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February 10, 2011  2011-R-0060 

PROPERTY OF INNOCENT VICTIMS OF CRIMES 

  

By: Amanda Gordon, Research Fellow 
 

 
You asked how Connecticut and other states handle the property of 

innocent victims of crimes.  You are particularly interested in what 
happens when a motor vehicle is seized as part of a criminal 
investigation when the owner of the car was not involved in the crime. 

SUMMARY 

People whose property is seized by law enforcement and held as 
evidence may have suffered the loss of property by: (1) seizure as part of 

a criminal act or (2) theft, then seizure as part of a criminal act.  
 
In Connecticut, individuals have the right to have any property they 

own that is seized by police in connection with an arrest returned to 
them at the final disposition of the criminal action, or within six months 
if there is no criminal action.  Recovered stolen property must be 

returned within 30 days of the victim’s request unless law enforcement 
shows good cause for holding it longer. 

 
Four other New England states and New York also require seized 

property to be returned to its owner when it is no longer needed as 

evidence in a criminal prosecution.  Three of these states distinguish 
between stolen property and other seized property. 
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VICTIM’S RIGHT TO RETURN OF SEIZED PROPERTY IN 

CONNECTICUT 

In Connecticut, a crime victim has the right to have any property he 

or she owns, which was seized by police in connection with an arrest, 
returned to him or her. 

 

With several exceptions, courts must order seized property returned 
to its owner at the final disposition of the criminal action or as soon 
thereafter as practical.  If there is no criminal action, the court must 

issue an order to return the property within six months after the owner 
makes a claim for its return.  A crime victim makes a claim by contacting 

the prosecutor and asking him or her to file a motion to have such 
property returned. 

 

Stolen property is treated differently.  The law requires that stolen 
property be returned within 30 days of the request for return unless the 

court is holding it as evidence and shows cause for holding it longer.  In 
the latter case, the court determines when the property must be returned 
(CGS § 54-36a). 

 
If your constituent’s car was stolen, the fact that he or she cannot get 

it back may indicate that the court needs to hold it longer as part of the 

ongoing investigation of the robbery. 

VICTIM’S RIGHT TO RETURN OF SEIZED PROPERTY IN OTHER NEW 

ENGLAND STATES 

We surveyed the other New England states and New York.  Every 

state, except Maine, has a law that requires seized property to be 
returned to its owner when it is no longer needed as evidence in a 
criminal prosecution.  New Hampshire, New York, and Rhode Island laws 

distinguish between stolen property and other seized property. 
 

Massachusetts 
 

 In Massachusetts, seized property may be maintained for “as long as 

necessary” to be produced or used as evidence in any trial.  The property 
must be restored to the owners as soon thereafter as practical 

(Massachusetts General Laws, Chap. 276, §3). 
 

http://cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap959.htm#Sec54-36a.htm
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New Hampshire 
 

 In New Hampshire, seized property may be maintained “so long as 
necessary” to permit it to be produced or used as evidence in any trial.  

Upon request, property that is stolen, embezzled, fraudulently obtained, 
or of evidential value may be returned to the owner before trial unless 
cause is shown for holding it longer (NH RSA § 595-A:6). 

 
New York 

 

 In New York, the court may maintain stolen property as evidence 
when there is “good cause” for doing so.  Upon request by the owner, a 

motor vehicle necessary for “the health or welfare of any person” may be 
returned to the owner either (1) 48 hours after receipt of the request or 
(2) when examination, testing, photographing or reproduction of such 

property is completed, whichever occurs first (New York Code, Article 
450, § 450.10). 

 
Rhode Island 

 

 In Rhode Island, seized property may be maintained “so long as may 
be necessary” to be used as evidence in any case.  Property that is stolen 
or otherwise unlawfully taken from the owner, not used or intended for 

an unlawful purpose, or used without knowledge of the owner must be 
returned to the owner “as soon as may be thereafter” (R.I.S. § 12-5-7). 

 
Vermont 
 

 In Vermont, seized property may be maintained for evidentiary 
purposes, but must be returned to the owner upon the prosecutor’s 
authorization (13 V.S.A. § 5311). 
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