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INCOME TAX RATES IN CONNECTICUT AND SURROUNDING STATES 

  

By: Judith Lohman, Assistant Director 

 
 

You asked for the personal income tax rates in Connecticut, 
Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island. The tax rate 
information in this report comes from CCH’s State Tax Guide and each 

state’s tax department website.   
 

SUMMARY 
 
Of the five states, Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode 

Island have income taxes structured with multiple income brackets taxed 
at progressively higher marginal rates.  Massachusetts is the only one of 

the five that imposes a flat income tax with two rates (5.3% and 12%) 
that apply based on the category, rather than the amount, of taxable 
income. Rhode Island’s tax is comparatively flat with only three brackets 

and a top rate of 5.99% applicable to all taxable income over $125,000. 
 

Of the three states with more progressive rate structures, New Jersey 
and New York have the highest top rates (8.97%), both applicable to 
taxable income over $500,000.  Connecticut’s top rate is 6.87%, 

applicable to taxable incomes over $500,000 for joint filers, $250,000 for 
singles and married couples filing separately, and $400,000 for heads of 
household.  As of January 1, 2012, New York is scheduled to drop its two 

current top brackets and return to its flatter pre-2009 structure with a 
top rate of 6.85% applicable to taxable income over $40,000 for joint 

filers, $20,000 for singles and married couples filing separately, and 
$30,000 for heads of household. 
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Although Connecticut’s new top rate (effective January 1, 2011) is 

lower than both New Jersey’s and New York’s current top rates, 
Connecticut’s tax is the only one that phases out its lowest rate for 
higher-income taxpayers, resulting in more of their income being taxed at 

an initial marginal rate of 5% rather than 3%.  Connecticut also requires 
taxpayers whose Connecticut adjusted gross income (CT AGI) exceeds 

certain thresholds to “recapture” or add back to their overall tax liability 
all or part of the benefits they receive from lower marginal rates on 
income not subject to the top rate.  New York has a similar recapture 

requirement, but it is temporary and scheduled to end after the 2011 tax 
year. 

 

CONNECTICUT 
 

Rates 
 

Table 1 shows Connecticut’s personal income tax rates effective with 

tax years starting on or after January 1, 2011. 
 

TABLE 1: CONNECTICUT INCOME TAX RATES 
 

TAX 
RATE 

CONNECTICUT TAXABLE INCOME 

Married Filing Jointly 
Single/ Married Filing 

Separately 
Head of Household 

Over But Not 
Over 

Over But Not 
Over 

Over But Not 
Over 

3.0% $0  $20,000  $0  $10,000  $0  $16,000  

5.0% 20,000 100,000 10,000 50,000 16,000 80,000 

5.5% 100,000 200,000 50,000 100,000 80,000 160,000 

6.0% 200,000 400,000 100,000 200,000 160,000 320,000 

6.5% 400,000 500,000 200,000 250,000 320,000 400,000 

6.7% Over $500,000 Over $250,000 Over $400,000 
 

Other Provisions Affecting Connecticut Tax Rates 
 

Phase-out of 3% bracket. Connecticut’s income tax law phases out 

the lowest (3%) income tax bracket for taxpayers with higher CT AGI. It 

does so by gradually expanding the 5% tax bracket and shrinking the 3% 
one until the latter disappears and all taxable income below the 5.5% 
threshold is taxed at 5%.  

 

The 3% bracket phase-out threshold is CT AGI over $100,500 for joint 
filers, $56,500 for singles, $78,500 for heads of household, and $50,250 

for married couples filing separately. Taxpayers lose the benefit of the 3% 
marginal rate entirely if they have CT AGI over $145,500 for joint filers, 
$101,500 for singles, $114,500 for heads of household, and $72,250 for 

married couples filing separately. For such taxpayers, the lowest 
marginal rate is 5%. Table 1A shows the phase-out steps. 
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TABLE 1A: CT 3% BRACKET PHASE-OUT 
 

 Married Filing 
Jointly 

Single Head of 
Household 

Married Filing 
Separately 

Phase-Out Starting Point: 
CT AGI over 

$100,500 $56,500 $78,500 $50,250 

Reduction in taxable 
income subject to 3% rate 

$2,000 per 
$5,000 of CT AGI 
over starting point 

$1,000 per $5,000 
of CT AGI over 

starting point 

$1,600 per 
$4,000 of CT AGI 
over starting point 

$1,000 per 
$1,000 of CT AGI 
over starting point 

3% Rate Eliminated: CT 
AGI over 

$145,500 $101,500 $114,500 $72,250 

 
Recapture.  For taxpayers whose CT AGI exceeds specified 

thresholds, the law imposes a “recapture” provision to eliminate the 
benefit they receive from having a portion of their taxable income taxed 

at lower marginal rates. It does so by requiring taxpayers with higher 
incomes to add back specified amounts to their tax liability. These 

“recapture” amounts phase in as CT AGI increases, until 100% of a 
taxpayer’s taxable income is effectively taxed at the highest marginal rate 
(6.87%).  

 
Taxpayers with CT AGI above the following levels are affected by the 

recapture provision: $400,000 for married filing jointly, $200,000 for 

singles and married couples filing separately, and $320,000 for heads of 
household. Table 1B shows, for each type of filer, the CT AGI starting 

point for the recapture phase-in, the AGI phase-in intervals and the 
recapture amount to be added at each interval, and the maximum total 
recapture amount to be added once CT AGI reaches the fully phased-in 

level. 

 
TABLE 1B: CT BENEFIT RECAPTURE PHASE-IN 

 
 Married Filing Jointly Single/ Married Filing 

Separately 
Head of Household 

Phase-In Starting 
Point: CT AGI over 

$400,000 $200,000 $320,000 

Recapture Amount $150 per $10,000 of CT 
AGI over starting point 

$75 per $5,000 of CT 
AGI over starting point 

$120 per $8,000 of CT 
AGI over starting point 

Maximum Total 
Recapture Amount 

$4,500 $2,250 $3,600 
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MASSACHUSETTS 
 

The Massachusetts income tax has two flat rates. The applicable rate 
depends on the type of taxable income, as shown in Table 2. 

 
TABLE 2: MASSACHUSETTS INCOME TAX RATES 

 
TAX RATE MASSACHUSETTS TAXABLE INCOME 

12.0% Short-term capital gains: 

 Capital gains on assets held for one year or less 

 Capital gains on sale of property used in a trade or business and held for one year or less 

 Gains on sales of collectibles 

5.3% Other taxable income 

 
NEW JERSEY 

 
New Jersey’s income tax rates are shown in Table 3.  New Jersey has 

two sets of tax brackets for two types of filers. Joint filers and heads of 

household have one more bracket than single filers and married couples 
filing separately. 

 
TABLE 3: NEW JERSEY INCOME TAX RATES 

 

TAX RATE 

MARRIED FILING 
JOINTLY/HEAD OF 

HOUSEHOLD TAX RATE 

SINGLE/MARRIED FILING 
SEPARATELY 

NJ TAXABLE INCOME NJ TAXABLE INCOME 

Over But Not Over Over But Not Over 

1.4% $0 $20,000 1.4% 0 20,000 

1.75% 20,000 50,000 1.75% 20,000 35,000 

2.45% 50,000 70,000 3.5% 35,000 40,000 

3.5% 70,000 80,000 5.525% 40,000 75,000 

5.525% 80,000 150,000 6.37% 75,000 500,000 

6.37% 150,000 500,000 
8.97% Over $500,000 

8.97% Over $500,000 

 

NEW YORK 
 

New York’s income tax rates are currently scheduled to change 
starting with the 2012 tax year.  The state’s three-year temporary tax 
increase on higher-income taxpayers will expire on December 31, 2011.  

Table 4A shows New York’s current income tax rates. Table 4B shows the 
rates scheduled to go into effect for tax years starting on or after January 

1, 2012. 
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Current Rates 
 

TABLE 4A:  NEW YORK INCOME TAX RATES 
2009-2011 Tax Years 

 

TAX RATE 

NEW YORK TAXABLE INCOME 

Married Filing Jointly 
Single/ Married Filing 

Separately 
Head of Household 

Over But Not 
Over 

Over But Not 
Over 

Over But 
Not Over 

4.0% $0 $16,000 $0  $8,000  
$0  $11,00

0  

4.5% 
16,0

00 
22,000 8,000 11,000 11,000 15,000 

5.25
% 

22,0
00 

26,000 11,000 13,000 15,000 17,000 

5.9% 
26,0

00 
40,000 13,000 20,000 17,000 30,000 

6.85
% 

40,0
00 

300,000 20,000 200,000 30,000 250,00
0 

7.85
% 

300,
000 

500,000 200,000 500,000 250,000 500,00
0 

8.97
% 

Over $500,000 Over $500,000 Over $500,000 

 

For higher-income taxpayers, New York imposes a recapture provision 
to eliminate benefits they receive by having part of their taxable income 
taxed at lower marginal rates. The recapture provision expires after the 

2011 tax year. It applies to: 
 

 taxpayers with NY AGI over $300,000 who have NY taxable income 
taxed at 7.85% (the second-highest rate), and 

 

 all taxpayers with NY AGI over $500,000.  

 
Rates for 2012 and Subsequent Tax Years 

 
TABLE 4B:  NEW YORK INCOME TAX RATES 

Tax Years 2012 and After 

 

TAX RATE 

NEW YORK TAXABLE INCOME 

Married Filing Jointly 
Single/ Married Filing 

Separately 
Head of Household 

Over But Not 
Over 

Over But 
Not Over 

Over But 
Not Over 

4.0% 0 $16,000 $0  $8,000  
$0  $11,0

00  

4.5% 
16,000 22,000 8,000 11,000 11,000 15,00

0 

5.25
% 

22,000 26,000 11,000 13,000 15,000 17,00
0 
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5.9% 
26,000 40,000 13,000 20,000 17,000 30,00

0 

6.85
% 

Over $40,000 Over $20,000 Over $30,000 
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RHODE ISLAND 
 

Table 5 shows Rhode Island’s income tax rates. Rhode Island’s tax 
has one set of brackets for all filers, regardless of filing status. 

 
TABLE 5:  RHODE ISLAND 

 

TAX RATE 

RHODE ISLAND TAXABLE INCOME 
Single/Married Filing Jointly/ Married 
Filing Separately/ Head of Household 

Over But Not Over 

3.75% 0 $55,000 

4.75% 55,000 125,000 

5.99% Over $125,000 
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