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EMISSIONS TEST WAIVER THRESHOLD 

  

By: Paul Frisman, Principal Analyst 
 

 

 
You asked (1) when the motor vehicle emissions test waiver was 

established, (2) what the amount of the threshold was at that time, and 
(3) what it is now. 

SUMMARY 

Federal regulations require certain states, including Connecticut, to 

issue compliance waivers to certain motor vehicle owners whose vehicles 
fail an initial emissions test, and, after emissions-related repairs are 

made, a subsequent re-test. Owners may obtain this waiver if they spend 
more than a specified amount on the repairs and meet certain other 
conditions. The regulations, which took effect in 1989, set the minimum 

amount an owner must spend on repairs at $450, and required states to 
adjust this figure annually for inflation. The current waiver threshold is 

$660. 
 
The federal regulations, and subsequent state legislation, replaced an 

earlier state waiver provision. Under that provision, first enacted in 1978, 
the owner of a vehicle that failed its initial emissions test and, after the 
necessary repairs were made, a subsequent re-test, could qualify for a 

waiver based on “unreasonable cost of repair” (PA 78-335). The law 
initially established this minimum threshold at $75. It subsequently 

reduced this amount to $70 in 1979 (PA 79-238) and to $40 in 1983 (PA 
83-561). 
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U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regulations, which took effect 
in 1989, set standards for states with enhanced emissions inspection 

programs, such as Connecticut. They required, among other things, that 
these states set a minimum cost for repairs necessary to qualify for a 

waiver from compliance (40 CFR 51.360). Under the regulation, this had 
to be least $450, adjusted annually each January by the percentage that 
the Consumer Price Index (CPI) of the preceding calendar year differs 

from the 1989 CPI.  
 

Consequently, the legislature in 1993 scrapped its earlier $40 repair 
cost provision and set “an unreasonable cost of repair” as a cost in 
excess of that required by the federal regulations (PA 93-312).  

 
The state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has since specified the 

actual waiver amount through regulation (Conn Agency Regs. § 14-164c-

11a (b)). The regulations specifying the current waiver threshold of $660 
were adopted in 2004.  

 
More information on the waiver process can be found on the DMV 

website at CT Emissions Program - FAQs - Failures and Re-tests 

(http://www.ctemissions.com/faqs-failuresretest.html). More 
information on the history of the waiver standards can be found in OLR 
Report 2008-R-0028 (http://cga.ct.gov/2008/rpt/2008-R-0028.htm).  
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