STATE OF CONNECTICUT

)\ fﬁ; f(

\;;i%

,mr,x‘
4,

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

James M. Thomas Listitenant Edwin S. Henion
Commissioner Chief of Sfaff

February 15, 2011
Rep. Stephen Dargan, Co-Chairman
Sen. Joan Hartley, Co-Chairman
Public Safety and Security Committee
Legislative Office Building
Hartford, CT 06106

HB 6327 AN ACT INCREASING THE STATUTORY SURCHARGE CAP FOR THE ENHANCED
EMERGENCY 9-1-1 PROGRAM

The Department of Public Safety supports this bill.

The Department of Public Safety, Office of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications {(OSET)
is seeking an increase to the current surcharge cap of 50 cents. The amount of the surcharge
is set on an annual basis by the Department of Public Utility Control and is currently at the
statutory cap of 50 cents. If the statutory cap is not increased, OSET will not be able to meet
its statutory obligations in the next budget cycle.

In 1996 the Enhanced 9-1-1 Task Force made recommendations in a report to the Public
Safety and Public Health Committees which included funding models for 9-1-1. The legislature
set the surcharge cap at .50 cents. This model has served the state well and we have
accomplished much in that time. However, decreases to revenue and increases to operational
costs require that the cap be raised. Compared to other states, Connecticut is in the lower
range with the current cap of 50 cents; and even with the increase to 75 cents, it is still
significantly less than many other states’ current surcharge cap. (Information as to fees
charged in other states is attached to this testimony)

This same task force also made recommendations to reduce the number of standalone public
safety answering points (PSAPs) by providing funding for municipalities that join together to
form regional communication centers. The surcharge provides this funding, financial
incentives, as well as transition grants for the purpose of reimbursing municipalities” expenses
related to relocating existing telecommunications systems to a regional emergency
telecommunication center. Numerous public officials are recognizing the financial and
operational benefits that can be realized by merging their communications operations and
are initiating efforts to combine resources. If any of these initiatives become a reality the
impact on our fund will be considerable. While OSET strongly encourages regionalization and
applauds these efforts, it is absolutely critical that we have the funding to support them.



Technology and standards for emergency telecommunications are changing, both locally and
nationally. Connecticut has maintained a robust system which has put us in the forefront of
E9-1-1 for many years. Technological advances, including the shift from an Integrated Services
Digital Network (ISDN) network to Next Generation 9-1-1 (NG911) over the Public Safety Data
Network (PSDN), come at great expense. However, failure to keep up with these industry
changes would be even more costly. We cannot afford to maintain the current system that is
obsolete, nor can we afford a decline in 9-1-1 service reliability at a time when public
expectation is great. In addition to operating costs for OSET the following is a list of some of
the programs related to 9-1-1 that the surcharge pays for:

» Equipment including funding of NG 9-1-1 and the PSDN

e Regional emergency communications centers (7)

e Funding for cities with population greater than 40,000 (22)
e Multi-town PSAPs (9)

e Transition Grants

e CMED subsidy

e EMS data for the Dept. of Public Health

e Capital Expense Grants

e Training and Public Education

Economic challenges and changes in telephone use including the shift to wireless telephones
have caused many consumers to abandon their landline phones and limit the number of
wireless phones to save money. The direct result of this shift is a significant decrease in 9-1-1
surcharge revenue. These trends continue and are a cause of great concern in the 9-1-1
community with regard to future funding for E9-1-1.

Options for funding reductions or elimination are extremely limited due to regulatory and
statutory mandates. Only transition grants and capital fund expenditures are limited to the
availability of funds. Cuts-to these programs will place a financial burden on entities that rely
on this funding and have planned projects and purchases on the basis that they will be
entitled to funding from OSET.

Any other reductions or eliminations would affect initiatives and projects that are currently
underway to enhance emergency telecommunications and public safety. Notable projects
include the statewide emergency notification system (CT Alert); the Next Generation 9-1-1
system {NG911}; and the statewide Public Safety Data Network (PSDN). These projects are in
progress, have been heavily promoted both with PSAPs and residents of Connecticut, and all
are necessary for public safety. Failure to complete these initiatives would result in problems
for the public safety community who are planning for and fully expect to have this technology
in place and result in problems in the delivery of 9-1-1 calls to the PSAPs.

The combination of declines in revenue increases in operational costs and new initiatives

require the need to raise the current surcharge cap from .50 cents to .75 cents.

Sincere:oc%/

ames M. Thomas
COMMISSIONER



Range of 9-1-1 User Fees
Exact amounts may be adjusted locally
{August, 2010)

: irele
Alabama 5% of Base Rate $0.70 5% of Base Rate
$2.00 (Max) — Districts under 25,000 $2.00 (Max}~
Districts under
25,000
Alaska $0.50-52.00 $0.50 - $2.00
Arizona $0.20 $0.20 $0.20
Arkansas 5% - 12% of Tariff Rates $0.65 $0.65
California .50% of intrastate calls .50% of intrastate calls .50% of intrastate
calls
Colorado $0.43 - $1.50 {max) $0.43 - $1.50 (max) $0.43 - $1.50
(max)
Connecticut $0.47 $0.47 $0.47
Delaware 50.60 $0.60 $0.60
District of Columbia | $0.76 Wireline 50.76 $0.76
50.62 Centrex
$4,96 PBX Trunk
Florida $0.41 - 50.50 $0.50 $0.50
Georgia $1.50 $1.00 - $1.50 $1.50
Hawaii $0.27 $0.66
jdaho $1.00 {max) $1.00 (max} $1.00 (max)
tHinois $0.25 - $5.00 $0.73
$2.50 City of Chicago
: $0.73 Prepaid
Indiana 3% or 10% of Monthly Access $0.50 3% or 10% of
50.25 Prepaid Monthly Access
lowa 40,45 - $1.50 50.65
Kansas $0.75 {max)} $0.50 $0.50
[entucky $0.36 - 54.50 4 $0.70
Louisiana $0.62 - $1.00 Residential 50.85
$1.30 - $2.00 Business 2% of Retail Sales -
Prepaid
Maine $0.45 $0.45 $0.45
$0.45 Prepaid
Maryland $0.75 County Fee $0.75 County Fee 50.75 County Fee
50.25 State Fee $0.25 State Fee $0.25 State Fee
Massachusetts $0.75 $0.75 $0.75
$0.75 Prepaid
Michigan $0.19 State Fee $0.19 State Fee $0.19 State Fee
$0.21 - $3.64 by County $0.21 - $3.64 by County $0.21 - $3.64 by
$0.90 Prepaid County
Minnesota $0.75 $0.75 $0.75
Mississippi $1.00 Res $2.00 Commercial {25 Lines) | $1.00




Missouri 15% of Base Rate (33 Counties) None
5% of Sales Tax {23 Counties)
Varies Funding Methods ~ Remaining
Counties
Montana $1.00 $1.00 | $1.00
Nebraska 50.50 - $1.00 $0.50 - $0.70
Nevada Varies by Jurisdiction — Property tax Must be equal to wireline
and/or Surcharge (max $0.25) Surcharge
New Hampshire $0.57 $0.57
New Jersey $0.90 $0.90 $0.90
New Mexico $0.51 50.51
New York 50.35 51.20 - $1.50
North Carolina $0.60 $0.60 $0.60
North Dakota $1.00 - 51.50 {max) $1.00 - $1.50 (max) $1.00 - 1.50
{max)
Ohio $0.50 {(Max) $0.28
(Legally limited to a few Counties, no
general surcharge,
Okiahoma 3-15% of Base Rate $0.50 (Approx. 42 $0.50
Counties)

Oregon $0.75 $0.75 50.75
Pennsylvania $1.00 - 51.50 $1.00 $1.00
Rhode Island $1.00 $1.26 $1.26

Sauth Carolina Based on access lines 50.61
South Dakota $0.75 $0.75 $0.75
Tannessee $0.65 - $1.50 Res./ $2.00-583 Bus $1.00 $1.00
Texas $0.50 State Program 50.50 $0.50
Fees Vary - District
Utah $0.61 Local Fee plus $0.61 Local Fee plus $0.61 Local Fee
$0.08 State Fee $0.08 State Fee plus
$0.08 State Fee
Vermont Universal Service Funding Universal Service Funding
Virginia $0.75 $0.75 $0.75
Washington 50,20 Statewide $0.20 Statewide
$0.50 by Counties $0.50 by Counties
West Virginia $0.98 - $5.34 by County $3.00 $0.98 - $5.34 by
6% of Sales - Prepaid County
Wisconsin 50.36 - $1.00 None
Wyoming $0.75 50.75




