Public Hearing:
TO: MEMBERS OF THE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
FROM: Susan K. Smith of Avon, Richard J. Kenny of Hartford, Timothy O’Keefe

of Hartford, Paul Edwards of West Hartford, Thomas McNamara of New
Haven, David M., Moore of Simsbury

DATE: March 24, 2009

RE: Support of Raised Bill HB-05446 creating an exception extending the
Statute of Limitations contained in CGS 52-577d in the event that newly
discovered material evidence is discovered. The Bill provides that victims
can file civil actions three (3) years from the date that the evidence is
discovered.

The undersigned support Bill IIB-05446, and respectfully contend that the bill should be
passed.

We respectfully submit that this Bill is necessary in order that victims of child sexual abuse
(CSA) be allowed to access the civil courts in the event that evidence is discovered after
expiration of the Statute of Limitations (SOL). The Bill provides that the evidence must
not only be material to the case, but must not have been discoverable prior to the expiration
of the underlying SOL. In this respect, the Bill mitrors legislation and rules that govern the
opening of criminal convictions based upon newly discovered evidence. The criteria stated
in the bill — materiality and new discovery — have already been demonstrated to be
justiciable.

This remedy would be available to any victim of Child Sexual Abuse, and not just one
specific class or group of victim.

Sexual abuse is a crime that is inherently self-concealing. Often victims cannot or do not
come forward because of the lack of corroborating evidence and the associated fear that
they will not be believed. This Bill would allow victims to seek civil justice in instances
when supportive evidence is discovered; whether it be photographic slides tumbling out of
the walls of a perpetrator’s former home, DNA evidence, or incriminating writings. The
unimaginable has now become imaginable in the case of a Doctor who lived in West
Hartford. But this legislation is not limited to providing a voice for his victims. Predatory
pedophiles often keep “trophy evidence”, take pictures, trade them with other pedophiles
and leave behind other well-hidden memorabilia of their crimes. This scenario could be
repeated in the cases of other victims of CSA.



Connecticut pioneered legislation that recognized the special needs of CSA victims and
allowing them an extended period of time in which to bring claims. Now other states are
expanding on Connecticut’s lead.

There are three states — Delaware, Alaska and Maine — that have abolished their
¢civil SOI.’s and have provided that there is no limitation period barring victims
from bringing cases (See statutes in attached materials).

There are 23 states which have discovery-based “springing” statutes of limitation
which are triggered by a victim’s realization that he or she was abused and injured
as a result of the abuse. These are categorized as “discovery/realization™ statutes of
limitation. (See statutory citations in the attached materials).

The New York legislature is considering a “window bill” which would allow all
CSA victims — regardless of when they were abused—to start a civil action during
a specified period time, i.e. 18 months or 2 years. This is similar to the legislation
that was passed in California. It is widely reported that the New York bill is likely
to be passed and Gov. Patterson has announced that he will sign it.

We Respectfully Urge You To Support HB-05446, Thank You.

Susan K. Smith of Avon
Richard J. Kenny of Hartford
Timothy O’Keefe of West Hartford
Paul Edwards of West Hartford
Thomas McNamara of New Haven
David M. Moore of Simsbury
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On July 10, 2007, the Delaware leglistature passed the Child Victim
Acl. The bill repeals the statute of limitations in ¢ivil suits relating to
child sexual abuse cases and provides a two-year “window™ in which
viclims can bring a civil action in cases previously barred by the
current statute, Text of the bill follows:

Section 1. Title 10 of tha Delaware Code is hereby
amended by adding to Chapter 81 a new Seclion 8145
which shall read as follows

§8145. Civil sults for damages based upon sexual
abuse of a minor by an aduit.

(a) A cause of action based upon the sexual abuse of
a minor by an adult may be filed in the Superlor Court
of this State at any time following the commission of the
act or acts that constituted lhe sexual abuse. A civil
cause of aclion for sexual abuse of a minor shall be
based upon sexual acts that would constitute a criminal
offense under the Delaware Code.

{b} For a period of two years following the effeclive
dalte of this blll, victims of child sexual abuse thalt
occurred in this State who have been barred from filing
suit against their abusers by virtue of the expiration of
the former civil statute of limitations, shall be permitted
to file those claims in the Superlor Court of this State.

if the parson committing the act of sexual abuse
against a minor was employed by an Institulion,
agency, firm, business, corporatfon, or other publle or
private legal entity that owned a duly of care lo the
victim, or the accused and the minor were engaged in
some activity over which the legal entity had some
degree of responsibility or control, damages against the
legal enlity shall be awarded under this subsection only
if thera is a finding of gross negligence on the part of
the legal entity

(¢) A person against whom a suit is filed may recover
altorney's fees where the Court determines lhat a false
accusation was made with no basis In fact and with
malicious intent. A verdict in favor of the accused shali
not be tha sole basis for a delermination that an
accusation was false. The Courl must make an
independent finding of an improper motive lo award
altorneys’ fees under this seclion.”

Previously, Delaware did not have a speclal stalule of limitations for
childhood sexual abuse cases. Under Delaware's general personal
injury SOL, any claims had to be brought within 2 years from the dale
of the [njury. 10 Delaware Code § 8119. If the abuse took place when
the viclim was a minor, suit had lo be filed within 2 years of reaching

http://smith-lawfirm.com/sol_Delaware.html
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the age of 18 (i.e., before the victim's 20lh birthday).

Delaware has a general discovery rule for "inherently unknowable”
injuries, but the courts have previously applied the definition of
"unknowable” very strictly and have not relaxed the rule lor sexual
abuse cases. More recently, in a case of first impression, the
Detaware Superior Court recognized traumalic amnesia / repressed
memory as a means of tolling the stalute of limitations. Eden v.
Oblates, C.A, No. 04C-01-069-CLS (Del. Super. Dec. 6, 2006) (slip
op.}. Compare Warner v. University of Delaware, 1995 WL 656797
(Del. Super., Oct 02, 1995) (NO. 94C-07-104}; Garcia v. Nekarda,

1993 WL 54491 (Del. Super., Feb 19, 1993) (NO. C.A. 92C-06-008).

Resources:
Detaware Code & Law Materials

Coordinating Council Againsl Sexual Assault in Delaware

Last revislon 09/26/2007. Copyrghl Susan K. Smith
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Medlatlon, Collaboration .
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Injury Cases
Smith & Moore, LLG (3} unlawful exploltation of a minor.
www.SmithMoorelLLG.com

wwrw.smith-lawiirm.com {b) Untess the actlon is commenced within three years
. of lhe accrual of the claim for relief, a person may not bring
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Alaska's minority and disability tolling {suspension) stalule,
AS § 09.10.140. Discovery is defined as when "the plaintiff
discovered or through use of reasonable dillgence should
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Resources:

» Alaska Slatules
« R.1D. Alaska Child Abuse - Legal and supporl
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Maine Revised Statutes

K3 §752-8 Title 14: COURT §752-D £4
PROCEDURE -- CIVIL
Part 2: PROCEEDINGS BEFORE TRIAL
Chapter 205: LIMITATION OF ACTIONS
Subchapter 1: GENERAL PROVISIONS

§752-C. Sexual acts towards minors

1. No limitation. Actions based upon sexual acts toward minors
may be commenced at any time,

[ 1999, «. 639, §1 (NEW); 1999, c. 639, §2 (AFF) .]

2. Sexual acts toward minors defined. As used in this section,

"sexual acts toward minors" means the following acts that are
committed against or engaged in with a person under the age of
majorify:

A. Sexual act, as defined in Title 17-A, section 251, subsection

1, paragraph C; or (1999, c. 639, §1 (NEW); 1999, c.
639, §2 (AFF).)

B. Sexual confact, as defined in Title 17-A, section 251,

subsection 1, paragraph D. (1999, <¢. 639, §1 (NEW);
1999, ¢. 639, §2 (AFF).]

[ 1929, ¢. 639, §1 (NEW): 1999, c. 639, §2 (AFF) .}

SECTION HISTCRY

1985, c. 343, §1 (NEW). 1985, c, 292, (AMD}. 1991, c.
551, §1 (AMD). 1991, c. 551, §2 (AFF). 1993, c. 176, §1
(AMD) . 1999, c. 639, §2 (AFF). 1999, c. 639, §1 (RPR).

Data for this page extracted on 12/10/2008 02:05:15,

The Revisor's Office cannot provide legal advice or
interpretation of Maine law to the public.
If you need legal advice, please consult a qualified attorney.

Office of the Revisor of Statutes
7 State House Statlon
State House Room 148
Augusta, Malne 04333-0007

2/18/2009



23 States Which Have “Springing” Statutes of Limitation Which Are Triggered by the
Victim’s Discovery of Abuse and Realization That Injuries Arose Out of The Abuse

1.

2.

20.

21.

22.

23.

Alaska Stat, §09.10.140(b) (for purposes of sexual abuse victim has 3 years from age of majority
or discovery that the act caused the injury or condition);

Ca. Civ. Code §340.1 (victim has 3 years from when victim discovers or reasonably should have
discovered that the psychological injury occurring after the age of majorily was caused by sexual
abuse as a minor);

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. §13-80-103.7 {6 years from the realization that not onby was victim abused
but injured as result of the abuse);

Fla. Stat. §415.102, §984.03 and §95.051 (provisions work together to recognize delayed
discovery doctrine in determining when to commence limitations period in sex abuse claim);

Id. Code §6-1704 (suit may be brought 5 years from date of reasonable discovery of abuse and
causal relationship between injuries and abuse);

11, Stat. §5/13-202.2(b)(5 years after victim discovers act oceurred and that injury sustained was
caused by the sexual abuse);

lowa Code Ann. §614.8A(4 years after discovery of injury and causal relationship between the
injury and the abuse);

KS Stat, §60-523(3 years from date victim realizes suffered injury or illness was caused by sex
abuse);

Mass. G. L. c.260 §4C(3 years from date victim discovers or reasonably should have discovered
that the emoational injury was caused by the sexual abuse);

. Mo. Rev. Stat. §537.046 (3 years from time viclim discovers or should have discovered that

physical or psychological injury was caused by the abuse); M.C.A. 27-2-216 (3 years after
victim's discovery that they have sustained an injury caused by the abuse);

- Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann, §11.215 (10 years from discovery that injury was caused by the sexual

abuse),

. N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §508.4-g (3 years from discovery or with exercise of reasonable diligence

shoutd have discovered the injury and its causal relationship to the sexual abuse);

. N.J. Stat. An. §2A:61B-1 (2 years from the date of reasonable discovery of the injury and its

causal relationship to the act of sexual abuse);

- N.M. Stat. Ann. §37-1-30 (3 years from the date of time the victim knew or had reason to know of

childhood sexual abuse and that the abuse resulted in an injury as established by competent
medical or psychological tesiimony);

. Okla. Stat. Ann. Tit, 12 §95 subdiv. 6 (2 years from discovery or when reasonably should have

discovered that the injury or condition was caused by the sexual abuse);
Or. Rev. Stat. §12.117 (3 years from the date of discovery of the causal connection between the
injury and the abuse);

+ R.L Gen. Laws §9-1-51 (claim against perpetrator must be brought within 7 years from the time

victim discovers or reasonably should have discovered the injuries were caused by sexual abuse);

- 8. C. Code Ann. §15-3-555(b)(3 years from time victim realizes injuries caused by childhood

sexual abuse or 6 years afler they reach age of 21);

. 8.D. Code Laws Ann. §26-10-25 (3 years from the time the victim discovers that the injury was

caused by the sexual act);

Utah Code Ann. §78-12-25.1 (4 years from the time that the victim discovers that the injury was
caused by the sexual abuse);

Va Code Ann. §8.01-249 (limitations begins to run when fact of injury and causal connection to
sexual abuse is first communicated to the person by a licensed physician, psychologist or clinical
psychologist);

Wash, Rev. Code Ann, §4.16.340 (3 years from time victim discovers or reasonably should
discover that injury was caused by sexual abuse);

Wyo. Stat. §1-3-105 (3 years after victim discovers that the injury was caused by the sexual act).



