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PARENTS’ APPEAL RIGHTS WHEN A CHILD PROTECTION AGENCY 
REMOVES A CHILD FROM THEIR HOME 

  

By: Susan Price, Senior Attorney 

 
 

You asked what states give parents a bill of rights or similar 
explanation of appeal rights at the beginning of an abuse or neglect 
investigation. You also asked (1) what appeal rights Connecticut parents 

have when the Department of Children and Families (DCF) removes a 
child from their home due to charges of parental abuse or neglect and (2) 

how these appellate procedures work. 

SUMMARY 

 

Federal law requires state child protection agencies to have a process 
allowing appeals from a substantiated abuse or neglect complaint (1996 

Child Abuse and Prevention Treatment Act of 1996, codified at 42 USC § 
§ 5101 et seq.).  

 

Based on our Internet search, we found two states – Maryland and 
Tennessee – whose child protection agencies provide suspected abusers, 
including parents, written notice of their appeal rights at the beginning of 

their investigation.  
 

Maryland’s Department of Social Services distributes fliers to those 
involved in child protection services cases. The fliers describe agency 
findings that can be challenged through an administrative process 

followed by a court appeal. Tennessee’s Department of Children’s 
Services gives parents a comprehensive handbook when it opens a case. 
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Among other things, the handbook sets out the agency’s administrative 
review process and specifies what rulings can be appealed and how to file 

a court challenge.  
 

Connecticut is among the states, including Maine and Maryland, that 
provide handouts when a case is opened using a “Frequently Asked 
Questions” format that generally informs recipients that they have appeal 

rights. Each agency determination that can be appealed contains a 
description of the procedure for doing so. 

 

An accused parent in Connecticut has several appeal options that he 
or she can pursue before a DCF finding of abuse or neglect becomes 

final. First, he or she may request an internal agency review of the case. 
If dissatisfied with its outcome, he or she can request an administrative 
hearing, and, if the hearing officer does not rule in his or her favor ask 

the DCF commissioner to reconsider. Alternatively, the accused may go 
directly to Superior Court to challenge the hearing officer’s decision.  

 
Except in extraordinary circumstances, the agency’s decision becomes 

final if the accused misses any filing deadline.  

APPEAL RIGHTS WHEN DCF REMOVES A CHILD FROM HOME 

 
A parent alleged to have perpetrated abuse or neglect that results in 

DCF’s removing a child from his or her home can take several steps to 
challenge that action. He or she is entitled to an internal agency review if 

a written request is filed within 15 days after DCF places its 
recommended finding in the mail or delivers it to the accused in person 
(Conn. Agency Reg. § 17a-101k-4). The accused has 30 days after the 

agency’s ruling on the review request is mailed or received to file a 
written request for an administrative appeal (Conn. Agency Reg. § 17a-
101k-6).  

 
When DCF receives a timely appeal request, it undertakes a 

prehearing review, which the accused does not attend (CGS § 17a-101k-
6). The department must reverse the investigator’s recommended finding 
if it concludes that the charges have not been adequately substantiated. 

If so, it notifies the accused and the case goes no further. Otherwise, the 
agency assigns the case to a hearing officer and notifies the accused of 

the time and place of the hearing. The notice must include a written 
explanation of his or her rights and responsibilities.  

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap319a.htm#Sec17a-101k.htm
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The accused may review his or her file at any point before the hearing. 
Factual mistakes in such things as names and addresses can be 

corrected, but information about the nature of the case cannot The 
accused may submit documents for inclusion in the file to correct 

information he or she perceives to be untrue (CGS § 17a-28(m)).  

HEARING DECISION 

 

The hearing officer has 30 days from the conclusion of the hearing to 
prepare a memorandum of decision. The memorandum must include the:  

 

1. names of those present at the hearing;  
 

2. provisions of law, regulation, and policy applicable to the case;  
 

3. findings of fact and conclusions of law; and  

 
4. hearing officer’s reasoning for making the decision.  

 
DCF has the burden of showing by a preponderance of the evidence 

that the abuse or neglect determination is supported by the case record 

as a whole (CGS § 17a-101k (j)). When the hearing officer reverses DCF’s 
decision, he or she directs the department to revise its records to reflect 
the reversal. When the decision is to uphold the agency’s position, DCF 

must provide the accused with the written decision and an explanation of 
how he or she can (1) request the commissioner to reconsider the 

decision or (2) appeal to the Superior Court.  

REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION 

 

Any party that participated in the substantiation hearing who is 
aggrieved by the hearing officer’s decision can ask the commissioner to 
reconsider, but is not required to do so. If an aggrieved person wants to 

pursue this option, he or she must submit a written request within 15 
days after the hearing officer’s decision was mailed or personally 

delivered. The only grounds that can be raised are that: 
 
1. an error of fact or law should be corrected; 

 
2. new evidence has been discovered that materially affects the merits 

of the case, which for good reason was not presented at the 
substantiation hearing; or 

 

3. there is other good cause for reconsideration. 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap319.htm#Sec17a-28.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap319a.htm#Sec17a-101k.htm
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The commissioner has 25 days to issue a ruling. If she does not act in 
the allotted time, the hearing officer’s decision becomes final (Conn. 

Agencies Reg. § 17a-101k-11). 

COURT APPEALS 

 
An accused parent (appellant) who disagrees with the agency’s final 

decision can file an appeal in Superior Court within 30 days of the 

mailing or receipt of the decision. He or she can ask the court to block 
the implementation of the DCF hearing officer’s decision until the court 
proceedings are concluded.  

 
Appeal procedures and legal standards are governed by the state’s 

Administrative Procedures Act (CGS § 17a-101k (13)). Under that law, 
the court can only consider material in the DCF hearing record. This 
consists of:  

1. written notices related to the case;  
 

2. all petitions, pleadings, motions, and intermediate rulings, if any;  
 

3. evidence the hearing officer received or considered;  

 
4. questions and offers of proof, objections, and rulings affecting 

both;  

 
5. the official tape recording of the proceedings; and 

 
6. the agency’s final decision.  
 

The court must uphold DCF’s decision unless it finds that the 
appellant’s substantial rights were prejudiced because the administrative 
findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions are clearly erroneous in 

light of the reliable, probative, and substantial evidence contained in the 
record as a whole (CGS § 4-183(j)). 

 
SP:ro 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap319a.htm#Sec17a-101k.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap054.htm#Sec4-183.htm

