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 My name is Joelen Gates and I am an attorney for Connecticut Legal Services, Inc. in 

Willimantic, Connecticut where I represent and advise elderly clients 60 years of age and older. 

As part of my work, I represent nursing home residents who face involuntary transfers and 

discharges in hearings before the Department of Social Services (DSS). 

 

 In March 2010, Brenda Parrella, Legal Counsel for DSS, convened a working group 

comprised of six people to review and revise the state nursing home transfer and discharge 

statute and the bedhold statute.  The working group consisted of two representatives from state 

agencies (DSS and the Department of Public Health (DPH)), two attorneys who represent 

nursing facilities and two advocates for nursing facility residents --the Long Term Care 

Ombudsman and myself.    Over the next eight months, we met to discuss problems and 

questions we have had over the years in interpreting the current statute and worked to draft a 

statute that addressed those issues.  The bill before you, H. B. 6552, is the fruit of those efforts to 

reach consensus on most of the issues we discussed. 

 

 Legal Services urges you to support H. B. 6552 because the proposed legislation is more 

comprehensive and provides much needed clarity over the current law.  However, Legal Services 

believes the proposed bill does not adequately protect nursing home residents with respect to the 

timeframe for appeal and the resident’s right to be readmitted from a hospital to the next 

available bed in the nursing home.  We ask you to consider making two important substantive 

changes to address these concerns.   

 

Timeframe for Resident’s Right  to Appeal 
 

First, H. B. 6552 provides that a resident who disagrees with a proposed transfer or 

discharge from the nursing home must file an appeal within ten days of receiving the notice of 

the nursing home’s intent to discharge  in order to stay the discharge until DSS renders a 

decision.  The proposed legislation allows for the possibility that the resident may be granted an 

extension of time for good cause shown.  However, we do not believe ten days is sufficient time 

for a vulnerable nursing home resident  to initiate an appeal and protect his or her  right to stay in 

the nursing home during the appeal.    

.   

Federal law requires states to provide a “reasonable time, not to exceed 90 days from the 

date that notice of action is mailed, to request a hearing” for both nursing home discharges  and 

Medicaid terminations. 42 C.F.R. §431.221. Connecticut provides a 60-day deadline for 

Medicaid appeals and H.B. 6552 clarifies that nursing home residents may appeal a transfer or 

discharge up to 60 days after receiving a notice of proposed discharge.  The majority of states 



allow the resident to stay in the nursing home while the appeal is pending as long as the resident 

files an appeal  before the proposed date for transfer or discharge.   Connecticut is in the minority 

of states that allow a nursing home to discharge the resident before an appeal is heard, if the 

resident files the appeal more than ten days after receiving the notice.  Legal Services would like 

Connecticut to grant nursing home residents the right to stay in the nursing home as long as they 

file an appeal before the proposed transfer or discharge date.  

 

Resident’s Right to Return to First Bed Available in the Nursing Home After a 
Hospital Stay 

 

Second, H.B. 6552 weakens current state law governing the nursing home resident’s right 

to return to the facility after a hospital stay.  Current law requires a nursing home to reserve a 

resident’s bed for up to 15 days, when the resident is hospitalized,  if the resident is a Medicaid 

recipient.  After that time, if  the resident  is  ready to return to the nursing home, the facility is 

obligated to give the resident the “first bed  available.” Conn. Gen. Stat. 19a-537(e)(1).  Under 

current law the “first bed available” could be in a private room, but the proposed legislation 

changes that to “the first bed available in a semi-private room or private room, if a private room 

is medically necessary.”  In other words, if a facility has private room available, but no semi-

private rooms, the facility would not have to readmit the resident to the private room, unless the 

private room was a medical necessity. 

 

This change is significant because if the nursing home which sent the resident to the 

hospital does not have a semi-private room available, the resident may have to stay in the 

hospital longer at greater expense to the state while the hospital searches for a different nursing 

home to which the resident can be discharged.  The resident is placed at greater risk of 

contracting an infection such as MRSA while remaining in the hospital longer than necessary, 

and the resident and resident’s family face the added stress of moving to a different nursing 

home for the sole purpose of waiting for a room to become available in the home facility.  The 

resident will be subjected to two transfers instead of one.  If the resident were readmitted to a 

private room in the home facility, the facility could move the resident to a semi-private room 

when one became available.  It would be less stressful for the resident to move from a private 

room to a semi-private room within the home facility, rather than moving from the hospital to an 

unfamiliar facility and the back to the home facility. 

     

Drafting Errors 
 
There are a few drafting errors in H. B. 6552 which should be corrected. 

   

Line 54  [patient] should be changed to resident. 

 

Line 65 – add back in “the date by which an appeal must be initiated  

 (There are two appeal deadlines: one is 60 days and the other is 10 days to stay the 

discharge.) 

 

 Line 90 to the [facility] Commissioner of Social Services 

 



 

 

   

          

 

   

 

 


