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OLR BACKGROUNDER: CONNECTICUT’S SALES AND USE TAX 

 
By: Rute A. Pinho, Associate Analyst 

 
This report provides an overview of Connecticut’s sales and use tax. It 

(1) describes major sales tax exemptions and (2) compares the tax rates, 
range of taxable services, and sales tax holidays in Connecticut and 
nearby states. 

 
OVERVIEW OF CONNECTICUT’S SALES AND USE TAX 

 
Connecticut taxes items and services purchased in the state (i.e., 

sales tax) and those purchased outside the state for use here (use tax). 

The state imposes a 6.35% sales tax, with some exceptions, on retail 
sales of tangible personal property purchased in the state and specific 
services provided by companies doing business in the state. Consumers 

pay the tax to the retailer at the time of the purchase.  
 

The 6.35% use tax applies to the same goods and services if a person 
buys them outside the state for use in Connecticut. If a retailer does not 
collect sales tax on these purchases when they occur, the consumer 

must pay the equivalent use tax directly to the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS). Use tax is generally paid along with an individual’s 

personal income tax payments or, in the case of a vehicle purchased in 
another state, when an individual registers the car here. 
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The legislature set the 6.35% sales and use tax rate during the 2011 
session, raising it from 6%. It also (1) increased the hotel tax rate from 

12% to 15%; (2) imposed a 3% tax surcharge on short-term car rentals; 
(3) imposed a 7% sales and use tax on certain “luxury” goods; (4) 

eliminated exemptions for specific items, including clothing and footwear 
under $50 and nonprescription drugs; and (5) extended the tax to 
additional services. OLR Report 2011-R-0238 summarizes these changes. 

 

The Office of Fiscal Analysis (OFA) projects that the sales and use tax 
will bring in $3.789 billion in revenue in FY 12, or 18.8% of total General 
Fund revenues. This compares to $3.353 billion, or 18.5%, in FY 11. 

 

EXCEPTIONS TO THE 6.35% RATE 
 

There are several exceptions to the 6.35% rate. The rate is: 
 

1. 7% on certain “luxury” motor vehicles, boats, jewelry, clothing, and 
footwear;  

 
2. 4.5% on motor vehicles purchased by an active duty U. S. military 

member stationed in Connecticut;  
 

3. 1% on computer and data processing services;  
 

4. 15% on short-term stays in hotels and lodging houses; and 
 

5. 9.35% on short-term car rentals. 
 

The 7% tax on luxury goods applies to the full sales price of motor 
vehicles, boats, jewelry, clothing, and footwear costing more than:  

 

1. $50,000 for motor vehicles, with certain exceptions;  
 

2. $100,000 for boats;  
 

3. $5,000 for jewelry (real or imitation); and 
 

4. $1,000 for clothing, footwear, handbags, luggage, umbrellas, 
wallets, and watches.  

 

SALES AND USE TAX EXEMPTIONS 
 

The sales and use tax applies to all tangible personal property unless 
it is expressly exempted by law (CGS §§ 12-408, 12-412). On the other 

hand, it applies only to those services specifically enumerated in the 
statutes (CGS §§ 12-407(I) – (P); 12-407(37)). OLR Report 2011-R-0276 
lists the exempted goods and services. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/rpt/2011-R-0238.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-408.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-412.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-407.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/rpt/2011-R-0276.htm
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Table 1 lists the exemptions for goods and services with an estimated 

FY 11 revenue loss of over $10 million. It includes a brief description of 
the exemption and indicates whether it is for a consumer good, business 

good, or service. The revenue loss figures are from the 2010 Tax 
Expenditure Report, published by OFA. We have omitted (1) any 
exemptions listed in the 2010 report that were repealed during the 2011 

session and (2) the exemption for motor vehicle fuel because it is subject 
to other state taxes. We have included computer and data processing 

services, which are not exempt, but are subject to a reduced tax rate of 
1%. 

 

Six of the 13 major exemptions listed are for consumer goods, 

including the two highest cost exemptions. OFA estimates that the food 
products and prescription drug exemptions cost the state $375 million 

and $325 million in FY 11, respectively. The exemption for patient care 
services is the next highest, with an estimated cost of $180 million. The 
reduced sales tax rate for computer and data processing services cost an 

estimated $90 million in FY 11.  
 
 

Table 1: Major Sales Tax Exemptions 
 

Exemption Description Type 

FY 11 
Estimated 

Revenue Loss 
(millions) 

Food products 
(1) Food products for human consumption, excluding meals sold by 
an eating establishment or caterer and (2) certain nonfood 
products, such as candy, gum, and soda 

Consumer good $375 

Prescription medicines, syringes, needles Prescription drugs and medicines, syringes, and needles Consumer good 325 

Patient care services Hospital patient care services Service 180 

Fuel for heating purposes 
Heating oil for (1) residential dwellings and (2) certain 
manufacturing, fabrication, or agricultural production facilities 

Consumer/ 
business good 

175 

Machinery used in manufacturing and 
component parts for the assembly of 
manufacturing machinery and production 
materials 

Machinery, including component parts and production materials, 
used directly in a manufacturing production process 

Business good 100 

Computer and data processing 
Certain computer and data processing services, including 
programming, code writing, software installation, and custom 
software development 

Service 90 

Amusement and recreation services1 
Amusement and recreational services, such as dance studios, 
bowling alleys, and riding stables 

Service 65 

Newspapers and magazines Magazine subscriptions and newspapers Consumer good 65 

Certain utilities sales 

(1) Gas and electricity for residential use and certain manufacturing 
or agricultural production; (2) water, steam and telegraph; (3) 
electricity, if the monthly charge is $150 or less and it is not 
otherwise exempt; and (4)  
gas, water, steam, or electricity used in the furnishing of such 
utilities.  

Consumer/ 
business good 

53 

                                       
1 Admission charges to any place of amusement, entertainment, or recreation are subject to a 10% admissions 

tax. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/ofa/Documents/RevItems/TaxExp/TaxExpenditureReportMarch2010.pdf
http://www.cga.ct.gov/ofa/Documents/RevItems/TaxExp/TaxExpenditureReportMarch2010.pdf


Table 1: -Continued- 
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Exemption Description Type 

FY 11 
Estimated 

Revenue Loss 
(millions) 

Motor vehicles and vessels purchased by 
non-residents to use out-of-state 

Motor vehicles or vessels sold in the state to nonresidents Consumer good 45 

Advertising 
Non-media advertising and public relations services and direct mail 
advertising services, other than cooperative direct mail 

Service 30 

World wide web  
Services rendered in connection with the creation, development 
hosting, or maintenance of a website 

Service 30 

Renovation and repair for residential 
property 

Services, such as electrical, plumbing painting, and carpentry 
services, rendered to owner-occupied residential property 

Service 21 

Source: OFA, Connecticut Tax Expenditure Report, March 2010 

 

COMPARING SALES TAX RATES IN CONNECTICUT AND NEARBY 
STATES 

 

Sales taxes across states vary by tax rate and base. Some states tax a 
broad number of goods and services, with few exemptions, while others 

tax relatively few. Table 2 shows sales tax rates for Connecticut and 
nearby states. Some states allow counties and municipalities to levy 
sales taxes. Consequently, the rate varies within these states.  
 

Table 2: State and Local Sales Tax Rates in Nearby States 
 

State Sales Tax Rate 

Connecticut 6.35% 

Massachusetts 6.25% 

New Jersey 7% 

New York 4% - 8.875% 

Pennsylvania 6% - 7% 

Rhode Island 7% 

 
Massachusetts and parts of Pennsylvania have the lowest sales tax 

rates among the selected states. (Two counties in Pennsylvania levy an 

additional 1% tax.) Connecticut has the next highest rate at 6.35%. 
While New York’s state-level rate is low (4%), the local rates give it among 

the highest combined state-local rates in the country. 
 

TAXABLE SERVICES 
 

Although most states tax services to a certain degree, they vary widely 

in the number and types of services taxed. The Federation of Tax 
Administrators (FTA) conducts a periodic survey of state service taxation. 

The FTA survey includes a list of 168 selected services, in different 
categories, to illustrate the extent to which each state taxes services. 
Across nearby states, Connecticut taxes the highest number of the 

services surveyed (79 out of 168). (This number does not include the 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/ofa/Documents/RevItems/TaxExp/TaxExpenditureReportMarch2010.pdf
http://www.taxadmin.org/fta/pub/services/btn/0708.html
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additional services that are taxable as of July 1, 2011.) New Jersey taxes 

a comparable number (74), while Massachusetts taxes the fewest (18). 
New York and Pennsylvania tax a similar number of services, 57 and 55 
respectively. Rhode Island, on the other hand, taxes only 29 services. 

None of the states tax professional services (e.g., legal, accounting, and 
engineering services).  

 

Table 3 lists a selection of specific services and indicates, for 
Connecticut and nearby states, whether the service is taxable in the 
state. We selected services to illustrate the variation in service taxation 

across the states. The check mark () means that the service is taxed. 
The last column indicates the total number of states that tax the service.  

 

Table 3: Taxable Services in Connecticut and Nearby States 
 

Service CT MA NY NJ RI* PA Total States 

Armored car services    2   16 

Automotive washing and waxing       21 

Carpet and Upholstery cleaning        19 

Dating services       8 

Debt counseling       7 

Downloaded books and music 3      17 

Electricity (residential use)       22 

Employment agencies       11 

Gift and package wrapping service       21 

Health clubs, tanning parlors, reducing salons       22 

Horse boarding   4    9 

Household goods storage   5    13 

Landscaping Services (including lawn care)   6   7 21 

Limousine service (with driver)    8   16 

Pet grooming       18 

Private investigation services       16 

Swimming pool cleaning and maintenance      9 17 

Taxidermy       26 

Tuxedo rental 10 11     39 

Window cleaning       19 
Source: FTA, By The Numbers, 2007 Survey of Services Taxation – Update, July 2008; PA 11-6, as amended by PA 11-61 
*RI did not respond to the FTA’s 2007 survey. The data included is for 2004. 

                                       
2 Taxable if the service is performed entirely in NJ or customer's location is in NJ. 
3 Taxable as a computer and data processing service at 1% rate. 
4 Training is exempt as a professional service 
5 Storage of property is taxable, but rental of real property for storage is exempt 
6 Taxable unless an exempt capital improvement (e.g., installation of a new fence, pond, underground sprinkler, hardscaping - 

deck, paver patio, walkway, driveway, retaining wall, pool deck). 
7 Lawn care is taxable; designing landscapes, planting trees, and maintaining landscape is exempt. 
8 Taxable if limousine ride begins and ends within NJ. 
9 Cleaning of above ground and indoor pools is taxable. 
10 Taxable when rental is $50 or greater. 
11 Rental charges exceeding the $175 clothing exemption are taxable. 
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As the table shows, Connecticut and its surrounding states vary 
greatly in the services they tax. Connecticut is the only state that taxes 
dating and debt counseling services. Pennsylvania is the only state that 

taxes gift and package wrapping services. Among the selected services, 
Rhode Island taxes only taxidermy. Connecticut and New Jersey are the 

only states that tax downloaded books and music. Connecticut taxes 
book and music downloads at the 1% rate for computer and data 
processing services while New Jersey taxes them at 7%. 

 
SALES TAX HOLIDAYS 

 

A sales tax holiday is a period during which a state suspends its sales 
tax on certain items. 17 states, including Connecticut and 

Massachusetts, have scheduled sales tax holidays in 2011, two fewer 
than in 2010. Connecticut’s sales tax holiday is limited to clothing and 
footwear (CGS § 12-407e). Massachusetts, on the other hand, exempts 

sales of any tangible personal property costing $2,500 or less from its 
sales tax over a two-day period.  

 
Table 4 lists the (1) duration, (2) type and cost of eligible items, and 

(3) 2011 dates for the sales tax holidays. Connecticut is among only four 

states that have a week-long sales tax holiday. Most hold them for two or 
three days. The majority of the states (15) exempt clothing and footwear 
from sales tax during their tax-free periods. Ten of these states also 

exempt school supplies. A few others include computers, Energy Star 
products and appliances, and other miscellaneous items (e.g., hurricane 

preparedness items, books, and sports equipment). 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-407e.htm
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Table 4: 2011 Sales Tax Holidays 
 

State 
2011 
Dates 

Days 

Items Included 

Clothing and 
Footwear 

School Supplies Computers Energy Star products Other 

Alabama Aug. 5-7 3 $100 $50 $750  Books – $30 

Arkansas Aug. 6-7 2 $100 No cap    

Connecticut Aug. 21-27 7 $300     

Florida Aug. 12-14 3 $75 $15    

Iowa Aug. 5-6 2 $100     

Louisiana 

Aug. 5-6 2     All tangible personal property – $2,500 

May 28-29 2     Hurricane preparedness items – $1,500 

Sept. 2-4 3 
    Firearms, ammunition and hunting 

supplies 

Maryland 
Aug. 14-20 7 $100     

Feb. 19-21 3    No cap  

Massachusetts Aug. 13-14 2     All tangible personal property – $2,500 

Mississippi July 29-30 2 $100     

Missouri 
April 19-25 7    $1,500  

Aug. 5-7 3 $100 $50 $3,500 ($350 for software)   

New Mexico  Aug. 5-7 3 $100 $15 $1,000 ($500 for related hardware)   

North Carolina 
Aug. 5-7 3 $100 $100 ($300 for instructional materials) $3,500 ($250 for accessories)  Sports equipment – $50 

Nov. 4-6 3    No cap  

Oklahoma Aug. 5-7 3 $100     

South Carolina Aug. 5-7 3 
No cap No cap No cap  Bed linens, bath towels, and other 

similar items – No cap 

Tennessee Aug. 5-7 3 $100 $100 $1,500   

Texas 

Aug. 19-21 3 $100 $100    

May 28-30 3 

   Air conditioners –
$6,000 

Refrigerators – $2,000 
Other goods – No cap 

 

Virginia 

May 25-31 7 
    Hurricane preparedness items – $60 

Generators – $1,000 

Aug. 5-7 3 $100 $20    

Oct. 7-10 4    $2,500  
Source: Tax Foundation Sales Tax Holidays; FTA, 2011 State Sales Tax Holidays; state websites 

 

RP:ro/ts 

http://www.ador.state.al.us/salestax/STHolidayQuickRefSheet11.pdf
http://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/offices/exciseTax/salesanduse/Documents/holidayItemized.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/drs/cwp/view.asp?a=1514&q=318566
http://dor.myflorida.com/dor/tips/pdf/tip11a01-03.pdf
http://www.iowa.gov/tax/educate/holiday1.html
http://revenue.louisiana.gov/sections/general/hottopics/salestaxholiday.aspx
http://www.comp.state.md.us/special_session/SalesUseTaxBulletin_TaxFreePeriod.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=dorterminal&L=7&L0=Home&L1=Businesses&L2=Help+%26+Resources&L3=Legal+Library&L4=Technical+Information+Releases&L5=TIRs+-+By+Year(s)&L6=2011+Releases&sid=Ador&b=terminalcontent&f=dor_rul_reg_tir_tir_11_7&csid=Ador
http://www.dor.ms.gov/secondsalestaxholiday.html
http://dor.mo.gov/business/sales/taxholiday/school/consumers.php
http://www.tax.newmexico.gov/Individuals/Pages/Tax-Holiday.aspx
http://www.dornc.com/taxes/sales/holidays.html
http://www.tax.ok.gov/stholiday.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/77303E53-05F0-4315-878C-16CF037A7D70/0/IL1111.pdf
http://www.tn.gov/revenue/salestaxholiday/
http://www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx98_490/tx98_490.html
http://www.tax.virginia.gov/site.cfm?alias=stholiday
http://www.taxfoundation.org/files/sr193.pdf
http://www.taxadmin.org/fta/rate/sales_holiday.html

