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HB 5141, An Act Concerning The Handling Of Property Claims
And Repair or Remediation Work

The Insurance Association of Connecticut (IAC) is opposed to HB 5141, An Act
Concerning The Handling Of Property Claims and Repair Or Remediation Work. HB
5141, as drafted, will require that in every claim an insured must hire a public adjuster to
settle the claim. An insured would no longer be able to freely choose who, if anyone,
they want to negotiate a claim on their behalf, including themselves. An insured would
no longer be able to decide if, and when, they might want to engage the services of a
public adjuster,

A public adjuster is hired by an insured to assist them through the claims process
and for that service the public adjuster takes up to 10% of the settlement value of the
claim. Public adjusters are typically used in large complex structural losses. However, if
HB 5141 were to become law as drafted, public adjusters would be required in even the
simplest of losses, like a broken windshield. This is a costly proposition for Connecticut
consumers., The insured will be required to pay a public adjuster a fee in every claim
regardless if the adjuster’s service is needed or not.

No other state has such a mandate as contained in HB 5141. Quite to the
contrary, the vast majority of states have determined that it is necessary for the
protection of the public to regulate public adjusters and have adopted very stringent
laws governing the services provided by them to protect consumers. For example,

Florida prohibits a public adjuster, or anyone on their behalf, from soliciting a claim at




least forty eight hours after the occurrence of an event that may be the subject of a
claim, Some states are even seeking to strengthen their laws. Pennsylvania, for
example, is considering giving an insured more time, 15 days, to rescind a contract
entered into with a public adjuster. (In Connecticut, an insured only has two days to
cancel a contract.) HB 5141 as drafted provides no benefit for the consumer contrary to
the law in the vast majority of states.

Section 3 of the bill is unduly vague and unnecessary. A person performing
remediation or repair work is already required to provide an estimate for the work to be
performed. Section 3 would require the estimate to include a disclosure statement
stating that the person represents their own interest and that such person has received
work directly from the insurer. What does “represents their own interest” refer to?
What does this mean? What value does this additional information provide an insured?
If a restoration company is sent out by an insurer, the insured has already agreed to that
arrangement and is fully aware the company was sent by the insurer. There is no added
benefit to the claim process by the language contained in section 3 of HB 5141.

Connecticut law already prohibits anyone from acting as a public adjuster
without a license (Sec. 38a-725). Anyone determined to be in violation of the law faces a
stiff penalty of a $10,000 fine, a penalty that was just increased significantly from $500
to the $10,000 level. Additionally, a person cannot provide the services of a public
adjuster if they have any interest in a construction, salvage or appraisal firm (See 38a-
788-3 and 38a-788-6). Furthermore, anyone providing the services of a public adjuster
must disclose in writing if such person has any interest in the loss proceeds beyond
those enumerated in the public adjuster employment contract (See 38a-788-4), If there

is a problem of individuals providing the services of a public adjuster without a license




or having conflicting interests, complaints should be filed so that enforcement action
may be taken,

For the above referenced reasons the IAC respectfully requests your rejection of
HB 5141, An Act Concerning The Handling Of Property Claims and Repair or

Remediation Work.




