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Figure VIlI-1: Massachusetts Alcohol Excise Tax Collections
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Striped bars - Sunday alcohol sales allowed

Source: MA Department of Revenue Services Annual Reports

2002-20(}3’ 2003-2004 / 2\{04-2005 2093\-2006 2006-2007
Percent Increase 1.4% 2.4% / 1 }l% 0.30/71 3.1%

PRI also analyzed excise tax collections for the same time period in Connecticut with the
data presented in Figure VIII-2 below. Over the period, overall excise taxes from alcohol sales
rose 13 percent, greater than the increase in Massachusetis (9 percent), even though the ban on

Wﬂd@&sthmﬁm during this time period, and remained in place in
onnecticut.
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Compared with the border states, Connecticut has the second-highest total tax on gasoline
as shown in Table VIII-5.

$0.08 |

New York $0.32 $0.184 $0.584
Connecticut $0.25 $0.13 $0.184 $0.564
Rhode Island $0.27 $0.04 $0.184 $0.494
Massachusetis $50.21 $0.025 $0.184 $0.419

Source: ICPA

Committee staff had hoped to look at gas sales data by town, but due to data limitations
this type of analysis was not feasible. |

Alcohol excise and sales taxes. States also impose excise taxes on alcoholic beverages
based on alcohol volume. In Connecticut, a tax is imposed also on all distributors of alcoholic
beverages based on the quantity of alcohol sold to off-premise establishments.

Table VIII-6 shows how Connecticut’s alcohol excise tax rate compare to the border state
rates of Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and New York.

"-Table VIII-& “Alcohol Excise Tax, Rates as of July 1,2009 e

Spirits (per gallon) | Wine (per gallon) Beer (per ggilon)'
Connectlcut $4.50 $0.60 $0.20
Massachusetts $4.05 $0.55 $0.11
Rhode Island $3.75 $0.60 $0.11
New York $6.44 $0.30 $0.14
Source: Tax Foundation

In addition to the excise tax, all the states that border Connecticut now charge sales tax
on alcoholic beverages; however, this is a recent development. Massachusetts did not impose
sales tax on alcohol until August 1, 2009, so the impact could not be assessed.

Tax Policy on Alcoholic Beverages

In addition to the excise and sales tax on alcohol, there are other tax policies that also
may affect sales. Unlike cigarettes and other items subject to sales tax, some states impose
restrictions on when and where alcohol can be sold.

When. Connecticut, for example, is the only remaining New England state that does not
allow off-premise alcohol to be sold on Sundays. States also impose restrictions on the hours

when alcohol can be sold. Following are the permitted alcohol sale hours of Connecticut and its
border states:

e Connecticut — Sales Monday to Saturday 8 am-9 pm
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“Prohibit.-

Alabama Colorado
Arkansas Delaware Arizona
Connecticut Idaho California
Georgia Kansas Florida
Indiana Kentucky Hawaii
Minnesota Massachusetts 1llinois
Mississippi New York Towa
Montana Ohio Louisiana
North Carolina Oregon Maine
Oklahoma Pennsylvania Maryland
South Carolina Rhode Island Michigan
Tennessee Virginia Missouri
Texas Washington Nebraska
Utah ‘Nevada
West Virginia New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
North Dakota
South Dakota
Vermont
Wisconsin
Wyoming

Source : March 2009 issue of State Legislature

This analysis, as per the scope of study, of the permission and/or prohibition of Sunday
sales of alcohol focuses on the impact of tax policy and tax revenue for the state, not the social
policy implications of allowing Sunday sales.

In an effort to determine the effect on Connecticut tax revenue by allowing Sunday sales,
PRI reviewed the excise tax revenues collected in Massachusetts, both prior to allowing Sunday

sales and after the ban was lifted. Prior to August 1, 2009 Massachusetts did not have a sales tax
on alcohol, only an excise tax.

Figure VIII-1 shows the annual excise tax collections on alcohol in Massachusetts from yd

2002 to 2006. As the chart depicts, revenue collections have been increasing since 2002. One
might expect a larger than normal increase in revenue in 2004 when Sunday sales began and then
a leveling off as consumers adjusted to the change. However, as depicted in the figure, allowing
Sunday sales had little impact on excise tax collections. Prior-to-allowing-Sunday-sales;-excise
taxecoliectionsswererinereasing-and-continue rease-at-a-steady.rate-after-the-law Chatged
with-adargednicieaseroceutting between 20 “tworyears:after-the-Sunday-salesban was
lifted. Although 2004 revenues did increase 2.4 percent from 2003, the largest percentage
increase in tax collections occurred between 2006 and 2007 (3.1 percent); during this time period
no tax policy (sales nor excise taxes) on alcohol changed in that state.
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FISCAL INFORMATION

EXCISE TAX COLLECTION: Source Department of revenue Services

MA. 2003-2004 24%
CT. 2003-2004 3.6%

MA. 2002-2009 8.8%
CT. 2002-2009 12.9%

PERCENTAGE OF SALES: OFF PREMISE _/ON PREMISE

'MA. 58% 2%
CT. 65% | 35%

STORES IN MASSACHUSETTS AND CONNECTICUT

MA. 1,100 Stores 7 Million Population 6,400 persons per store.
CT. 1100 Package Stores, 900 Food Store Permits
2,000 Stores, 3.4 Million Population
1,100 Package Stores divided by 3.4 = 3,235 pp store
900 Beer Permits
2,000 Total Retail divided by 3.4 = 1,700 pp store

ESTIMATED INCREASE IN SALES IF SUNDAY OPENING APPROVED

If There Was An Expected Gain Of $141,333 How Much IN Sales Would Have to

Occur $1.5 Million
BEER ' Wine Spirits
Excise Tax .20 Gal 40 Gal 4.50 Gal
Sales Tax 6% 6% 6%
Item Sold Case of Beer 750 ML Bofttle 750 ML Bottle .
Revenue Per $1.65 per Case $.70 Per Bottle $1.72 Per Bottle
- (Excise Tax .45-1.2 Sales Tax) ‘
Number Sold 25,000 Case 50,000 Bottle 50,000 Bottle

To cover the approximate cost of 52 Sunday openings each store would have to do
$1,000 in business per Sunday X 1,100 stores is 1.1 Million per Sunday X 52 = 57.2
Million in business to pay opening costs with a 25% mark up in business.



