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S.B. 986 AAC Additional Requirements for an Emplover's Notice to
Dispute Certain Care Deemed Reasonable For an Employe_e'Under the
Workers’ Compensation Act

I am Kia Murrell, Assistant Counsel at the Connecticut Business and Industry
Association (CBIA) which represents the interests of more than 10,000
companies across the state, the vast majority of which are businesses of 50 or
fewer employees.

CBIA does not support legislation that increases workers compensation costs
for Connecticut employers or makes it more difficult for them to manage
workers compensation claims. We believe that S.B. 986 is an unnecessary and
potentially costly burden on employers when handling and defending their i
actions in workers compensation claims. For this reason, we stronglv oppose f
this legislation.

S.B. 986 increases the requirements needed in an employer's notice of
intention to discontinue, reduce or deny a course of treatment in workers’
comp cases. It also requires certain hearings prior to such actions and places
the burden of proof at these hearings.

We oppose this legislation for the following reasons:

* The time constraints placed on employers and insurers are
unreasonable. Sec. 31- 294c. (b} of the Workers Compensation Act
allows for 28 days to contest a claim. This proposal is in direct conflict
with that provision of the law.

Sec. 31-294c¢.(b) Provides that “Whenever liability to pay compensation is
contested by the employer, he shall file with the commissioner, on or before the
twenty-eighth day after he has received a written notice of claim, a notice in
accord with a form prescribed by the chairman of the Workers’ Compensation
Comimission stating that the right to compensation is contested, the name of
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the claimant, the name of the employer, the date of the alleged injury or death
and the specific grounds on which the right to compensation is contested. The
employer shall send a copy of the notice to the employee in accordance with
section 31-321.

Based on the above, a requirement that employers have an independent
medical examination {IME) performed within two weeks is impractical and in L
many cases impossible to satisfy. ‘

 ‘The term medical care is too broad in that it encompasses
prescriptions, office visits, diagnostic testing, surgery, physical N
therapy, chiropractic care etc.

o This legislation will negatively impact injured workers by imposing
strict timelines on them without regard to their familiarity with the
law and workers compensation procedures.

This Bill is not in the best interest of the injured workers. Currently, an injured
worker can request a hearing at any time. The commissioners are sensitive to
their needs and respond accordingly. This bill will require a pro se claimant to
understand the law enough to contest a denial within 15 days. For many
individuals, that may not be a realistic expectation.

Any legislation seeking to clarify the law regarding benefit denial or
discontinuation of medical care should be consistent with Sec. 31-294(b)
allowing at least 28 days to determine benefits and there should be distinctions
between invasive procedures versus olfice visits, urgent care versus

elective procedures, denials versus discontinuance, etc.

Insofar as the Workers Compensation Act speaks comprehensively to all of
these matters, there is simply no need for this legislation. and S.B. 986 is an
unnecessary administrative and financial burden on employers at a timme when
many are struggling to survive and compete.

For the aforementioned reasons, we urge the committee to Reject S.B. 986.



