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PHYSICIAN LICENSE FEES 

  

By: Nicole Dube, Associate Analyst 

 
 

You asked for information on Connecticut’s physician license fees. 
Specifically, you wanted to know what the current fees are and how 
many times they have increased since 2001. You also asked for a 

comparison of Connecticut fees with the following other states’ fees: 
Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode 

Island and Vermont.  
 

CONNECTICUT PHYSICIAN LICENSE FEES 

 
Physicians must be licensed by the Department of Public Health 

(DPH) to practice medicine or surgery in Connecticut (CGS § 20-9). 
Generally, an applicant seeking licensure must successfully complete 
educational and training requirements, pass an examination, and pay a 

fee. (See OLR Report 2011-R-0081 for detailed information on physician 
licensure requirements.) Licenses must be renewed annually.  

 

In 2009, the legislature increased the initial and renewal license fees 
from $450 to the current $565 (PA 09-3, June Special Session). Prior to 

2009, the fees had not been raised since 1992 when PA 92-6, May 
Special Session increased it from $150 to $450.  

 

http://cgalites/2011/pub/chap370.htm#Sec20-9.htm
http://cgalites/2011/rpt/2011-R-0081.htm
http://cgalites/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6802&which_year=2009
http://cgalites/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=2018&which_year=1992
http://cgalites/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=2018&which_year=1992
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PHYSICIAN LICENSE FEES IN CONNECTICUT AND OTHER STATES 
 

At $565, Connecticut has the highest annualized initial and renewal 
fee for physicians compared to Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, 

New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont. Initial licensure fees 
range from $420.00 in New Jersey to $150.00 in New Hampshire. 
Renewal fees range from $325.00 in Rhode Island to $150.00 in New 

Hampshire. Table 1 shows the physician license fees in these states.  
 

Table 1: Physician License Fees in Select States 

 

State 
Initial Fee 
(Dollars) 

Terms 
(Years) 

Annualized 
Fee 

Renewal Fee 
(Dollars) 

Terms 
(Years) 

Annualized 
Fee 

Connecticut $565.00 1 $565.00 $565.00  1 $565.00 

Maine 700.00 2 350.00 400.00 2 200.00 

Massachusetts 600.00 2 300.00 600.00  2 300.00 

New Hampshire 300.00 2 150.00 300.00 2 150.00 

New Jersey 840.00 2 420.00 580.00 2 290.00 

New York  735.00 2 367.50 600.00 2 300.00 

Rhode Island 570.00 2 285.00 650.00  2 325.00 

Vermont 625.00 2 312.50 500.00  2 250.00 

Source: State statutes and regulations, agency websites, license renewal forms, and telephone interviews 
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