration cost for a regular plate on a normal passenger vehicle, the 

state loses $51,650 over two years for the 1,033 currently issued DV 
plates. 

 

Of the other surrounding states, Maine, Rhode Island, and New 
Hampshire are similar to Massachusetts and provide a free plate with 

proper proof of certain disabilities.  New York charges an initial $28.75 
fee, but nothing for renewal. Vermont does not appear to have a specific 
disabled veteran license plate, but its Department of Motor Vehicles 

charges $10 for veterans’ plates the first time a vehicle is registered with 
$5 going to the Office of Veterans Affairs for veterans’ programs. 

 
 

http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/registration/vetplatesavailable.htm
http://www.nbcconnecticut.com/news/local/Police-Surround-Hartfords-Union-Station-135751418.html
http://www.nh.gov/nhveterans/benefits/license.htm
http://www.nh.gov/nhveterans/benefits/license.htm
http://www.nydmv.state.ny.us/military.htm
http://dmv.vermont.gov/
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Under Connecticut law, certain disabled wartime veterans are not 
charged for vehicle registration (CGS § 14-49(o)) and are eligible for 

special placards for people who have disabilities (CGS § 14-253a, PA 11-
213 eliminates the Department of Motor Vehicles commissioner's 

authority to issue new special license plates for those people eligible for 
handicapped placards, except for these individuals with motorcycles).  

 

For the purposes of the free registration and special placard in 
Connecticut, “disabled veteran” means a service member who served in 
time of war and (1) whose leg, legs, arm, or arms or portions of the limbs 

have been amputated or the use of which has been lost; (2) who is blind; 
(3) who has traumatic brain injury; or (4) is paraplegic or hemiplegic, 

with any disability being certified as service-connected by the Veterans' 
Administration (CGS § 14-254).  

MASSACHUSETTS’ DISABLED VETERAN (DV) LICENSE PLATES 

As of December 14, 2011, Massachusetts had 1,033 active DV license 

plates, according to the Massachusetts Department of Transportation 
(DOT).   Based on the registration cost of $50 biennially for a regular 

plate on a normal passenger vehicle, the state loses $51,650 over two 
years (if the number remained the same). However, a person who 
qualifies for a DV plate is also allowed a free driver's license, an excise 

exemption on one vehicle, and no sales tax on one vehicle. According to 
the DOT, calculating the cost to the state “would vary depending on the 
value of each car [and thus] it is difficult to calculate lost revenue 

because of additional entitlements associated with the plate in 
Massachusetts.” 

 
As background, according to the Massachusetts DOT, to receive the 

DV plate, a person must qualify for disabled parking (medically certified) 

and provide proof from the U.S. Veterans Administration (VA) that at 
least 60% of the VA-determined service connected disabilities qualify for 

disabled parking (e.g., 60% for congestive heart failure qualifies because 
of a heart impairment, but a 100% service connected disability of post 
traumatic stress disorder does not qualify for disabled parking or the DV 

plate). 
 
  For more information about Massachusetts’ DV plate, visit the 

following link: http://www.mass.gov/rmv/veteran/disvet.htm  
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http://search.cga.state.ct.us/dlSURS/SURK/DOC/14--00--0049---K.DOC
http://search.cga.state.ct.us/dlSURS/SURK/DOC/14--00--0253--AK.DOC
http://search.cga.state.ct.us/dlSURS/SURK/DOC/14--00--0254---K.DOC
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/veteran/disvet.htm
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