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SCHOOL BUS DRIVER TESTING 

  

By: Paul Frisman, Principal Analyst 
 

 
You asked several questions about testing of school bus drivers. We 

answer them individually below. 

 
How much does it cost to test school bus drivers? Does it cost more 

than $400? 
 

According to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which 

administers the test, the cost of testing school bus drivers depends on 
the hourly pay of the test administrator and the amount of time it takes 
to administer the test.  

 
Connecticut requires school bus drivers, and other drivers who 

transport children, to have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) with an 
“S” endorsement.  It takes about one hour, on average, to test an 
applicant for a Class B CDL with an “S” endorsement. (Class B CDL 

licenses are for drivers of vehicles weighing at least 26,000 pounds.) The 
driving test includes pre-trip tasks, static course maneuvers, student 

pick-up procedures, railroad crossing procedures, an on-the-road skills 
test, and post-trip tasks. According to DMV, the average pay of the DMV 
employees administering the test is approximately $26 an hour. 

Therefore, the direct cost is approximately $26. This does not include an 
employee’s fringe benefits and other costs such as scheduling and 
transportation. 
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What is the failure rate of those being tested?  
 

The failure rate for road tests is different for new school bus drivers 
and those renewing their license. According to DMV, the failure rate for 

new school bus drivers in calendar year 2010 was approximately 46%, 
with 730 failures out of a total 1,585 tests given.  

 

DMV also administers a driver proficiency test required by CGS §14-
276a (b). School bus operators must pass this test before renewing their 
license with school bus endorsement. In calendar year 2010, there were 

342 failures out of a total of 1,552 applicants’ tests, a failure rate of 
approximately 22%. 

 
Are the tests conducted by independent contractors?  If so, how are 
they selected? Do any of neighboring states do this type of testing?  

 

According to DMV, Connecticut has not engaged third-party 

contractors to conduct school bus skills testing. DMV says that some 
jurisdictions have third-party testing, but have found this practice to be 
of questionable reliability.  

 
We also checked with the National Association of Pupil Transportation 

(NAPT). According to NAPT, there is no third-party school bus driver 

testing in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, or Vermont. In Vermont, 
anyone transporting school children must attend an eight-hour clinic, 

presented by individuals trained and certified by the Vermont DMV. But 
department examiners conduct all knowledge and skill tests. 

 
Do the independent contractors charge the same price? 

 

Not applicable (see above). 
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