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REST BREAKS FOR STATE SNOW PLOW DRIVERS 

  

By: Paul Frisman, Principal Analyst 

 
 

You asked how often state Department of Transportation (DOT) 

snowplow drivers take rest breaks, whether the same rest break schedule 
applies to independent contractors DOT hires, and what percentage of 

Massachusetts snowplow drivers are state employees.  

CONNECTICUT SNOWPLOW DRIVERS 

DOT Drivers 

 

According to DOT, its employees who drive snowplows are entitled 
under union contract (Maintenance & Service NP-2 Bargaining Unit 

Contract § 52) to a three hour rest period after working 17 consecutive 
hours. Under that same contract, DOT cannot require an employee to 
work more than 21 consecutive hours without beginning the rest period. 

A supervisor has discretion to provide longer rest periods. 
 

Independent Contractors and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Act  

 
Rest breaks for independent snowplow contractors depend on the 

terms of their contracts with DOT. Assuming that these contracts do not 
deem the independent contractors state employees (in which case the 
union contract’s terms would apply) independent drivers are subject to 

federal regulation and state law.  
 

http://www.ct.gov/opm/lib/opm/olr/contracts/np2_contract_2012.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/opm/lib/opm/olr/contracts/np2_contract_2012.pdf
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Connecticut law (CGS § 14-163c) applies federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Act regulations to drivers of commercial motor vehicles in intrastate 

commerce that weigh more than 18,000 pounds. The regulations allow 
drivers of these vehicles to work shifts of up to 14 hours, during which 

they can only drive a total of 11 hours. They must get 10 consecutive 
hours off after each 14-hour shift. 

 

However, the regulations allow a “short haul” exception for drivers 
whose trucks stay within a 100-mile radius of their normal worksite.  
These drivers can work a 12-hour day, during which they can drive a 

maximum of 11 hours, and then must get 10 hours off.  
 

Drivers whose snowplow trucks weigh 18,000 pounds or less are 
regulated under a state law which sets a 12-hour on-duty limit, followed 
by eight required consecutive hours off-duty (CGS § 14-274). 

MASSACHUSETTS SNOWPLOW DRIVERS 

The Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) relies 
primarily on independent contractors to remove snow and ice. According 

to Paul Brown, Director of Snow and Ice Operations for MassDOT, only 
about 10% of the state’s 3,000 snowplow drivers are state employees.    

 

HYPERLINKS 

Maintenance & Service NP-2 Bargaining Unit Contract § 52, 
http://www.ct.gov/opm/lib/opm/olr/contracts/np2_contract_2012.pdf 

 
CGS § 14-163c, 
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap246.htm#Sec14-163c.htm 

 
CGS § 14-274, 
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap248.htm#Sec14-274.htm 
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