MARINE CENTER

37 INDIAN HILL AVENUE www.petzolds.com
P.O.BOX 27 w.|.petzold @snet.net
PORTLAND, CT 06480

PHONE 860-342-1196

FAX 860-342-0462

Chairman Daily and Widlitz

Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee

Room 3700, Legislative Office Building :
Hartford, CT 06106 March 3, 2011

Dear Chairpersons,

My name is Robert Petzold. 1 operate a family run boat sales and service facility that my
Grandparents started 66 years ago in Portland, Connecticut. This business employs over
20 good men and women. I would like to give you a firsthand perspective indicating that
all is not well in the marine industry in Connecticut. Our business, at one time, was one
of the largest boat dealerships in the United States generating millions of dollars worth of
revenue for the state. Times have changed and sales have declined forcing me to lay off
fine people.

The Governor’s proposed budget unfairly targets the boaters of our state. The increased
sales tax, planned luxury tax, taxes on labor and storage in conjunction with no credits for
trades and a property tax would be devastating to our industry and the boaters of our
state. Presently we have a hard enough time competing with surrounding states, such as
Rhode Island, which impose no taxes on boaters. Connecticut’s proposed budget would
cause boaters to flock to Rhode Island or to give up their hobby altogether. An economic
bust for Connecticut would be an economic boom for our neighboring states.

Please notice I use the word “boat”. The media along with law makers like to use the
word “yacht” when proposing new taxes. This impractical characterization of the boater
looking like Rodney Dangetfield in the movie Caddy Shack; a cigar smoking elite
individual with no cares in the world is misleading and unrealistic. The marine industry
in Connecticut survives on boaters, not yachters. These individuals are hard working
men and women who have made a life style choice to spend time on the water with
family and friends. Whether this is accomplished on a 16’ aluminum fishing boat or a
40’ cabin cruiser, is immaterial. These people make sacrifices every day so that they can
afford time with their loved ones, doing something they are passionate about, as was the
case in my family. These individuals have made an educated choice to be on the water,
not snow skiing in Vermont, going on a cruise, renting a cottage on Cape Cod or taking a
trip to Disney, none of which create any revenue for the state of Connecticut.

Our Family’s Business is Your Family’s Pleasure!



1 would respectfully request that the legislators do some homework. Take a look at the
proposed taxes; please realize that most of them have been in place at one time but also
that they were all rescinded as they were found to be counter productive to the State’s
economy. :

I would ask that you allow the marine industry in Connecticut to assist you in resolving
the deficit problems without imposing new taxes. Permit us to be competitive and
continue to sell and service boats as we have in the past while creating revenue and
maintaining jobs. '

The future of my family’s 66 year old business, the jobs of my employee's and the family
values’ boating promotes are all in jeopardy.

Sincerely,

Foq

Robert W. Pgtzold
Vice President
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Frequently Asked Questions Concerning Boating
Registration

Do I need to be a Rhode Island resident to register my boat in Rhode
Island?

No. If the principal mooring area (more than ninety days per year) of
your boat is in Rhode Island, it should be registered here.

What is required for me to register a new boat?

o Bill of Sale on dealer's letterhead
« MSO- Manufacturer's Statement of Origin
o Customer is required to fill out proper paperwork to title and
register both boat and motor:
o Boat Registration Application
o Outboard Motor Registration Application
o Use Tax Return- if applicable (Sales tax due if applicable-
if boat was purchased before July 29, 1993, then sales tax
proof is required from the owner.)
o Application for Initial Vessel Certificate of Title

Is there sales tax due?

There is 10 salés tax on boats unless the boat was purchased prior to:
July 29, 1993.'If sales tax is due, it must be paid to the RI Division of
Taxation, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI (phone 401-222-6278)
prior to registration.

What do I need to register a used boat?

« Notarized Bill of Sale or Notarized Gift Statement
o Title signed and notarized from bonafide seller, or most current owner
« Registration certificate if boat is coming from a non-title state. Please
remember Rhode Island is a title state.
o Customer is required to fill out proper paperwork to title and register both
boat and motor:
o Boat Registration Application
o Outboard Motor Registration Application

http://www.dem.1i, gov/programs/bpoladm/manserv/hfb/boating/boatfaq.htm 3/6/2011
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Sales and Use Tax on Boats or Vessels
Capped at $18,000

Bffective July:1:2010; the maxinuni tax on the Sale ot useiof aboat or vesselis $18,000."
Purchases made on or after July 1, 2010, are subject to the maximum $18,000 tax. Taxpayers
using boats or vessels in Florida on or after July 1, 2010, who are subject to Florida use tax
pursuant to Section 212,06, Florida Statutes (F.S.), will owe a maximum $18,000 use tax.

Calculation of State Tax and County Surtax

The $18,000 cap includes both the state (sales or use) tax and any applicable discretionary sales
surtax ("county surtax™). No more than $18,000 in total tax (state sales or use tax plus county
surtax) is due on any taxable sale or use.

Example:

On or after July 1, 2010, a boat or vessel is purchased for $1,000,000.00 in Indian River County
a 1% county surtax jurisdiction. The total maximum tax due is $18,000. o .

For purposes of reporting, the dealer subtracts the surtax from the maximum tax amount to
determine the maximum state sales tax. The county surtax is due on only the first $5,000.00 of
the sale amount. The total county surtax would be $50.00 (35,000 X .01). So the maximum state
sales tax is $17,950.00.

$18,000.00 maximum tax
-~ $50.00 county surtax
$17,950.00 maximum state sales tax.

The dealer should then divide the maximum state sales tax by the 6% state sales tax rate to
determine the taxable sales amount.

$17,950.00 / .06 = 299,166.66 (The taxable sales amount)

The dealer should then subtract the taxable sales amount from the gross sales amount to
determine the exempt sales amount.

$ 1,000,000.00 gross sale
- $299.166.66 taxable sales amount
$ 700,833.34 exempt amount

$17,950.00 tax collected at 6%

$50.00 county surtax at 1%

$18,000.00 Tax Due Lines 5, 7, and 10 of Form DR-15, Sales and Use Tax Return
$50.00 amount reported as county surtax on back of return on Line 15(d)
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