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STATE OF CONNECTICUT

Regulation
of

Department of Motor Vehicles

Standards and Procedures for Commercial Driving Schools

Section 1. Section 14-78-22(e) of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies is amended
to read as follows: '

(e) For each place of business, as referenced in Section 14-78-23 of the Requlations of Connecticut
State Agencies, [T]the applicant[(s)] shall make a cash deposit or provide a surety bond to the
.commissioner, in [an amount determined by the commissioner, as provided in section 14-69 of the
general statutes] the amount of fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000.00). However, no applicant shall be
required to provide a cash deposit or surety bond in excess of one hundred thousand dollars
($100,000.00) per driving school license. Lapse or cancellation of any insurance policy or surety
bond may result in [the] suspension, revocation or refusal to renew the driving school license in
accordance with the provisions of chapter 54 of the Connecticut [general] General [statutes] Statutes.

Sec. 2. Section 14-78-23 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies is amended to read
as follows:

(a) Each place of business of a commercial driving school shall be in a fixed location. A business

conducted from a house trailer, tent, temporary structure, temporary address, hotel room, by a
telephone answering service or the like shall not be considered a fixed location.

(b) Each place of business which is established after adoption of this section, including a branch
office, shall have a minimum of two hundred (200) square feet of space. Each school location offering
classroom instruction which was established prior to adoption of this section shall have sufficient
space and seating to conduct such instruction. Where a driving school shares space in a commercial
location, each business shall have a separate and distinct area within the location.

(c) Each place of business shall meet governmental zoning, safety and fire code requirements. A

map, sketch or drawing showing the dimensions, doors, windows and other characteristics of the
location shall be provided to the commissioner.

(d) The applicant [(s)] or the licensee shall notify the responsible fire marshall(s) for each new place
of business by certified mail prior to business use of the facility, and any substantial change in any

facility or in its use shall be reported in writing to the responsible fire marshall(s) and to the
commissioner. -

I2) The classroom facility of each driving school shall be located not more than fifteen (15) miles from
- _ 4 principal place of business or a branch office of the school.]

S=c. 3. Section 14-78-26 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies is amended to read
_ follows:

A licensee may renew a license to conduct a commercial driving school by paying the renewal fee,
[maintaining] providing the prescribed cash deposit or surety bond [as prescribed by section 14-69 of
the general statutes] pursuant to Section 14-78-22(e) of the Regulations of Connecticut State
-Agencies, and filing a renewal application with the commissioner. '
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT

Regulation
of

Department of Motor Vehicles

Statement of Purpose:

Currently, applicants for a commercial driving school license and licensees of said schools are
required to provide a surety bond in the amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) to the
commissioner. Said amount is per driving school license, regardless of the number of places of
business owned by the school. This amount is insufficient to indemnify customers, in the event a
licensee fails to satisfy any execution in accordance with Section 14-69 of the Connecticut General

Statutes. As such, the Departmeht of Motor Vehicles is proposing that the cash deposit or surety
bond be increased.

Summary of Main Provisions:

Section 1. — The proposed regulation requires that for each place of business, an applicant for a
license to conduct a commercial driving school must provide a cash deposit or surety bond to the
commissioner, in the amount of fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000.00). The proposed regulation limits

the cash deposit or surety bond requirement to one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000.00) per
driving school license.

Sec. 2 — The proposed regulation deletes subsection (e) of section.14-78-23 of the Regulations of
Connecticut State Agencies.

Sec. 3 — The proposed regulation requires that for each place of business, a licensee who renews a
license to conduct a commercial driving school must provide a cash deposit or surety bond to the
commissioner, in the amount of fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000.00). The proposed regulation limits

the cash deposit or surety bond requirement to one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000.00) per
driving school license.

Legal Effects of the Requlation:

Neither an applicant for a license to conduct a commercial driving school nor a licensee of a

commercial driving school will be granted a license, or be renewed, respectively, without providing the
requisite cash or surety bond to the commissioner.
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Be it known that the foregoing:
[X] Regulations | ] Emergency Regulations are:
[ ] Adopted [X] Amended as hereinabove stated [ ] Repealed

By the aforesaid agency pursuant to:
[X] Section 14-69 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

[ ] Section 14- of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended by Section _ of Public Act. No. __ of
the Public Acts.

_ ] Public Act. No. of the Public Acts.

After publication in the Connecticut Law Journal on , 2009 of the notice of the proposal to:

[ 1 Adopt [X] Amend | ] Repeal such regulations
(If applicable): [ ] And the holding of an advertised public hearing on __ day of ___ 2009.

WHEREFORE, the foregoing regulations are hereby:

[ 1 Adopted [X] Amended as hereinabove stated [ ] Repealed
Effective:
[X] When filed with the Secretary of the State.
(OR)
[ 1 The day of 2010.
In Witness | Date SIGNED (Head of Board, Agency or Commissign) OFFICIAL TITLE, DULY AUTHORIZED
Whereof: /
1-b-10 COMMISSIONER

Approved by the Attorney General as to SIGN OFFICIAL TITLE, DULY AUTHORIZED
legal sufficiency in accordance with Sec. / o -
4-169, as amended, C.G.S.: 7 /5 /0 BSROC. ATTY GERERAL

[ ] Approved
[ 1 Disapproved
[ ] Disapproved in part, (Indicate Section Numbers disapproved only)

[ ] Rejected without prejudice.

The Legislative Review Committee in | DATE
accordance with Sec. 4-170, as amended, of the
Connecticut General Statutes

SIGNED (Clerk of the Legisiative Regulation Review Committee)

Two certified copies received and filed, and one such copy forwarded to the Commission on Official Legal Publications in
accordance with Section 4-172, as amended, of the Connecticut General Statutes.

DATE SIGNED (Secretary of the State) BY

INSTRUCTIONS

“ne copy of all regulations for adoption, amendment or repeal, except emergency regulations, must be presented to the
_ attorney General for his determination of legal sufficiency. Section 4-169 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

Seventeen copies of all regulations for adoption, amendment or repeal, except emergency regulations, must be presented to the
standing Legislative Regulation Review Committee for its approval. Section 4-170 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

Each regulation must be in the form intended for publication and must include the appropriate regulation section number and
section heading. Section 4-172 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

Indicate by "(NEW)" in heading if new regulation. Amended regulations must contain new language in underlined and
deleted language in brackets. Section 4-170 of the Connecticut General Statutes.



