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PUBLIC ASSISTANCE RECIPIENTS—DRUG TESTING AND 
REDETERMINATIONS 

  

By: Robin K. Cohen, Principal Analyst 

 
You asked if other states require random drug tests for ―state 

assistance‖ recipients. You also wanted to know whether the Department 
of Social Services (DSS) periodically checks the financial circumstances 
of such recipients to ensure that they still meet a particular program’s 

eligibility criteria. 
 

For purposes of this report, we define state assistance recipients in 
Connecticut as individuals receiving Temporary Family Assistance (TFA), 
Medicaid, Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP), or State-

Administered General Assistance (SAGA) benefits.  
 

SUMMARY 
 

Michigan was the fist state to pass a law imposing mandatory drug 

testing of welfare recipients but that law was struck down in 2003 as an 
unconstitutional search and seizure. In 2011, Florida and Missouri 
passed laws that require their state welfare agencies to perform drug 

tests on their family cash assistance applicants and recipients. Many 
other states, including Connecticut, proposed similar legislation that did 

not pass. The Connecticut bill would have required periodic testing. 
 
Mandatory drug testing laws have been subject to constitutional 

scrutiny on the basis that they infringe on someone’s right to privacy and 
freedom from unreasonable searches and seizures. A federal court ruled 
in 2003 that a Michigan law requiring suspicion-less drug testing of 
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welfare recipients was unconstitutional and since then, no state has 
enacted such a requirement. Based on this precedent, Missouri’s new 

law would probably be better able to withstand a constitutional 
challenge.  

 
State law requires DSS periodically to redetermine someone’s 

eligibility for its assistance programs. For the federal–state programs, 

these redeterminations generally must be done every 12 months. But 
elderly and disabled individuals receiving SNAP benefits have their 
benefits redetermined every 24 months. SAGA recipients must have their 

eligibility redetermined every 12 months. In addition to annual eligibility 
redeterminations, individuals must report changes in their 

circumstances that occur within an eligibility period that could affect 
whether they are still eligible (e.g., change in income).  

 

DRUG TESTING OF WELFARE APPLICANTS AND RECIPIENTS 
 

Over the years, many state legislatures have considered mandatory 
drug testing of public assistance recipients. In 2011 alone, at least 30 
states considered bills requiring testing, according to the National 

Conference of State Legislatures, and Florida and Missouri enacted such 
laws. Florida’s bill, HB 353, requires all applicants for the state’s cash 
welfare program to have a drug test as a condition of eligibility. Those 

testing positive are disqualified from receiving assistance for one year. In 
Missouri, things are a bit more complicated. There, when a public 

assistance caseworker believes that a cash assistance recipient is using 
drugs, the caseworker must report suspected abuse of the child in the 
household, which then prompts a mandatory drug test. Individuals who 

refuse to be tested and those who take the test, fail it, and refuse 
treatment, lose their benefits for two years. Florida’s governor has signed 
that bill into law; in Missouri, the governor has another week to veto the 

bill or it becomes law. 
 

A 2011 proposed Connecticut bill would have required periodic testing 
of adults receiving ―state cash assistance‖ (this would appear to include 
TFA, SAGA, and State Supplement). Recipients testing positive would 

have two chances to become clean before losing their assistance. The bill 
was never raised. 

 
States with Drug Testing Laws 

 
Florida. Earlier this year Florida’s legislature passed HB 353, which 

requires the state’s welfare agency to perform drug tests on Temporary 
Cash Assistance adult applicants as a condition of eligibility for benefits. 

Applicants who test positive cannot receive assistance for one year. If 

http://myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Bills/billsdetail.aspx?BillId=45214&SessionIndex=-1&SessionId=66&BillText=&BillNumber=353&BillSponsorIndex=0&BillListIndex=0&BillStatuteText=&BillTypeIndex=0&BillReferredIndex=0&HouseChamber=H&BillSearchIndex=0
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they re-apply after the year and test positive again, they are ineligible for 
three years. The applicant must pay for the test.  

 
To protect the dependent children in these families, the Department of 

Children and Families (DCF) can designate a ―protective payee‖ to receive 
cash assistance (just the amount to cover the children’s needs) on the 
children’s behalf. Alternatively, the parent can choose an immediate 

family member to do this, who must also be tested for drugs. 
 
The bill requires DCF to provide individuals who test positive for 

controlled substances information about drug abuse treatment programs 
in the area where they live. The bill specifies that the state is not 

responsible for providing or paying for such treatment.  
 
Missouri. Missouri passed a drug testing law earlier this year. The 

bill’s stated purpose is to protect the children in the home of or belonging 
to Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) recipients and to 

prevent abuse of taxpayer funds by taking staps to ensure that TANF 
recipients are not abusing drugs and alcohol. 

 

The bill permits the eligibility caseworker, when conducting the initial 
TANF eligibility assessments and redeterminations, to report suspected 
child abuse when he or she believes the TANF applicant or recipient is 

illegally using a controlled substance. But it requires caseworkers to 
report suspected abuse when a work-eligible TANF recipient (1) tests 

positive for illegal drug use in relation to a required work activity or (2) 
refuses to be tested for drug use in relation to any work activity 
preparation or the activity itself.  

 
The bill requires a work-eligible recipient (one otherwise eligible for 

TANF benefits and required to participate in a work activity as a 

condition of receiving benefits) to be tested for drug use if a child abuse 
investigation prompted by the above reports gives rise to a reasonable 

suspicion that the recipient is using drugs. 
 
Recipients refusing to be tested are declared ineligible for TANF for 

two years from an administrative hearing (unless they successfully 
appeals the decision to deny). Recipients who test positive lose their 

benefits for two years from the hearing date unless (1) they enter and 
successfully complete a substance abuse treatment program 
administered by the Department of Mental Health’s Division of Alcohol 

and Drug Abuse and (2) do not test positive for illegal drug use in the six-
month period beginning on the date they enter treatment. Recipients 
continue to receive benefits while in treatment.  

 



   

July 08, 2011 Page 4 of 7 2011-R-0206 

 

After the six-month period, the department can perform random tests. 
A recipient who tests positive again is declared ineligible for TANF for two 

years from the next hearing on a decision to deny. 
 

Other members of the household continue to receive their share of the 
TANF payment either as a ―protective or vendor‖ payment to a third 
party.  

 
Connecticut’s Proposed Bill 
 

Proposed bill 395 would have required periodic drug testing of adults 
receiving state cash assistance. For a first positive test for illegal drugs, 

the individual would have to undergo an evaluation for drug dependence 
by a health care provider and if the provider recommended such, 
complete a drug education or treatment program. 

 
Recipients testing positive a second time would be required to 

complete a drug education or treatment program. Recipients who either 
failed to complete the treatment program or tested positive a third time 
would lose their cash assistance.  

 
The bill, which was referred to the Human Services Committee, was 

never raised. 

CONSTITUTIONALITY OF DRUG TESTING 

 

In 1999, Michigan enacted a pilot program for suspicion-less drug 
testing of all family assistance recipients with the intent of making it 
statewide. Welfare recipients challenged the law in federal court and the 

court found that it violated an individual’s right to privacy under the 4th 
Amendment, ruling specifically that it was unconstitutional when applied 
universally or randomly without reasonable suspicion of drug use 

(Marchwinski v. Howard, 113 F. Supp. 2d 1134 (E.D. Mich. 2000), aff’d 
60 F. App’x 601 (6th Cir. 2003)).  

 
Despite this ruling, according to an analysis of the Florida law by 

Florida House of Representatives staff, the U.S. Supreme Court has ruled 

in four situations that suspicion-less drug testing is constitutional and 
does not violate the 4th Amendment, which protects an individual’s right 

against unreasonable searches and seizures. However, none of the 
rulings pertained to welfare recipients. In these cases, the analysis 
states, the court focused on the special need of the government, the 

unique situation involved (e.g., school setting) and public safety. 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=395&which_year=2011
http://myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Documents/loaddoc.aspx?FileName=h0353z.HHSC.DOCX&DocumentType=Analysis&BillNumber=0353&Session=2011
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When public safety was not at risk, the Court ruled differently. It 
found unconstitutional a Georgia law that required all candidates for 

designated state offices to certify that they had taken a drug test and the 
result was negative in order to run for office, according to the analysis 

(FL. House of Representatives Staff Analysis of HB 353, 2011).  
 
Of the two new drug testing laws, it would appear that Missouri’s 

would stand a better chance of withstanding a constitutional challenge 
as it would apply only when a suspicion of drug abuse exists. Florida’s 
law requires suspicion-less testing. 

REDETERMINATIONS OF ELIGIBILITY 

 

General Redeterminations 
 

State law requires DSS to reinvestigate all cases of people receiving 

―aid from the state‖ at least once every 12 months, but it allows for 
biennial reinvestigations for recipients of ―assistance‖ to the elderly and 

disabled with stable circumstances (CGS Sec. 17b-104). Although the 
law allows biennial redeterminations, federal law requires that Medicaid 
and State Supplement eligibility be redetermined annually and DSS 

continues to use this schedule for those programs. DSS received a waiver 
of federal SNAP rules to allow for 24-month redeterminations for elderly 
recipients and those with disabilities who have stable circumstances. 

 
Although annual redeterminations are generally the norm for these 

programs, there is some variation. State regulations specify maximum 
intervals between redeterminations. DSS attempts to assign the longest 
period between eligibility reviews as possible, and the cycles can be 

varied for specific cases or target groups on the basis of such factors as 
error-prone profiles or individual case history. 

 

Table 1 lists maximum intervals for State Supplement, Medicaid, 
SNAP, and SAGA. Table 2 shows this information for TFA, which is a bit 

more complex. 
 
Table 1: Maximum Redetermination Cycles for DSS Assistance 

Programs 
 

Assistance Program Maximum Inteval 

State Supplement—cases with 

earnings 

At least once every six months 

State Supplement—no earnings At least once every 12 months 

Medicaid (except spend down) At least once every 12 months 
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Assistance Program Maximum Inteval 

Medicaid—spend down At least once every six months 
(corresponds to the six month 
excess income spend-down period) 

SNAP (non-elderly and –disabled) At least once every 12 months 

SAGA At least once every 12 months 
Source: DSS Uniform Policy manual, various sections 

 

 
TFA Intervals. TFA has four types of redeterminations. When two 

become due in the same month, DSS consolidates them into one. In all 

instances, DSS terminates the benefits when families fail to complete 
these reviews without good cause. 

 

Table 2: Maximum Intervals for TFA Recipients 
 

 

TFA—Type of 

Review 

Maximum Interval 

Counter review  Every six months for time- limited assistance units 
(AU)(i.e., families) when the unit has received benefits 

for six months and at least one mandatory employment 
services Jobs First Employment Services (JFES) 

participant in the unit (1) is not taking part in a 
structured employment services activity as specified in 
his or her employment plan and (2) is not working.  

Periodic income 
review 

Every six months based on the number of months 
someone has received TFA, regardless of whether the 

AU is time-limited. These are done to (1) gather 
information about the AU, (2) emphasize the 
importance of work, (3) update the case file, and (4) 

make any necessary eligibility changes. 

Annual 

redetermination 

Every 12 months for time-limited and exempt families. 

Purposes are same as those for periodic review. 

Exit interview During the 20th month of time-limited AU or in the fifth 

month of a six-month extension. These are performed 
to tell families (1) what benefits they may qualify for 
once their TFA benefits cease and (2) that they may 

qualify for an extension.  
Source: DSS Uniform Policy Manual, Sec. 8520, et. seq. 

 
Interim Activity 
 

State law requires anyone receiving assistance from these programs, 
or their legally liable relative, to notify the DSS commissioner, in writing, 
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within 10 days after learning of or receiving property, wages, income, or 
resources of any kind. Any change in the information a client furnishes 

on an application or redetermination form must likewise be reported, 
either orally or in writing, within 10 days of the change. The requirement 

can be waived for good cause, which generally arises when 
circumstances beyond a client’s control prevent him or her from 
complying (CGS § 17b-85).  
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