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You asked for (1) a history of increases in taxes on alcoholic beverages 

in Connecticut, (2) the alcoholic beverage tax rates in surrounding states, 
and (3) whether any surrounding states have recently increased their 
alcoholic beverage taxes. 

 
SUMMARY 

 
Since 1968, Connecticut has increased its excise tax on alcoholic 

beverages three times, including the 20% increase that took effect on 

July 1, 2011. The tax was last increased in 1989, when the legislature 
doubled the tax on beer, wine, and liquor. During that time, Connecticut 

also reduced taxes on two subcategories of alcohol: (1) wine with 21% 
alcohol or less produced by small wineries and (2) low-alcohol liquor 
coolers. 

 
A comparison of Connecticut’s current per-gallon alcoholic beverage 

taxes with those of eight other states in the region shows that 

Connecticut ranks in the top half of the nine states in its taxes on beer, 
liquor, and wine. Since 2008, three other states in the region (Maine, 

New Jersey, and New York) have increased their state alcoholic beverage 
taxes. Maine’s increase was subsequently repealed by voters in a 
referendum. Among the states bordering Connecticut, Massachusetts 

and Rhode Island have made no changes in their alcoholic beverage 
taxes since 2000. 
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Like the majority of its surrounding states, Connecticut also imposes 
sales taxes on alcohol sales. Among the eight surrounding states, 

Vermont and Massachusetts do not apply state sales tax to alcohol sales 
and New Hampshire has no sales tax.  Alcohol sales in Massachusetts 

were subject to sales tax from August 1, 2009 to December 31, 2010, but 
a November 2010 voter referendum repealed that law. 

 

CONNECTICUT’S ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAX 
 
Connecticut imposes an excise tax on beer, wine, and distilled spirits. 

The tax is based on volume: per barrel, fraction of a barrel, or wine gallon 
(128 ounces) for beer; per wine gallon for wine; and either per wine gallon 

or per proof gallon for distilled spirits. Since July 1, 1968, Connecticut 
has raised the tax three times. Taxes on most types of alcohol were 
raised by 20% as of August 1, 1983; 100% as of March 23, 1989; and 

20% as of July 1, 2011. 
 

Connecticut has also reduced taxes on two categories of alcoholic 
beverages since 1968: (1) wine with no more than 21% alcohol produced 
by someone who produces a maximum of 55,000 wine gallons per year 

and (2) liquor coolers with no more than 7% alcohol. Even with the most 
recent 20% across-the-board increase effective with sales on or after July 
1, 2011, alcohol taxes on those two categories are currently lower than 

they were on July 1, 1968 (see Table 1).  
 

Table 1: Connecticut Alcoholic Beverage Tax Rates, 
1968 to Present 

 

Alcoholic Beverage Unit Taxed 
July 1, 1968 to 
July 31, 1983 

August 1, 1983 to 
March 22, 1989 

March 23, 1989 to 
June 30, 2011 

July 1, 2011 to 
Present 

BEER AND CIDER 

Beer and cider with no more 
than 7% alcohol 

 

Barrel $2.50 $3.00 $6.00 $7.20 

½ Barrel 1.25 1.50 3.00 3.60 

¼ Barrel 0.625 0.75 1.50 1.80 

Wine gallon* 
or fraction 

under ¼ barrel 
0.08 0.10 0.20 0.24 

WINE 

Still wines with no more than 
21% alcohol 

Wine gallon* 0.25 0.30 0.60 0.72 

Still wines with no more than 
21% alcohol produced by a 
person producing no more than 
55,000 wine gallons annually 

Wine gallon* 0.25 0.30 0.15† 0.18 

Still wines with more than 21% 
alcohol  
  
Sparkling wines 

Wine gallon* 0.625 0.75 1.50 1.80 
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Table 1:-Continued- 

 

Alcoholic Beverage Unit Taxed 
July 1, 1968 to 
July 31, 1983 

August 1, 1983 to 
March 22, 1989 

March 23, 1989 to 
June 30, 2011 

July 1, 2011 to 
Present 

LIQUOR AND LIQUOR COOLERS 

Liquor Wine gallon* 2.50 3.00 4.50 5.40 

Alcohol – more than 100 proof Proof gallon* 2.50 3.00 4.50 5.40 

Liquor coolers with no more 
than 7% alcohol by volume 

Wine gallon* 2.50 1.35‡ 2.05 2.46 

* A wine gallon is 128 ounces. A proof gallon is a measurement based on volume and alcohol content. 
† Rate effective May 19, 1993 
‡ Rate effective July 1, 1987 

 

SURROUNDING STATES’ TAXES ON ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES  
 

Current Tax Rates 

 
The best way to compare state excise taxes on alcoholic beverages is 

on a per-gallon basis. Table 2 shows per-gallon taxes on beer, wine, and 
liquor (distilled spirits) in Connecticut; other New England states; and 

New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.  
 
The comparison shows that Connecticut’s tax on beer is the fourth 

highest. It is lower than in Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont, but 
higher than in our border states of New York, Massachusetts, and Rhode 
Island. Connecticut’s tax on wine is the second highest in the region after 

New Jersey’s and its tax on liquor is the third highest behind New York 
and New Jersey.  

 
Six of the nine states, including Connecticut, also apply state sales 

tax to alcohol purchases. Table 2 shows the alcoholic beverage and sales 

taxes that apply to beer, wine, and liquor purchases in each state. 
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Table 2: Taxes on Alcoholic Beverages in Connecticut and Neighboring States 
 

State 
Per-Gallon Excise Tax 

State Sales Tax 
Beer Wine Liquor 

Connecticut $0.24 $0.72 $5.40 6.35% 

Maine 0.251 0.301 2 5.0% 

Massachusetts 0.11 0.55 4.05 Not applicable 3 

New Hampshire 0.30 2 2 No sales tax 

New Jersey 0.12 0.88 5.50 7.0% 

New York 0.14 0.30 6.44 4.0% 

Pennsylvania 0.08 2 2 6.0% 

Rhode Island 0.11 0.60 3.75 7.0% 

Vermont 0.27 0.55 2 Not applicable 
1 Maine also imposes additional per-gallon taxes of 10¢ for beer, 30¢ for wine, and $1.25 for distilled spirits. 
2 State controls all sales directly. Revenue is generated from other taxes, fees, and net profits. 
3 Massachusetts’ sales tax on alcoholic beverages was repealed by voter referendum, effective with sales on or after January 1, 
2011. 
Sources: Tax Foundation, Federation of Tax Administrators, Commerce Clearinghouse  
 

Recent Alcoholic Beverage Tax Rate Increases 

 

Compilations of alcoholic beverage tax rates dating back to 2000 by 
the Federation of Tax Administrators show that, since 2008, 

Connecticut, Maine, New Jersey, and New York have increased alcohol 
taxes on beer, wine, or liquor. The Maine legislature increased taxes on 
beer and wine in April 2008, but the increase was repealed by voters in a 

referendum on November 4, 2008. In 2009, New Jersey raised taxes on 
wine and liquor and New York increased taxes on beer and wine. Table 3 
compares these tax increases on a per-gallon basis. 

 
Table 3: Alcoholic Beverage Tax Increases in Connecticut and Neighboring States  

Since 2008 
 

State Per-Gallon Increase Effective Date 

Beer Wine Liquor 

Connecticut 20 to 24 cents  
(20%) 

60 to 72 cents  
(20%) 

$4.50 to $5.40  
(20%) 

July 1, 2011 

Maine 25 to 54 cents 
(116%) 

30 to 65 cents 
(116%) 

No change April 2008 
Repealed November 4, 2008 

New Jersey No change 70 to 87.5 cents 
(25%) 

$4.40 to $5.50  
(25%) 

August 1, 2009 

New York 11 to 14 cents  
(27%) 

18.93 to 30 cents 
(58%) 

No change May 1, 2009 

Sources: Federation of Tax Administrators; state tax department websites 
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