Connecticut Chapter

: peience Store
Assoceiation

TESTIMONY By: Diana O’Donoghue, Executive Director
Submitted By: Connecticut Chapter, New England Convenience Store
Association

To: Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee

March 15, 2010

RE: Testimony Relative to SB 430; AN ACT CONCERNING CERTAIN CIGARETTE
TAX VIOLATIONS

Co-Chairs Daily and Staples, members of the Committee, thank you for the
opportunity to submit testimony on behalf of the Connecticut Chapter of the
New England Convenience Store Association (NECSA). We represent
convenience stores across Connecticut. NECSA’s membership consists of
independent, family owned convenience stores, independently owned
franchise stores as well as chain-operated convenience stores.

NECSA’s members ask you to vote agairist SB 430. If passed, SB 430 would
lessen the penalties and fines for the sale of unstamped cigarettes
(cigarettes with no taxes paid to the state) by retailers.

NECSA’s convenience store members take their legal responsibility to the
state and their customers very seriously. If cigarette product that is
unstamped is in the possession of a retailer, it has not been subject to the
proper taxes nor been distributed by a reputable distributor.

NECSA members are concerned that illegal sales by ‘trunk slammers’, those
who would sell such illegal products to dealers will be encouraged to
continue and expand their illegal activities if the fines are reduced so
significantly as proposed in this bill. Current fines are up to a thousand
dollars or a year imprisonment for knowing violations by dealers (retailers).

This bill as proposed reduces the fines to ninety dollars for unstamped
cigarettes of 600 or fewer in the possession of a dealer.

Law abiding convenience store retailers cannot successfully do business in
competition with retailers who do not meet their fiscal responsibilities to the
state and whose illegal profits on illegal product sales create a competitive
disadvantage.

NECSA members respectfully submit that SB 430 could also result in lower

tax collection for the state if the penalties are lessened on these illegal
activities.
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Connecticut has raised the cigarette tax four times in the last seven and a
half years with the most recent $1 increase per pack in October 2009, It's a
serious concern for our membership because increasing Connecticut’s
cigarette excise tax has already driven away some cigarette sales and
related purchases as it collapsed the former competitive edge that
Connecticut retailers had over neighboring states.

Now, Connecticut’s cigarette tax is $3 per pack which is 49-cents higher
than the Massachusetts cigarette tax. Additionally, the cigarette revenues
are a declining revenue source and are not sustainable.

We bring these points to your attention as you consider the negative
message passage of SB 430 would send to non-reputable dealers and
distributors.

Many convenience storeowners are managing their stores and could not be

here today. Based upon the negative impacts we've described, NECSA
members respectfully ask you to oppose passing SB 430.

Thank you for your consideration of our concerns.
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