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The Environmental Law Section of the Connecticut Bar Association supports
passage of HB 6507 with a small, but important, change which will be discussed below.

This bill would provide the applicant for a state Water Quality Certification under
Section 401 of the federal Water Pollution Control Act the right to a contested case
hearing on the application under the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act (“UAPA”),
and an appeal of an adverse final decision to the Superior Court. This bill would provide
applicants for Water Quality Certifications the same rights that SB 835 would provide for
applicants for Structures and Dredging applications on which I testified previously.

Under Section 401 of the federal Water Pollution Control Act, each applicant for
a federal license or permit to conduct an activity which may result in a discharge to
waters of the United States must submit a certification from the state agency in the state
in which the discharge originates that the discharge is consistent with the state’s Water
Quality Standards. 33 U.S.C. § 1341(a). Significantly, the federal agency may not issue
its license unless and until the state issues its water quality certification, so the water
quality certification process vests the state agency with virtual veto power over the
federal license.

The most common circumstances triggering the requirement for a water quality
certification in Connecticut are applications to the Army Corps of Engineers for permits
for the discharge of dredged or fill material to federal wetlands under Section 404 of the
federal Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. §1344, and applications for Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission licenses for hydropower facilities under the Federal Power Act.
16 U.S.C. § 791a.

The federal Clean Water Act does not prescribe a process for the issuance of the
necessary certification but leaves that task to the states. Connecticut has not adopted a
free standing statute spelling out the process but instead has set forth the process for the
issuance of water quality certifications in a catch all statute codified at Conn. Gen. Stat.
§§ 22a-6g & h.
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Section 22a-6g requires notice of an application to be published by the applicant
for a water quality certification and several other permits within DEP’s jurisdiction.
Section 22a-6h requires that, prior to issuance of a water quality certification and the
other permits enumerated in the statute, a Notice of Tentative Determination (to Approve
or Deny) be issued by the Commissioner providing for a 30 day comment period. The
Notice of Tentative Determination is issued following a review of the application by DEP
staff.

A hearing is neither required nor referenced in the statute, and the Supreme Court
has held that, even if a hearing were in fact held by the agency, the proceeding is not a
contested case under the UAPA, because the agency is not “required by statute to provide
an opportunity for a hearing to determine a party’s legal rights or privileges.” Summit
Hydropower v. Commissioner. 226 Conn. 792, 811 (1993).

As a result, when the Department issues a Notice of Tentative Determination to
deny an application, or to impose onerous conditions on the permit, based upon a staff
review of the application, the applicant’s only recourse is to write a letter objecting to the
denial during the 30 day comment period. If the Commissioner renders a final decision
denying the application, or imposing conditions unacceptable to the applicant, following -
the close of the comment period, the applicant has no right to appeal the decision to court.

Under Summit Hydropower, the applicant’s only vehicle for relief following an
adverse final decision by the Commissioner is to request a Declaratory Ruling that the
decision she has just made is erroneous. Id. at fn 18. The final decision from the
Declaratory Ruling could then be appealed to Superior Court under the UAPA.

At the agency level, this remedy would require that the applicant proceed through
a second round of administrative proceedings without any likely prospect of relief.
Moreover, the Declaratory Ruling process fails to guarantee the applicant the right to a
proceeding conducted by an independent hearing officer, the right to present expert
testimony, or the right to cross-examine DEP staff concerning the basis for the decision
reached.

~ In summary, under the current statute, the agency can make an arbitrary or
erroneous decision on an application, and the applicant has no right to a contested case
hearing to correct the error at the agency level, and no direct right of appeal to Superior
Court.

Considering the costs to an applicant to perfect an application and the adverse
impact to an applicant from the withholding of the federal license resulting from a denial,
fundamental fairness requires that the applicant should have the right to 1) a contested
case hearing under the UAPA in the event staff recommends a denial or unacceptable
conditions, and 2) the right to an appeal to Superior Court in the event the Commissioner
- issues a final decision adverse to the applicant.




Due to the costs to an applicant of pursuing a hearing, I would expect that the
number of hearing requests would be small and would not overly burden DEP staff or the
agency’s Office of Adjudications. '

I have one small but important change to the bill as drafted. Lines 9 through 13
should be revised to allow the applicant a period of 30 days after the publication of the
Notice of Tentative Determination to request a hearing, with the hearing to be held
afterward, as is provided in many of the other permitting statutes implemented by DEP.
The language in the raised bill, as presently drafted, would require the commissioner to
hold the hearing within 30 days of the notice of tentative determination.

The language I would suggest to the Committee is as follows: “If the applicant
requests a hearing within 30 days of the publication of such notice of tentative
determination, the commissioner shall hold a hearing on such application, in accordance
with the provisions of chapter 54 of the general statutes.”

For all the foregoing reasons, the CBA Environmental Law Section urges the
committee to favorably report HB 6507 with the changes I have proposed.

Thank you for the opportunity to appear and testify on this matter. I would be
pleased to answer any questions that you may have.




