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CRIMINAL PENALTIES FOR FALSELY CLAIMING RESIDENCY WITHIN
A SCHOOL DISTRICT

By: James Orlando, Associate Analyst

You asked about criminal penalties in other states for lying about
residency to send a child to another town’s school district.

SUMMARY

We found specific laws addressing false information supplied in the
context of residency for school enrollment in six states and D.C. Most of
these provide for prison terms and fines for falsely claiming residence for
school purposes, and a few explicitly provide for repayment of the costs
of student attendance. Other states punish this conduct under crimes
that generally apply to falsifying documents.

Criminal prosecutions of the parents involved in the alleged address
falsification appear to be rare, but not unprecedented. We found several
examples. Charges typically involve falsifying records or theft of services.
Currently, a homeless woman from Bridgeport who sent her child to a
Norwalk school is charged with first-degree larceny for the value of
education her son received from Norwalk.

In 2009, a woman in Rochester, New York allegedly lied about her
children’s residence to send them to another district and was arrested
and charged with two felonies: third-degree grand larceny and first-
degree offering a false instrument for filing (Eddy Ramirez, Schools Crack
Down on Boundary Hopping, March 2, 2009, available at
http:/ /www.usnews.com/education/articles /2009/03 /02 /schools-
crack-down-on-boundary-hopping).
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In January 2011, an Ohio woman who falsified residency records so
that her children could attend another school district was convicted on
two counts of record tampering. She was sentenced to 10 days in jail,
placed on three years’ probation, and ordered to perform community
service. The judge declared a mistrial on other counts, including grand
theft and fraud (Ed Meyer, Mom Jailed for Records Falsification, Jan. 19,
2011, available at http:/ /www.ohio.com/news/114189939.html).

Many school districts across the nation take various measures to
verify students’ addresses beyond requiring documents to prove
residency. These efforts may include hiring private investigators to
ascertain where students live and setting up anonymous tip lines. When
districts determine that an out-of-district student is attending a district
school without authorization, the district will typically expel the student
(see Ramirez article above).

Some school districts have adopted policies regarding residency
verification specifying that parents who falsify documents may be
referred for prosecution. For example, the Broward County (Florida)
School Board’s policy states that the district “may provide information to
the appropriate county or state agency for prosecution for any fraudulent
information knowingly submitted.” The policy also cites state statutes on
knowingly making a written false statement with intent to mislead a
public servant in the performance of official duties (Fla. Stat. § 837.06)
and perjury by false written declaration (Fla. Stat. § 92.525) (Broward
School Board Policy 5.1, available at
http:/ /www.broward.k12.fl.us/sbbcpolicies/).

PENALTIES RELATED TO FALSELY CLAIMING RESIDENCY
Arkansas

Arkansas law provides that anyone who knowingly gives a false
residential address for purposes of public school enrollment is guilty of a
violation and subject to a fine of up to $1,000 (Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-
202(f)).

District of Columbia
In D.C., anyone (including a school official) who knowingly supplies
false information to a public official in connection with student residency

verification is subject to up to 90 days’ imprisonment, retroactive tuition,
a fine of up to $500, or any combination of these (D.C. Code § 38-312).
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Illinois

In Illinois, with certain exceptions (e.g., certain children placed with
foster parents), a person who knowingly enrolls or attempts to enroll in a
school on a tuition free basis a pupil known by that person to be a
nonresident of the school district is guilty of a class C misdemeanor
(punishable by up to 30 days’ imprisonment, up to a $1,500 fine, or
both).

Anyone who knowingly or willfully presents to any school district false
information regarding a pupil’s residency to enable that pupil to attend
any school in that district without paying nonresident tuition also
commits a class C misdemeanor.

[llinois law specifies that these and other residency provisions do not
require a homeless child’s parent or guardian to pay tuition in
connection with or as a result of the homeless child’s continued
education or enrollment in a school that is chosen in accordance with
any of the options provided by law (105 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/10-20.12b;
105 Ill. Comp. Stat. 45/1-10).

Michigan

In Michigan, it is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 20 days’
imprisonment, a fine of $5 to $50, or both, to do any of the following:

1. to refuse to give a school census enumerator the necessary
information for the compiling of the census;

2. to intentionally give the enumerator false information as to the (a)
name or age of a school child or (b) names or residence of the
parents or guardians of a school child; or

3. for a school census enumerator to (a) perform his or her duties
carelessly or negligently or (b) include in the census list names of
school children who are not actually residents of the city or district
(Mich. Comp. Laws Serv. § 380.1812).

Missouri

In Missouri, it is a class A misdemeanor (punishable by up to one
year’s imprisonment, up to a $1,000 fine, or both) to knowingly submit
false information to satisfy student residency requirements or waivers of
such requirements. Missouri law also explicitly allows a school district
to bring a civil action to recover the costs of school attendance from a
parent or guardian who submitted such false information.
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In addition to other exceptions, Missouri’s residency requirements do
not apply to homeless children (Mo. Rev. Stat. § 167.020).

Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, if a school district policy allows someone to establish
residency by affidavit (this applies to certain adults other than parents or
legal guardians claiming to have custody of a child), it is a misdemeanor
to willfully make a statement in the affidavit which the person knows to
be false. Violators face up to a year in prison, up to a $500 fine, or both
(Okl. St. tit. 70, § 1-113(A)).

Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, a child who lives with someone other than a parent
can attend school in the caregiver’s town of residence if the caregiver
provides (1) appropriate legal documentation to show dependency or
guardianship or (2) a sworn statement with specified information.
Someone who knowingly provides false information in the sworn
statement for the purpose of enrolling a child in a school district for
which the child is not eligible is guilty of a summary offense. Violators
face (1) paying tuition costs; (2) up to 240 hours of community service, a
fine of up to $300, or both; and (3) paying court costs (24 Pa. Cons. Stat.
§ 13-1302).
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