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ESTATE AND INHERITANCE TAX RATES IN CONNECTICUT AND 
SURROUNDING STATES 

  

By: Judith Lohman, Assistant Director 

 
 
You asked for the estate and inheritance tax rates in Connecticut, 

Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island. The 
information in this report comes from CCH’s State Tax Guide and each 

state’s tax department website.   
 

SUMMARY 

 
Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed on the taxable value of 

property a person bequeaths to his or her heirs.  The federal government 
imposes an estate tax as do several states.  In addition, some states also 
impose an inheritance tax.  

 
Although estate and inheritance taxes appear similar, they actually 

apply to different transactions. An estate tax is imposed on the total 
value (after deductions and exemptions) of a person’s real and personal 
property (“estate”) at his or her death.  The executor of a deceased 

person’s estate is liable for paying the estate tax.  An inheritance tax is a 
tax on each heir’s right to receive the property transferred to him or her.  
Thus, it is calculated separately for each heir and depends on the value 

of the heir’s inheritance and, in most cases, also on the relationship 
between the heir and the deceased. 
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All of the states covered by this report have state estate taxes. New 
Jersey also has an inheritance tax.  Four of the five states have identical 

estate tax rates, but their thresholds for taxable estates are different.  
The fifth state, Connecticut, has fewer estate tax brackets, a lower top 

tax rate, and a higher taxable estate threshold than the other four. 
 
ESTATE TAXES  

 
Before 2001, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and 

Rhode Island had state estate taxes that were set to equal the maximum 

credit against the federal estate tax for state estate taxes paid. These 
state taxes were known as “pick-up” taxes because states that imposed 

them could collect an amount equal to the federal credit without 
increasing the taxpayer’s total liability.  But, in 2001, Congress 
eliminated the federal credit in the Economic Growth and Tax Relief 
Recovery Act of 2001 (EGTRRA - P.L. 107-134).  

 

The EGTRRA took effect for deaths occurring on or after January 1, 
2002. One of its major changes was to eliminate the state tax credit 
against the federal estate tax and substitute a deduction.  The federal 

law phased out the credit over four years.  It was fully eliminated as of 
January 1, 2005. By eliminating the federal credit, Congress effectively 

eliminated the state pick-up estate taxes linked to the credit.  As a result, 
several states, including all five of the states covered here, separated or 
“decoupled” their state taxes from the federal law.  

 
Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island 

 
Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island have state 

estate tax rates equal to the rates for calculating the pre-EGTRRA federal 

credit. Consequently, the estate tax rates and brackets in those states 
are the same (see Table 1). However, they have different thresholds for 
taxable estates. The tax applies to estates valued at more than:  

 
1. $1 million in Massachusetts and New York, 
2. $859,350 in Rhode Island, and 

3. $675,000 in New Jersey. 
 
Rhode Island’s threshold applies for deaths occurring between 

January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2011. Rhode Island adjusts its estate 
tax threshold annually for inflation. 
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In the table below, the state taxable estate thresholds listed above 
should be substituted for the zero in the initial bracket, with the 

amounts listed in the remainder of Columns A and B added to the 
threshold to determine the tax brackets for each state. 

 
TABLE 1: ESTATE TAX RATES AND BRACKETS  

Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island 
 

TAXABLE ESTATE  
(Amount over State Threshold) 

TAX  
(Add Columns C & D) 

Col. A: 
Over 

Col. B: 
But 

not over 

Col. C: 
Tax on 
Col. A 

 

Col. D: 
Tax Rate on 
excess over 

Col. A 

0 $40,000 0 

$40,000 90,000 0 0.8% 

90,000 140,000 $400 1.6% 

140,000 240,000 1,200 2.4% 

240,000 440,000 3,600 3.2% 

440,000 640,000 10,000 4.0% 

640,000 840,000 18,000 4.8% 

840,000 1,040,000 27,600 5.6% 

1,040,000 1,540,000 38,800 6.4% 

1,540,000 2,040,000 70,800 7.2% 

2,040,000 2,540,000 106,800 8.0% 

2,540,000 3,040,000 146,800 8.8% 

3,040,000 3,540,000 190,800 9.6% 

3,540,000 4,040,000 238,800 10.4% 

4,040,000 5,040,000 290,800 11.2% 

5,040,000 6,040,000 402,800 12.0% 

6,040,000 7,040,000 522,800 12.8% 

7,040,000 8,040,000 650,800 13.6% 

8,040,000 9,040,000 786,800 14.4% 

9,040,000 10,040,000 930,800 15.2% 

Over $10,040,000 
$1,082,800 plus 16.0% 

of the excess over $10,100,000 

 
Connecticut 

 
Connecticut’s estate tax is the only one of the five with rates not 

linked to the pre-EGTRRA federal credit rates.  Connecticut’s rates and 

brackets are shown in Table 2.  Connecticut’s taxable estate threshold is 
$2 million effective with deaths occurring on or after January 1, 2011. 



   

November 08, 2011 Page 4 of 5 2011-R-0380 

 

 
TABLE 2: CONNECTICUT ESTATE TAX RATES AND BRACKETS 

 
TAXABLE ESTATE  

 
TAX  

(Add Columns C & D) 

Col. A: 
Over 

Col. B: 
But 

not over 

Col. C: 
Tax on 
Col. A 

 

Col. D: 
Tax Rate on 
excess over 

Col. A 

0 $2,000,000 NO TAX 

2,000,000 3,600,000 0 7.2% 

3,600,000 4,100,000 $115,200 7.8% 

4,100,000 5,100,000 154,200 8.4% 

5,100,000 6,100,000 238,200 9.0% 

6,100,000 7,100,000 328,200 9.6% 

7,100,000 8,100,000 424,200 10.2% 

8,100,000 9,100,000 526,200 10.8% 

9,100,000 10,100,000 634,200 11.4% 

Over $10,000,000  748,200 12.0% 

 
NEW JERSEY INHERITANCE TAX  

 
New Jersey is the only state of the five that has an inheritance tax as 

well as an estate tax.  New Jersey’s inheritance tax rates and thresholds 

are based on the class of heir to whom the property is transferred.  The 
classes are based on the heir’s relationship to the deceased.  The closest 

relations pay no tax. The classes are: 
 

 Surviving spouse:  No tax 

 Class A (parents, grandparents, children, and issue): No tax 

 Class C (other relatives): See Table 3A 

 Class D (people and institutions not otherwise classified): See 

Table 3B 
 

Inheritance tax rates are applied to the taxable value of the amount 
each heir receives rather than to the value of estate as a whole.  Heirs, 
rather than the estate itself, are liable for the tax payment. 
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TABLE 3A: NEW JERSEY INHERITANCE TAX 

Rates for Class C Heirs 
 

Taxable Inheritance Tax Rate 

Over But Not Over 

0 $25,000 None 

$25,000 1,100,000 11% 

1,100,00
0 

1,400,000 13% 

1,400,00
0 

1,700,000 14% 

Over $1,700,000 16% 

 
TABLE 9B: NEW JERSEY INHERITANCE TAX 

Rates for Class D Heirs 
 

Taxable Inheritance Tax 
Rate Ove

r 
But Not 
Over 

0 $500 None 

$500 700,000 15% 

Over $700,000 16% 

 

JL:ts 


