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You asked questions about certain sales tax exemptions in 

Connecticut and other states. The questions and answers are listed 

separately below. 

MOTOR VEHICLE AND BOAT TRADE-INS 

 
Connecticut sales tax applies only to the difference between the sale 

price of a new motor vehicle or boat and the value of any trade-in, and 

not to the full cost of the new vehicle or boat (CGS § 12-430 (4)).  
 

Do surrounding states have the same exemption? 

 
A search of state tax department websites found that seven 

surrounding states (Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, 
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont) have a similar exemption for 
the trade-in allowance applied towards the sales price of a motor vehicle 

or boat. Rhode Island exempts the sale of new or used boats or vessels 
from its sales tax entirely.  

 
What was the revenue loss from the exemption in the past three 
years? 

 
The state lost approximately $124 million in total revenue from FY 08 

to FY 10. The revenue loss was approximately $49.9 million in FY 08, 

$33.3 million in FY 09, and $40.9 million in FY 10.  
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-430.htm
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The Department of Revenue Services (DRS) collects data on this tax 
exemption claim through the Sales and Use Tax Return form. This 

estimate is based on summaries of this data, provided in the DRS Annual 
Reports for 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10 for each respective fiscal year. 

BOAT OWNERS 

 
Connecticut exempts winter boat storage and boat maintenance and 

repair services from sales and use tax (CGS §§ 12-407 (2)(m), 12-408 
(l)(D), and 12-411(1)(D)). The boat storage exemption applies from 
November 1 through April 30, while boat repair and maintenance are 

exempt year-round.  
 
What would the increase in the tax be to owners if the tax 
exemption ends? 

 

If the legislature eliminated the exemptions, boat owners would be 
subject to a 6% sales and use tax for all boat storage, repair, and 

maintenance services.  
 
Do Rhode Island and New York have similar exemptions? 

 
Rhode Island exempts boat storage, maintenance, and repair services 

from sales tax. Unlike Connecticut, Rhode Island exempts boat storage 

services year-round.  
 

New York does not exempt winter boat storage. It taxes most marina 
services, including storage, repair, and maintenance services. But it 
exempts charges for mooring, using a slip, dockage, and wharfage from 

the tax (Federation of Tax Administrators, 2007 Services Taxation 
Survey). It also exempts any maintenance and repairs performed on 

commercial and fishing vessels (N.Y. Tax Law § 1105(c)(3) (iv), (vii)). 
 
What was the revenue loss from these exemptions in the past three 

years? 

 

In total, the state lost an estimated $11.2 million in total revenue from 
FY 08 to FY 10 due to the winter boat storage and the boat repair and 
maintenance services tax exemptions.  

 
Winter Boat Storage. The state lost an estimated $1.1 million in 

total revenue from FY 08 to FY 10 from this exemption. The loss is an 
estimated $370,000 for each fiscal year. This assumes that 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-407.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-408.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-408.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-411.htm
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approximately 10,000 boats were stored for the winter at an average cost 
of $620 per boat for the season. This estimate was developed with 

information from the City of Stamford, the Marine Trades Association, 
and a 2007 marina study conducted by Miner & Silverstein, LLP 

(Pawcatuck River Marina Market Study – August 2007). 
 
Repair and Maintenance Services. The state lost approximately 

$10.1 million in total revenue from FY 08 to FY 10 from this exemption. 
The revenue loss was approximately $3.8 million in FY 08, $3.3 million 
in FY 09, and $3.0 million in FY 10. This estimate is based on the DRS 

Annual Reports for 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10. 

RESOURCE RECOVERY FACILITIES 

 
Resource recovery facilities have a sales tax exemption on materials 

they buy that go into processing trash to energy (CGS § 12-412 (35)). 

 
What was the revenue loss from this exemption in the past three 

years? 

 
The revenue loss associated with this tax exemption is $1.85 million 

from FY 08 to FY 10. The loss was approximately $630,000 in FY 08, 
$1,010,000 in FY 09, and $210,000 in FY 10. This estimate was 
developed using data on machinery and equipment purchases provided 

by the Connecticut Resources Recovery Authority.  

NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS 

 
Nonprofit organizations are exempt from paying sales tax on items 

they buy and, in some cases, from collecting tax on items they sell. The 

exemption for nonprofit purchases applies to items purchased exclusively 
for the purposes for which the nonprofit organization was established 
(CGS § 12-412 (8)). Nonprofit organizations that sell goods or services are 

generally required to collect sales tax on those sales. But state law allows 
nonprofits to sell items at up to five one-day fundraising events per year 

without collecting sales tax (CGS § 12-412 (94)).  
 
The law also exempts from the sales tax certain purchases and sales 

by specific types of nonprofit organizations, including: 
 

1. sales of items and services to and by nonprofit charitable 
hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, and residential care homes 
(CGS § 12-412 (5));  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-412.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-412.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-412.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-412.htm
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2. sales of items costing $100 or less made through gift shops in 

nonprofit nursing homes, convalescent homes, or adult day care 
centers, as long as the profits are retained for the benefit of the 

facility’s patients or users (CGS § 12-412 (56));  
 

3. sales of items costing up to $20 by nonprofit youth and school 

support groups (CGS § 12-412(26)); and  
 

4. property used for operating, or incorporated into, low- and 

moderate-income housing (1) built under the sponsorship of, and 
owned and operated by, nonprofit housing organizations or 

housing authorities or (2) owned or sponsored by a mutual 
housing association at a location conveyed to it by the Department 
of Housing and Urban Development before September 1, 1995 

(CGS § 12-412 (29) and (100)).  
 
Which other states exempt nonprofit purchases and sales from 
sales tax? 

 

States vary widely in the extent to which they exempt nonprofit 
purchases and sales from sales tax. Attachment 1 describes how states 
treat nonprofit purchases, including whether they allow the nonprofit 

sales tax-exemption to pass through to other entities purchasing 
materials and supplies on behalf of the organizations (i.e., contractors 

hired by a nonprofit for a construction project). Attachment 2 describes 
how states treat sales by nonprofit organizations for sales tax purposes.  

 
Nonprofit Purchases. Generally, states fall into three groups based 

on how they treat nonprofit purchases: broad, limited, or no sales tax 
exemption. Table 1 lists the states in each category. Most states (26, 

including Connecticut) provide a broad sales tax exemption for nonprofit 
purchases. The next largest group of states (15) exempts certain types of 

nonprofits or specific organizations from the tax. The third and smallest 
group – Hawaii, South Carolina, and Washington – does not exempt 
nonprofit purchases.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-412.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-412.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap219.htm#Sec12-412.htm
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Table 1: Summary of State Sales Tax Exemption of Purchases by 
Nonprofit Organizations 

 

Broad Exemption Limited Exemption No General Exemption 

Colorado 
Connecticut 
Florida 
Illinois 
Indiana 
Kentucky 
Maryland 
Massachusetts 
Michigan 
Minnesota 
Missouri 
Nevada 
New Jersey 

New Mexico 
New York 
Ohio 
Pennsylvania 
Rhode Island 
South Dakota 
Tennessee 
Texas 
Utah 
Vermont 
Virginia 
Wisconsin 
Wyoming 

Alabama 
Arizona 
Arkansas 
California 
Idaho 
Iowa 
Kansas 
Louisiana 
Maine 
Mississippi 
Nebraska 
North Carolina* 
North Dakota 
Oklahoma 
West Virginia 

Hawaii 
South Carolina 
Washington 

*North Carolina semiannually refunds sales tax paid on direct purchases by certain types of nonprofits organizations 
Source: Mikesell, John L. “State Retail Sales Tax Treatment of Nonprofits.” State Tax Notes, June 1, 2009. 
 

Nonprofit Sales. Table 2 summarizes how states treat nonprofit sales 

using the categories in Table 1. Eight states provide a broad exemption 

for nonprofit sales, while eight other states provide no general exemption. 
The largest group of states (28, including Connecticut) specifically limit 
the types of organizations that are exempt from collecting sales tax on 

their sales or the activities that qualify these organizations for an 
exemption. Most states do this by limiting the (1) number of permitted 
days per year for tax-exempt sales, (2) proceeds from the sales, (3) types 

of items eligible, or (4) the price per item in the exempt sales.  
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Table 2: Summary of State Sales Tax Exemption of Sales by 
Nonprofit Organizations 

 

Broad Exemption Limited Exemption No General Exemption 

Arizona 
Arkansas 
Iowa 
Missouri 
Nevada 
New Mexico 
South Carolina 
Utah 

Colorado 
Connecticut 
Florida 
Georgia 
Illinois 
Indiana 
Kentucky 
Louisiana 
Maine 
Maryland 
Massachusetts 
Michigan 
Minnesota 
Mississippi 

New Jersey 
New York 
North Carolina 
North Dakota 
Ohio 
Rhode Island 
Tennessee 
Texas 
Vermont 
Virginia 
Washington 
West Virginia 
Wisconsin 
Wyoming 

Alabama 
California* 
Hawaii 
Idaho 
Kansas 
Nebraska* 
Pennsylvania* 
South Dakota* 

* State exempts isolated sales by specific organizations. 
Source: Mikesell, John L. “State Retail Sales Tax Treatment of Nonprofits.” State Tax Notes, June 1, 2009. 
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Attachment 1: State Sales Tax Exemption of Purchases by Nonprofit 
Organizations 

 

State Exempt Entities Pass Through 

Alabama  
No general exemption, some specific and usually by name (e.g., 
Boy Scouts of America).  

N.A.  

Arizona  

No general exemption, but exemption for qualified hospital and 
healthcare organizations, organizations serving free meals to the 
needy and organizations providing training to mentally or 
physically handicapped.  

N.A.  

Arkansas  
No general exemption, but exempt purchases by certain named 
entities (Poets Round Table, Girl Scouts, etc.) and nonprofit 
hospitals.  

Some refund of tax 
paid on new plant or 
facilities  

California  
No general exemption, but entity may not be taxed on items 
purchased for resale, art and museum pieces for public display, 
and health information materials for distribution.  

N.A.  

Colorado  

Sales to charitable organizations in conduct of regular charitable 
activities are exempt. Organizations exempt under IRC 501(c)(3) 
will be exempt unless the Department of Revenue makes its own 
determination about the organization’s charitable status. 

Yes  

Connecticut  Exemption references IRC 501(c)(3).  
Building material for 
nonprofit housing  

Florida  Exemption references IRC 501 (c)(3) plus other nonprofits.  No  

Hawaii  No exemption.  N.A.  

Idaho  

No general exemption, but state exempts purchases by 
hospitals, specifically named health-related entities (e.g., 
American Cancer Society and American Red Cross), museums, 
senior citizen centers, and some others.  

No  

Illinois  
Exempts charitable, religious, educational, and cultural or arts 
organizations (need IRC 501 (c)(3) designation).  

Limited to entity 
providing certain 
services to persons 
over age 55  

Indiana  
Exempts charitable, civic, educational, literary, religious, 
scientific, hospitals, and others. Not as broad as IRC 501 (c)(3).  

Yes  

Iowa  
No general exemption, but some types of entities are exempt 
(e.g., American Red Cross, hospitals, museums, and residential 
facilities for mentally handicapped children) 

Exempt materials 
purchased for 
museums, Habitat for 
Humanity, and 
educational institutions  

Kansas  
No general exemption, but many named organizations (e.g., 
American Lung Association) and some types are exempt (e.g., 
hospitals, museums).  

Yes  

Kentucky  
Exempts all charitable, educational, or religious institutions or 
historical sites (Must have IRS 501(c)(3) designation).  

No  

Louisiana  No general exemption. Limited specific exemptions (for example, No 
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State Exempt Entities Pass Through 

organization providing training for the blind, limited charity, toys 
for donation to minors).  

Maine  
No general exemption, but specific exemption for certain 
healthcare, educational, religious, child-related, and other 
organizations (purchases by purchase order only).  

Yes  

Maryland  
Exempts charitable, educational, religious, volunteer fire, and 
veterans organizations (usually requires IRC 501 (c)(3) 
determination; designation creates presumption of exemption).  

Yes  

Massachusetts  
Exempts religious, charitable, education, or scientific (any IRC 
501(c)(3)).  

Yes  

Michigan  
Exempts hospital, church, IRC 510(c)(3), and IRC 501(c)(4). 
(Automatic)  

No (except hospitals 
and qualified housing)  

Minnesota  
Exempts charitable (including hospitals), religious, educational 
(including youth groups), and senior citizen and veterans groups. 
(Linked to property tax exemption).  

Yes, but not on lump 
sum contracts  

Mississippi  
No general exemption, but hospitals and some specific 
categories exempt.  

Yes  

Missouri  
Exempts charitable, religious, civic, social, service, and fraternal 
(charitable functions).  

Yes  

Nebraska  

No general exemption; exempts certain entities, including 
religious organizations, those serving the blind, hospitals and 
related child care, child-placing agencies, and organizations 
serving persons with developmental disabilities.  

Yes  

Nevada  
Exempts religious, charitable, and educational entities (including 
hospitals) (not linked to IRC 501(c)(3)).  

No  

New Jersey  
Exempts religious, charitable, educational, scientific, literary, 
veterans, volunteer fire department, and PTA/PTO organizations 
(IRS 501(c)(3) not referenced).  

Yes  

New Mexico  
Exempts IRC 501(c)(3) organizations on tangible personal 
property only (not services or construction materials).  

No  

New York  
Exempts religious, charitable, educational, scientific, literary, and 
other select nonprofit organizations. (IRC 501(c)(3) not 
referenced but uses same list).  

Yes  

North Carolina  

Purchases not exempt, but sales tax paid on direct purchases by 
nonprofit hospitals, educational institutions, churches, 
orphanages, and other charitable or religious institutions and 
qualified retirement facilities are subject to semiannual refund.  

Yes (refund)  

North Dakota  
No general exemption; exempts hospitals and nonprofit health 
and meal delivery groups.  

No 

Ohio  
Exempts sales to churches and certain other nonprofit 
organizations (IRC 501(c)(3) status).  

Yes  

Oklahoma  
No general exemption; exempts churches, nonprofit schools, 
cultural organizations, and some others.  

Limited 

Pennsylvania  
Exempts charitable, religious, and educational organizations and 
volunteers (purchase of $200 or more).  

Limited  



Attachment 1 (continued) 

   

January 19, 2011 Page 9 of 12 2011-R-0003 

 

State Exempt Entities Pass Through 

Rhode Island  
Exempts nonprofit hospitals, educational institutions, churches, 
and others by listed type.  

Yes  

South Carolina  No exemption for purchases (except for resale).  N.A.  

South Dakota  
Exempts nonprofit hospitals, religious educational institutions, 
charitable relief agencies, and nonprofit private educational 
institutes.  

No  

Tennessee  
Exempts churches, orphanages, hospitals, and others, including 
some by name (e.g., Boys Club); No general exemption for items 
to be resold (references IRC 501(c)(3) and more).  

No 

Texas  
Exempts charitable, educational, and religious organizations; 
some others by type (references IRC 501(c)(3)).  

No  

Utah  
Exempts sales to religious or charitable institutions (must have 
IRC 501(c)(3) exemption); sales less than $1,000 by refund.  

Yes  

Vermont  Exempts organizations that qualify under IRC 501(c)(3).  Yes  

Virginia  
Exempts IRC 501(c)(3) and IRC 501(c)(4) organizations. 
Separate legislative actions no longer required.  

No  

Washington  No exemption for purchases.  N.A.  

West Virginia  

Exempts purchases by IRC 501(c)(3) organizations, subject to 
requirement that entity be a church, elementary or secondary 
school financed by contributors, or a youth organization (public 
support test).  

No  

Wisconsin  
Exempts purchases by religious, charitable, scientific, or 
educational organizations and those devoted to prevention of 
cruelty to children or animals.  

No  

Wyoming  
Exempts purchases by religious or charitable organizations and 
nonprofit organizations providing meals or service to senior 
citizens.  

No  

Source: Mikesell, John L. “State Retail Sales Tax Treatment of Nonprofits.” State Tax Notes, June 1, 2009. 
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Attachment 2: State Sales Tax Exemption of Sales by Nonprofit 

Organizations 
 

State Status 

Alabama  Not exempt.  

Arizona  Broadly exempt.  

Arkansas  Exempts sales by churches and charitable organizations.  

California  
Generally taxed, limited exemption for particular sales (for example, pets by 
animal welfare organizations). Special provisions when fundraising firm used.  

Colorado  
Exemption for fundraising activities (12 days or less, net proceeds not 
exceeding $25,000).  

Connecticut  
Exemption for up to five one-day fundraising events per year. (purchases for 
resale are exempt).  

Florida  
Exempts sales of donated property by organizations benefiting minors and 
sales by religious institutions.  

Georgia  
Exempts religious institution fundraiser sales (no more than 30 days), sales by 
organizations raising funds for public libraries, and food and beverage sales by 
Girl and Boy Scouts.  

Hawaii  Not exempt.  

Idaho  
Not exempt (exempt purchases for resale are reimbursed from the amount 
collected when sold). Exempts fees charged at shooting ranges or shooting 
competitions.  

Illinois  
Not exempt, except for sales exclusively to members, students, patients, and 
inmates, occasional public dinners no more than twice per year, and sales not 
in direct competition with business.  

Indiana  

Exempts fundraising sales for not more than 20 days per year. Sale of 
periodicals, books, or other property for educational, cultural, or religious 
purposes or for improvement of member job skills or professional qualifications 
is exempt.  

Iowa  
Exempts sales by educational, religious, or charitable organizations if profits 
are used for exempt purpose.  

Kansas  Not exempt.  

Kentucky  
Exempts first $1,000 of sales by nonprofit organizations not in the business of 
selling.  

Louisiana  
Exempt at events when proceeds used for organization's purposes (by 
application for the event).  

Maine  
Fundraiser sales exempt as casual sales (taxable when items purchased by 
organization). Other sales are not exempt.  

Maryland  
Exempts sales by religious organizations, certain food sales, and hospital thrift 
shop sales.  

Massachusetts  
Exempts casual and isolated sales for fundraising (not in regular course of 
business). Museum gift shop sales are taxable.  

Michigan  Exempts sales if less than $5,000 in calendar year. All sales taxed if sales 
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State Status 

exceed $5,000. (items purchased for resale are exempt) 

Minnesota  Fundraising sales exempt (not more than 24 days per year).  

Mississippi  
Exempts Girl Scout cookies and sales by nonprofit and schools. Isolated, 
casual, and occasional sales also exempt.  

Missouri  Exempt.  

Nebraska  
Not exempt, except for the sale of meals by and one annual sale at religious 
organizations  

Nevada  Exempt.  

New Jersey  Exempts occasional fundraising sales and qualifying thrift store sales.  

New Mexico  Exempt.  

New York  Exempt (certain exceptions).  

North Carolina  
Not exempt, except for one fundraiser per year and food sales by religious 
institutions. Resale exemption for purchase of taxable items.  

North Dakota  
No exemption for ongoing sales in competition with private businesses or for 
limited events in publicly owned facilities; exempts other sales. Exempts annual 
church supper or bazaar in public facility.  

Ohio  Exempts sales for up to six days in calendar year.  

Oklahoma  
Not general exemption, but exempts sales by churches and a list of other 
organizations.  

Pennsylvania  No exemption, except isolated sales and food and beverages sold by church. 

Rhode Island  Exempts organizations supporting youth activities or items sold for up to $20. 

South Carolina  
Exemption for sale by churches, charitable, educational, and literacy 
organizations, and some named entities (e.g., Girl Scouts).  

South Dakota  No general exemption; certain admissions exempt.  

Tennessee  

Exemption up to two sales per calendar year for periods of 30 days or less. 
Organizations over that limit but selling no more than $400 per month may pay 
tax on items purchased for sale in lieu of collecting tax on sales. Larger 
organizations must collect tax and may purchase without paying tax. Sales of 
used clothing are exempt. 

Texas  

No general exemption. Limited exemption for certain meat and food sales, 
banquets, auctions, and rummage sales (two, one day per year, items not sold 
for more than $5,000), senior citizen groups (self-made items, no more than 
four 20-day sales per year), and periodicals published by certain organizations.  

Utah  Exempts sales by religious or charitable institutions.  

Vermont  
Exempts sales by organization if its sales did not exceed $5,000 in the prior 
year.  

Virginia  
Exempts occasional sales (up to three occasions in calendar year, each started 
and finished within 30 days), but sales at fairs, flea markets, festivals, or 
carnivals are always taxable.  
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State Status 

Washington  Exempts fundraising activities (not regular business activities).  

West Virginia  
Exempts fundraising events for churches and nonprofit organizations (up to six 
events lasting no more than 84 hours in 12-month period). 

Wisconsin  
Exempts occasional sales by nonprofit organizations (20 days or less, total 
receipts of $25,000 or less).  

Wyoming  
Exempts occasional sales by religious or charitable organizations for 
fundraising and not in course of regular business (single event occurring four or 
fewer times in a year). 

Source: Mikesell, John L. “State Retail Sales Tax Treatment of Nonprofits.” State Tax Notes, June 1, 2009. 
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