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HB 6055, An Act Extending Coverage For Dealer Conveyance Fees

For The Purchase Of Replacement Vehicles From The Proceeds

Of Motor Vehicle Insurance Claims =~ ... __

The Insurance Association of Connecticut, IAC, is opposed ta HB 6055 whichjseeks
to mandate that insurers pay a sum to cover conveyance fee charges for all motdr vehicle
insurance claims. o

No other state has such a mandate and for good reason. Auto insurance is not a
replacement type policy. Coverage provided under an auto policy for damage to an auto
is calculated on the actual cash value of thé vehicle. Presumably the provisions of
HB 6055 would only apply for a claim in which the vehicle has been deemed a total loss.
The settlement value for such vehicle is based upon the fair market value for the
vehicle--not the replacement value. There is no requirement that an individual replace
their vehicle to be paid for the loss.

We are unaware of any valuing source used to calculate the market value of an auto
that includes a value for “conveyance fees”. Conveyance fees are quite simply the fees
that a dealer may charge to recover processing all documentation and performing
services related to the closing of the sale. (See 14~ 62) The fee is not a set amount and
can range anywhere from $0 to $1,000, The fee is more typically associated with the
purchase of a vehicle only from a dealer. Not every dealer charges such a fee. Some
dealers simply include it in the price of the car. Private sales between individuals do not
include such a fee. By mandating such a varying fee to be included in the settlement will
result in individuals with virtually the same vehicle receiving very different settlement
values for the vehicles. It will also encourage more dealers and sellers of cars to inflate
their charge, improperly driving up settlement payments. Increased loss costs will
unnecessarily drive up premiums for all Connecticut drivers. ‘

Such a mandate also ignores the very process in which a settlement is reached. The

value for the loss is calculated based upon the value of the vehicle damaged, not the




value of a replacement vehicle. Such a process enables quicker settlements. To mandate
that such a fee be included in the settlement value would delay settlement, as a
settlement value could not be calculated until a vehicle is actually replaced and the
charge for the conveyance fee is established.

The IAC urges your rejection of HB 6055.




