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HURRICANE DEDUCTIBLES 

  

By: Janet L. Kaminski Leduc, Senior Legislative Attorney 

 
 

 
You asked if the states that permit hurricane deductibles in 

homeowners insurance policies do so by statute or regulation.  You also 

asked for a comparison of the states’ hurricane deductible requirements. 

SUMMARY 

 

State regulators in the following 18 states and the District of 
Columbia permit hurricane deductibles in homeowners insurance 

policies: Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, 
Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Jersey, 
New York, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, and 

Virginia.  The following six have laws or regulations regarding hurricane 
deductibles: Florida, Louisiana, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, and 
Rhode Island. 

 
A deductible is the amount of money a policyholder pays out-of-

pocket before insurance coverage begins.  A standard homeowners 
insurance policy deductible is typically a flat dollar amount (e.g., $500 or 
$1,000).  But a hurricane deductible, which applies to losses due to a 

hurricane, is generally a percentage of the home’s insured value (e.g., 1% 
to 5%).  It is separate from the deductible that applies to all other perils 

(i.e., causes of loss). 
 



   

November 29, 2011 Page 2 of 6 2011-R-0404 

 

For example, if a policyholder’s home is insured for $200,000 and the 
insurance policy contains a 2% hurricane deductible, the policyholder 

would have to pay the first $4,000 needed to repair the home, if the loss 
were caused by a hurricane, before the insurance coverage begins. 

 
Whether a hurricane deductible applies to a claim depends on the 

applicable “trigger” or event needed to occur before the deductible will 

apply.  Triggers vary by state and insurer, but usually apply when the 
National Weather Service (NWS) issues a hurricane watch or warning.  
The hurricane deductible continues to apply until some time after the 

watch or warning terminates (e.g., between 24 to 72 hours). 
 

For more information about hurricane deductibles, see the Insurance 
Information Institute’s publication 
http://www.iii.org/issues_updates/hurricane-and-windstorm-

deductibles.html. 

HURRICANE DEDUCTIBLES 

 
Table 1 provides a comparison of state requirements for hurricane 

deductibles, including the deductible trigger. 

 
Table 1: Hurricane Deductibles Permitted by State 

 

State Deductible Permitted Deductible Trigger 

Alabama Percentage of the insured 
value of the home ranging from 
1% to 5%. 

Varies by company.  Generally 
goes into effect when NWS 
issues a hurricane warning.  
Ends 24 to 72 hours after the 
warning is lifted. 

Connecticut 
 

Percentage of the insured 
value of the home.  Cannot 
exceed 2% to 5% of property 
value. 
 
Deductible must be identified 
on the declarations page of the 
homeowners policy. 

Begins when the National 
Hurricane Center (NHC) issues 
a hurricane warning for 
anywhere in the state.  Ends 
24 hours after the NHC 
terminates the hurricane 
warning or downgrades the 
storm from a hurricane. 

http://www.iii.org/issues_updates/hurricane-and-windstorm-deductibles.html
http://www.iii.org/issues_updates/hurricane-and-windstorm-deductibles.html


Table 1 (continued)  
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State Deductible Permitted Deductible Trigger 

Delaware Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 
Insurers must provide 
policyholder with a description 
of the deductible, the trigger, 
examples of how the 
deductible is calculated, and a 
statement that deductibles (1) 
are not required by state law 
and (2) vary by insurer. 

Varies by company.  Generally 
goes into effect when NWS 
issues a hurricane warning.  
Ends 24 to 48 hours after the 
storm has passed. 

District of Columbia  Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 
 
 
 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends some period of time after 
storm passes (as set by the 
insurer). 

Florida 
(Fla. Stat. §§ 627.701 and 
627.4025) 

Insurers must offer the 
following hurricane 
deductibles: $500, 2%, 5% and 
10%. Percentages are of the 
total value of the home. 
 

Begins when NWS issues a 
hurricane warning or watch for 
any part of the state.  
Continues anytime hurricane 
conditions exist throughout the 
state.  Ends 72 hours after the 
watch or warning ends. 

Georgia Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when the NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends 24 to 48 hours after 
storm passes. 

Hawaii Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 
 
 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends some period of time after 
storm passes. 

Louisiana 
(La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 22:1337) 

Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 
A hurricane deductible must be 
applied on an annual basis. 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends some period of time after 
storm passes. 



Table 1 (continued)  
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State Deductible Permitted Deductible Trigger 

Maine Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 
 
 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends some period of time after 
storm passes. 

Maryland 
(Md. Code Ann. § 19-209) 

Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 
Insurers that want to apply a 
deductible that exceeds 5% of 
the insured value of a home 
must request approval from the 
insurance commissioner. 
 
Insurers must notify 
policyholders of the 
deductibles and explain how 
they are applied. 

Begins when the NHC issues a 
hurricane warning anywhere in 
the state. Ends 24 hours after 
the warning is ended.   

Massachusetts Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when the NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends 24 to 48 hours after 
storm passes. 

Mississippi Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends some period of time after 
storm passes. 



Table 1 (continued)  
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State Deductible Permitted Deductible Trigger 

New Jersey 
(N.J. Admin. Code 11:2-42.1, 
et seq. and N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 
17:36-5.34 & -5.36) 
 
 

Percentage of the insured 
value of the home, up to 5% 
(mandatory) or 10% (optional). 
 
(Mandatory deductible means 
the insurer will not sell 
homeowners insurance without 
a hurricane deductible.  When 
a deductible is optional, 
policyholders may choose a 
lower deductible for a higher 
premium.) 
 
Insurers must provide 
policyholder with information 
brochure that explains the 
hurricane deductible program. 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when the NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends 24 to 48 hours after 
storm passes. 
 
For hurricane deductibles 
approved by the New Jersey 
Department of Banking and 
Insurance, deductible applies 
to losses from a storm that the 
NWS designated a hurricane, 
but only if sustained wind 
speeds of 74 miles per hour 
(Category 1 hurricane) were 
measured somewhere in the 
state. 

New York 
(N.Y. Ins. Law § 3445 and N.Y. 
Comp. Codes R. and Regs. tit. 
11, § 74.0, et seq.)  

Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 
Insurers must disclose 
windstorm deductible to 
policyholders.  Notice must 
include amount of deductible, 
when deductible applies, and 
examples of how it is applied. 

Varies by company.  Some use 
a Category 1 hurricane as the 
triggering event and others use 
Category 2 hurricane, as 
determined by NWS.  
Generally ends 12 hours after 
storm is downgraded or storm 
makes landfall anywhere in the 
state. 

North Carolina Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when the NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends 24 to 48 hours after 
storm passes. 

Rhode Island 
(R.I. Gen. laws § 27-5-3.7 and 
R.I. Code R. § 11-5-110) 

Up to 5% of the insured value 
of the home. 
 
Insurers must provide notice of 
a hurricane deductible and give 
at least two examples of how it 
works.  The deductible, 
calculated as a dollar amount, 
must be included on the 
policy’s declarations page. 

Begins when the NWS issues 
a hurricane warning for any 
part of the state.  Ends 24 
hours after the warning 
terminates for any part of the 
state. 
 
For Block Island, a loss is due 
to a hurricane only when there 
are hurricane force sustained 
winds, as reported by NWS. 



Table 1 (continued)  
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State Deductible Permitted Deductible Trigger 

South Carolina Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when the NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends 24 to 48 hours after 
storm passes. 

Texas Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 
 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when the NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends 24 to 48 hours after 
storm passes. 

Virginia Percentage of the insured 
value of the home. 
 
 
 

Varies by company.  Generally 
begins when the NWS issues a 
hurricane watch or warning.  
Ends 24 to 48 hours after 
storm passes. 

 
Sources: 

1. Insurance Information Institute’s publication 
http://www.iii.org/issues_updates/hurricane-and-windstorm-
deductibles.html. 

2. OLR research of state laws and regulations. 
 

 
 
JKL:ro 

http://www.iii.org/issues_updates/hurricane-and-windstorm-deductibles.html
http://www.iii.org/issues_updates/hurricane-and-windstorm-deductibles.html

