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Testimony in Support of Ignition Interlocks for All Convicted Drunk Drivers
Co-Chair Coleman, Co-Chair Fox and members of the committee, thank you for the opportunity
to testify in support of ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers. My name is Johanna
Krebs, Victim Services Specialist for the Connecticut Affiliate of Mothers Against Drunk

Driving.

In November 2006, MADD launched its Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving throughout the
United States, which includes support for all-offender ignition interlock laws. Prior to the
Campaign launching in 2006, only one state, New Mexico, had a law requiring ignition
interlocks for all first time convicted drunk drivers. Now, thirleen states and a pilot program in
California have laws requiring or highly incentivizing interlock usage by all first time convicted

DUI offenders.!

MADI)’s support of ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers is simple—it is about
saving lives. Countless studies show that ignition interlock devices for all convicted DUI

offenders is the most highly effective tool available to stop drunk driving,

Ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers will save lives. In New Mexico, drunk driving
re-arrests are down sfatewide by 37 percent, alcohol involved crashes down by 31 percent,
alcohol related injuries down by 39 percent and alcohol related fatalities down by nearly 30
percent. In Arizona, drunk driving fatalities have dropped by 46 percent since their interlock

law,

Drunk driving is a violent crime. But it is ultimately a 100 percent preventable crime. While

nationally drunk driving deaths have decreased, Connecticut has witness an increase in drunk
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driving fatalities from 2008 to 2009. Drunk driving fatalities accounted for 44 percent of all total
traffic deaths in our State. As a result, MADD ranks Connecticut 50" when it comes to progress

in stopping drunk driving. This is unacceptable.

By advancing legislation that requires ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers, the
Committee can send a clear message to drunk drivers: if they violate the public’s trust by

driving drunk, they will receive an ignition interlock-—or in-car breathalyzer—on their vehicle.

Ignition interlocks should not be an option for convicted drunk drivers, they should be a
requirement. Requiring this technology is also an economically sound public safety measure. In
2009, the economic cost of drunk driving fatalities to the people and state of Connecticut was
$683 million, Every life saved by the device translates to millions of taxpayer dollars no longer
spent subsidizing drunk drivers. A study of New Mexico’s interlock program found the cost of
an interlock was $2.25 a day for the offender, but for every dollar invested on first offender

interlock laws the public saves three dollars.”

Some may argue that requiring ignition interlocks for first time offenders is too harsh. This is
not the case. We know that the average first time offender has driven drunk before—one
particular study showed drunk drivers getting on the road an average of 87 times before the first
arrest. We know it is not enough to simply revoke the license of a convicted drunk driver.
Studies show that 50 to 75 percent of convicted drunk drivers continue to drive even while their

license is suspended. This is the reason that interlocks are so critical to protecting the public.

You will also hear talk about punishing those who are one sip over the legal limit. The illegal
limit in Connecticut is a .08 blood alcohol concentration. The National Institute on Alcohol
Abuse and Alcoholism notes that to get to a .08 BAC, men must typicalty consume 5 or more
drinks, and women must typically consume 4 or more drinks, in about 2 hours. A standard drink
is defined as 12 ounces of beer, 5 ounces of wine, or 1.5 ounces of 72-proof distilled spirits, alt
of which contain the same amount of alcohol — about .54 ounces.” The fact is that interlocks
don’t prohibit someone from going to the bar or restaurant, they prevent convicted drunk drivers

from driving drunk and endangering the public,
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Interlocks work for both socicty and for the offender—they allow convicted offenders a mobility

they would not have with a license suspension or jail time, while also keeping the public safe.

Mothers Against Drunk Driving believes this Committee should also advance legislation
toughening the state’s approach to those who drive drunk with a child passenger under the age of
16 in a vehicle. Connecticut is one of thirteen states with lacking a DUI child endangerment law.
Every child deservers a sober designated driver. Driving drunk with a child passenger in a
vehicle is a form of child abuse. It is time for the punishment to fit the crime. MADD believes
in these cases, a convicted offender should have double the time on an ignition interlock and

prosecutors should be able to the charge the offender with a felony.

In conclusion, Mothers Against Drunk Driving urges this Committee to advance legislation that
requires interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers. The support of this concept is simple—-it is
about saving lives. This technology for convicted drunk drivers will change the status quo in

. . . . .
Connecticut and help to stop drunk driving. For this reason, MADD urges this committee to

support expanding Connecticut’s current interlock program for all convicted drunk drivers.

Thank you,
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The following is information for four state-approved ignition interlock companies
charge their customers. The foilowing information is based on telephone calls to sales
representatives of the four companies. The figures are similar to those provided us by
DMV,

The four companies are SOL America; Consumer Safety Tech, Inc.; Draeger Safety
Diagnostics; and Smart Start, Inc.

For comparison purposes, we include the costs of installation, a 24-month lease, and
removal for each company. Three companies include recalibration in their leases; one
company (CST) does not. We list CST’s recalibration fees separately. We provide the
estimated total cost of the 24-month lease and the estimated daily cost (total cost divided
by 730 days).

The totals do not include the costs of obtaining “lockout codes,” which enable a
customer to restore the device after it has prevented him from operating the vehicle.
Those costs would depend on a particular individual’s compliance with the program.
We list these costs separately.

Finally, although these figures are based on the information we received, we emphasize
that they are only estimates. We can check with the companies to provide you with
more precise figures if you wish.

1. SOL America

Monthly lease: $70
Installation: $100
Initial Set-up: $40
Removal $65

Lockout Code: $45
Recalibration: included.

24 month total: (70 x 24 + 100 + 40 + 65) = $1,885.
Daily cost (1,885/730) = $2.58




2. Consumer Safety Tech

Monthly lease: $65

Installation: Depends on area of the country. In South Windsor, installation starts at
$90.

Initial set up: $65 (refundable deposit).

Removal; $40

Lockout fee: $75 plus shipping

Recalibration fee: $15 in South Windsor. (In some areas of country as much as $45).

24 month total ($65 x 24 + 90+ 40 + (15 x 11)) = $1,855
Daily Cost (1,855/730) = $2.54

3. Draeger Safety Diagnostics
Fees determined by local installers. We checked with one in Manchester,

Monthly lease: $100

Installation $125

Removal: $45

Lockout Fee: $30

Recalibration: included. |

24-month total: (100 x 24 + 125 + 45) = $2,570
Daily Cost (2,570/730) = $3.52

4. Smart Start

Monthly lease: $74.95

Installation: free (They’re running a special. Otherwise, it’s $50 to $60).
Removal: $75

Lockout fee: $75

Recalibration: included

24 month total (24.95 x 24 + 50 + 75) = $ 1,923.80
Daily Cost: (1,923.8/730) = $2.64
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