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MANDATED REPORTING OF CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE 

  

By: Robin K. Cohen, Principal Analyst 

 
You asked us to (1) list all Connecticut mandated reporters of child 

sexual abuse and (2) identify states that have a universal mandated 
reporter requirement (i.e., they require anyone to report, not just 
enumerated professionals). 

 
 

SUMMARY 
 

Connecticut law requires people in certain professions or occupations 

that typically bring them into contact with children and parents to report 
to either the Department of Children and Families (DCF) or law 

enforcement officials if, during the ordinary course of their employment 
or profession, they reasonably suspect that a child under age 18 has 
been abused. These people, who are generally referred to as mandated 

reporters, include physicians and other health care workers, teachers 
and other school employees, law enforcement officials, child care 
providers, mental health professionals, DCF employees, and domestic 

violence workers. All other members of the public are nonmandated 
reporters, who may but are not required to report suspected abuse.  

 
Eighteen states have a universal reporter requirement, meaning that 

anyone who suspects child abuse is required to report. Sixteen of these 

specify professionals who must report but also require everyone else to 
report, regardless of profession. Of the 18, nearly half appear to mandate 

reports only in situations where the abuse is perpetrated by a parent or 
other person responsible for the child’s care or custody.  
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REPORTS OF SEXUAL ABUSE 

 
Each state has laws requiring certain people to report child abuse and 

neglect concerns. While some states require everyone to report their 
concerns, others identify specific professionals as mandated reporters. 
The laws usually include specific procedures for making referrals to child 

protective service agencies or law enforcement officials. For a description 
of Connecticut’s procedures when a case involves sexual abuse or 
assault, see DCF policy 33-7-6. 

 
CONNECTICUT’S REPORTING REQUIREMENTS  
 
Mandated Reporters 

 

Connecticut law requires certain individuals, who in the ordinary 
course of their employment or profession, have reasonable cause to 

suspect or believe that any child under age 18 has been abused or 
neglected, to report to DCF (24-hour hotline) or law enforcement officials.  

 

Under the law, “abused” means that a child or youth (1) is being 
inflicted with physical injury other than by accident; (2) has injuries at 
variance with the history reported; or (3) is in a condition that is the 

result of maltreatment, including sexual molestation (CGS § 46b-120).  
 

The DCF commissioner must inform law enforcement officials within 
12 hours of receiving any report alleging sexual abuse or assault of a 
child. (DCF policy defines “sexual abuse” as abuse of a sexual nature 

perpetrated by a parent, guardian, or caretaker or an adult family or 
household member. “Sexual assault” is assault of a sexual nature 
perpetrated by someone other than these individuals.) The particular 

circumstances surrounding these types of alleged incidents dictate 
whether DCF does its own investigation. 

 
The following individuals must report allegations of child abuse and 

neglect in Connecticut: 

 

 licensed physicians, including surgeons; hospital residents and 

interns, regardless of their licensure status; and physician 
assistants 

 

 registered nurses and licensed practical nurses 

 

 medical examiners 

http://www.ct.gov/dcf/cwp/view.asp?a=2639&Q=393846
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap815t.htm#Sec46b-120.htm
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 dentists and dental hygienists 

 

 mental health professionals, including psychologists, marital and 

family therapists, alcohol and drug counselors, social workers, and 
licensed professional counselors 

 

 police officers 

 

 juvenile or adult probation or parole officers 

 

 clergy  

 

 pharmacists 

 

 physical therapists 

 

 optometrists 

 

 chiropractors 

 

 podiatrists 

 

 licensed or certified emergency medical services providers 

 

 sexual assault counselors and battered women’s counselors 

 

 licensed foster parents 

 

 anyone paid to care for a child in a licensed public or private 

facility or a licensed child care facility, including family day care 
homes 

 

 DCF employees 

 

 Department of Public Health employees responsible for licensing 

child care facilities and youth camps 
 

 child advocate and her employees 
 

 family relations counselors, trainees, or family services supervisors 
employed by the Judicial Department 
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 school (elementary and secondary only) teachers and substitute 

teachers 
 

 school administrators and superintendents 

 

 school guidance counselors 

 

 school paraprofessionals 

 

 school coaches 

 

 any other person who, in the performance of his or her duties, has 

regular contact with students and who provides services to or on 
behalf of students enrolled in (1) a public elementary or secondary 

school, under a contract with a local or regional board of education 
or (2) a private elementary or secondary school, under a contract 

with the school’s supervisory agent (CGS §§ 17a-101, as amended 
by PA 11-93, and 53a-65). 

 
Optional Reporting 

 

Connecticut law also allows any mandated reporter acting outside  of 
his or her professional capacity and anyone else having reasonable cause 
to suspect or believe that any child under age 18 is in danger of being 

abused, or has been abused or neglected, to report to the DCF 
commissioner or her representative or a law enforcement agency (CGS § 
17a-103). 

 
OTHER STATES’ MANDATED REPORTING 

 
All but two of the states listed in Table 1 require everyone, not just 

enumerated professionals, to report suspected child abuse. New Jersey 

and Wyoming do not list the professionals and merely require anyone 
suspecting abuse to report, regardless of profession. About half of the 

states appear to require reporting only when the alleged perpetrator is the 
child’s parent or otherwise has supervisory control of the child.  

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap319a.htm#Sec17a-101.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap319a.htm#Sec17a-103.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap319a.htm#Sec17a-103.htm
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TABLE 1:   STATES WITH UNIVERSAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 
 

State Cite To Whom Abuse is Reported Alleged Perpetrator 
Must Be Parent or Other 

Responsible Party 
Delaware Del. Code Ann. Tit. 16 § 903 Child protective services (CPS) agency No 

Florida Fla. Stat. Ann. § 39.201 and § 39.01 State’s central child abuse hotline Yes 

Idaho Idaho Code Ann. § 16-1605 Proper law enforcement officials or CPS 
agency 

No 

Indiana Ind. Code § 31-33-5-1 Law enforcement officials or CPS agency No 

Kentucky Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 600.020 and 
620.030 

Local law enforcement officials, state 
police, CPS agency, or state’s or county’s 
attorney  

Yes 

Maryland Md. Ann. Code §§  5-701 and 5-705 Local CPS department or appropriate law 
enforcement agency 

Yes 

Mississippi Miss. Code Ann. § 43-21-353 CPS agency No 

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-711 Proper law enforcement agency or CPS 
agency 

No 

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 169-C:29 CPS agency No 

New Jersey [1] N.J. Rev. Stat. §§ 9:6-8.10 and 9:6-8.9 CPS agency Yes 

New Mexico N.M. Stat. Ann. §§ 32A-4-3 and 32A-4-2 Local law enforcement agency, CPS 
agency, or tribal law enforcement or social 
services agency 

Yes 

North Carolina N.C. Gen. Stat.  §§ 7B-101 and 7B-301 CPS agency Yes 

Oklahoma Okla. Stat. Tit. 10A, §§ 1-1-105 and 1-2-
101  

CPS agency Yes 

Rhode Island R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 40-11-2 and 40-11-3 (a) CPS agency Yes 

Tennessee Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 37-1-403; 37-1-605 Judge having jurisdiction over the child, 
CPS agency, or local law enforcement 
agency 

No 

Texas Tex. Fam. Code Ann. §§ 261.101 & -.103 CPS agency or law enforcement agency No 

Utah Utah Code Ann. § 62A-4a-403 Law enforcement  or CPS agency No 

Wyoming [1] Wy. Ann. Stat. § 14-3-205 CPS or local law enforcement agency No 
[1] These states do not enumerate individuals 

 
ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 

 
DCF policy on mandated reporters 

 
OLR Public Act Summary of PA 11-93 

 

RC:ts 

http://www.ct.gov/dcf/cwp/view.asp?a=2639&Q=393798
http://cgalites/2011/sum/2011SUM00093-R02HB-05431-SUM.htm

