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S.B. 1231 - An Act Concerning Notice of an Action Regarding a Defective Highway, Bridge,
Sidewalk, Road or Railing, S

The Department of Transportation (Department) is opposed to S.B. 1231 and believes the bill as
written would leave the State of Connecticut open to litigation for an indefinite period of time.

CGS 13a-144 and 13a-152 (as applied to the State) are limited exceptions to the State’s
sovereign immunity. Both sections require claimants to provide written notice to the Department
of an injury caused by a defective State highway, bridge or sidewalk, or caused by non-
compliance with section 13a-111. Pursuant to 13a-144 and 13a-152, notice must be provided to
the Department within 90 days of such injury. The proposed amendment increases the amount of
time within which to file notice and makes the trigger for such notice not the injury, but the
availability of a completed police investigation report, For several reasons, sections 13a-144 and
13a-152 should not be so amended. :

First, the purpose of the notice requirement is to allow the Department to promptly investigate
the alleged incident and if a defect exists, to quickly remedy the situation. This has the dbvious
benefit of preserving evidence (which benefits both the potential plaintiff and the Department)
and helping to prevent further injuries by allowing the Department to make necessary repairs or
take appropriate steps, as may be necessary. Providing for a longer notice period will lead to
evidentiary problems (e.g., even assuming a defect exists, a pavement defect, for example, can
significantly change over time. Further, assuming no defect exists, onc may arise during the
longer notice period confounding the issue), leaving the state valnerable in litigation and to
increased litigation as the Department will not be placed on timely notice and therefore, will not
be able to timely repair or investigate. In short, the ability of the Department to effectively
defend itself and protect the public will be adversely impacted by increasing the notice period.

Second, an injured party has sufficient time to determine whether to bring a claim to supérior
court. While the potential plaintiff has to give statutory notice under sections 13a-144 and 13a-
152 in order to overcome sovereign immunity, these statutes give potential plaintiffs two years
from the date of injury to actually bring a claim to superior court. Accordingly, if, for example,
someone is injured on a state road or bridge and it is believed that such injury was caused by a
defect in that highway or bridge, notice can be given during the 90-day notice period. If'between

the time notice is given and the running of the statute of limitations for bringing a civil action a




police report is issued that causes the claimant to decide he or she does not have a cause of action
against the Department, no suit need be brought. -- The point is that under the statutes as already
written, notice can be timely given and the claimant can then wait for the issuance of a police
report (1f such report is not issued during the 90-day period) to determine whether he or she, in
fact, should pursue a claim against the State. No more time is needed.

Third, the Connecticut Bar Association is well versed in the notice requirement and the
Department’s web site gives specific instruction conceming defective highway claims.

Fourth, on some minor defective highway matters, no police report is ever issued.

Finally, as the proposed amendment is drafted, the state would be open to litigation for an open-
ended period of time.

The Department is unclear on the impetus behind the bill, but if it relates to the issuance of
police reports outside of the 90-day notice period, alternatives might exist that could be
developed in conjunction with the State Police to provide workable solutions.

For further information or questions, please contact Pam Sucato, Legislative Program Manager
for the Department of Transportation at (860) 594-3013.




