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Background

There are 240 nursing homes in Connecticut caring for approximately 28,000 residents.
These facilities have total revenues of approximately $2.5 billion and employ over 30,000
people. The care for about 85% of nursing home residents is paid for by government
programs including Medicaid, Medicare and Veterans Administration.

Connecticut Nursing Facility Payor Mix

Medicaid 68%
Private Pay 15%
Medicare 14%

Other (Veterans/N.Y. Medicaid) 3%

Under the Connecticut Medicaid program, payment rates for nursing facilities are set on a
cost-based prospective basis in accordance with Section 17b-340 of the Connecticut
General Statutes and Section 17-311-52 of the Regulations of Connecticut State
Agencies. The federal government provides states discretion in determining the method
used to pay for nursing facility services. The state method, however, must be approved
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) within the federal Departiment

of Health and Human Services.

The annual rate period is July 1 through June 30, unless modified by the legislature and,
the-cost report period is October 1 through September 30. Cost repotts are due from
facilities by December 31 of each year. The annual cost report is a thirty-nine page
document and includes detailed cost, statistical (e.g. residents days, therapy service
volume, nursing hours) and ownership/related party transaction information.

In the current rate period, July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2009, the average Medicaid rate
is $215.37 per day and rates range from $123.36 to $270.40 per day. In SFY 2008,
Medicaid expenditures for nursing facility services were approximately $1.3 billion.

Cost Basis of Rates

Prior to the adoption of PA 91-8 (June Session), rates were "rebased" each year. That is,
the most recently completed annual cost report was used to set rates each July 1 (1989

report used for 7/1/90 rates).

PA 91-8 (June Session) revised the prior method by prescribing those cost years that
would be used for the rate years beginning July 1, 1991 through July 1, 1993. Beginning
with rate year July 1, 1994, the Commissioner was required to rebase no more than once
every two years and no less than once every four years. The 1992 cost report was first
used for the rate year beginning July 1, 1994 and was used for the fourth and final time



for the rate year beginning July 1, 1997. Rates for the period beginning July 1, 1998 was
based on 1996 filing which was also used for July 1, 1999 and July 1, 2000 rate setting,

Under 17b-340 CGS, the Commissioner is permitted, to use the most recent cost reports
for determining the property component of each facility rate to reflect capital
improvements. In this way, facilities receive additional revenue through their rates to
account for debt service and related costs associated with major property improvements,
For example, the 2005 cost report was used to determine the property component of July
I, 2006 rates while the 2003 cost report was used for all other costs,

Categorization of Costs
Reported expenditures are categorized into five cost groups as follows:

L. Direct - Nursing and nurse aide personnel salaries, related fringe benefits and
nursing poot costs,

2. Indirect - Professional fees, dietary, housekeeping, laundry personnel costs and
expenses and supplies related to patient care.

3. Administrative and General - Maintenance and plant operation expenses, and
salaries and related fringe benefits for administrative and maintenance personnel.

4. Property (Fair Rent) - A fair rental value allowance is calculated to yield a
constant amount each year in lieu of interest and depreciation costs. The
allowance for the use of real property other than land is determined by amortizing
the base value of property over its remaining useful life and applying a rate of
return (ROR) on the base value, The ROR is linked to the Medicare borrowing
rate and was 7.203% for assets placed in service in 2006. Under state statute the
maximum ROR is 11%. Non-profit facilities receive the lower of the fair rental
value allowance or actual interest and depreciation plus certain other disallowed

costs, '

5. Capital Related - Property taxes, insurance expenses, equipment leases and
equipment depreciation, '

Allowable Cost Maximums

Facility costs, calculated on a per diem basis by category, are limited to maximums
established as percentages of median costs in the Direct, Indirect and
Administrative/General categories. The allowable cost maximums are specified by year
under the statute as reflected in the following table. '



Allowable Cost Maximum Percentages By Category (% of median)

Direct Indirect Admin/Gen.
7/1/91 140% 130% 125% -
7/1/92 140% 125% 115%
7/1/93 135% [20% 110%
7/1/94 135% 120% 105%
7/1/95 to 7/1/98 135% 115% ' 100%
7/1/99 to 7/1/00 135% 125% 100%
7/1/01 Forward 135% 115% 100%

Under the statute, there are separate "peer groupings" by licensure type within the Direct
category and for facilities in Fairfield County in recognition of higher wages in that area,

Cost Component Limit Amounts (July 1, 2008- June 30, 2009)

: : Direct Indirect Admin,/General
Fairfield County
CCNH Licensure $174.25 $55.00 $27.68
RHNS Licensure $104.11 $55.00 $27.68
Non-Fairfield County
CCNH Licensure $154.17 - $55.00 $27.68
RHNS Licensure $90.98 $55.00 $27.68

Wage, Benefit and Staffing Enhanceinent Program

A Wage, Benefit and Staffing Enhancement Program (PA 99-279) was established
effective April 1, 1999 to provide nursing facilities with special funding for wage, benefit
and direct and indirect care staffing increases. The program provided for Medicaid rate
increases targeted to wage, benefit and staffing enhancements amounting to $75 million

on an annuat basis.

A facility’s allocation of the enhancement funding is based on ifs 1998 direct and indirect
cost component salary, wage and benefit costs and Medicaid utilization as a percent of

the total of all facilities.

Rate add-ons for wage, benefit and staffing increases must to be applied toward costs
associated with hourly wage increases, additional employee benefit costs such as  health
insurance and pension and added direct and indirect care staffing hours. Adjustment
funding may be applied towards wage and benefit increases for any employees except
administrators, assistant administrators, owners or related party employees.
Enhancement payments may also be used for necessary and reasonable nursing pool
costs. The average Medicaid rate increase under the Wage, Benefit and Staffing

Ephancement program was approximately $10.00 per day.

The additional payments were included in rates from April 1, 1999 through June 30, 2001
and have effectively been incorporated into prospective rates for subsequent periods due
to application of annual rate increases mandated in legislation.



Inflation Update

The Regional Consumer Price Index and the projected value of that index (by Data
Resources Inc.) are employed to inflate costs from the cost year to the rate year.
Reductions to the inflation update have been included ii statute for certain rate periods to
promote efficiency and to limit the update to meet necessary cost increases. Allowable
cost year 2003 costs have been inflated by 18.3% for the July 1, 2008 rate period
representing actual and estimated inflation between the cost period and rate period.

Incentives/Efficiency Allowances

The system provides a rate increase adjustment or “efficiency allowance” to facilities
having lower costs in the Indirect and Administrative cost categories. The incentive is
25% of the difference between the facility's cost per day and the state-wide median cost
per day in the component category.

Minimum Occupancy for Rate Setting

For rate computation purposes, allowable costs are divided by the higher of reported total
resident days for the year or facility occupancy at 95% of licensed capacity.

Limits on Year-to-Year Rate Changes
" The statute limits a nursing facility's rate increase from year to year. Rates may exceed

the increase limits only to account for additional allowable property costs. The following
is a summary of the annual rate increase limits,

July 1, 1992 6.0% July 1,2000 2.0%
July 1, 1993 6.0% July 1,2001  2.5%
July 1,1994  6.0% 0 Jan.1,2003  2.0%
July 1,1995 3.0% © Jan.1,2005  1.0%
July 1,1996 3.0% July 1,2005  15%/Net 4.5% See Below
Tuly 1,1997 2.0% July 1,2006  3.0%
July 1,1998 3.0% - July 1,2007  2.9%
Nuly1,1999 1.0%* huly 1,2008 0%

o~

* Plus an average increase of 7.5% under Wage Program-add-oﬂ.

Effective July 1, 2005 (Pubic Act 05-251)- Medicaid rates effective July 1, 2005 were

- based upon a multi-step formula. For facilities with prospective rates in effect as of June
30, 2005, the Act provides that prospective Medicaid rates effective July 1, 2005 will be
based upon 2003 cost report filings, subject to the standard rate setting formula, with the
addition of an $11.80 per day rate increase. No rates increased by more than $32.00 per
day and June 30, 2005 rates equal to or greater than $195.00 could not increase by more
than 11.5%. Any June 30, 2005 rate below $195.00 may not exceed $217.43 effective
July 1, 2005. Rate increases were implemented in conjunction with a Nursing Facility
Resident Day User Fee,




Interim Rates

Under state statute and regulations, the Commissioner may grant an interim rate when a
facility changes ownership, has a significant change in licensed bed capacity or faces a
financial distress. In these cases, there is a cost settlement process for the interim rate
periods subject to rate sefting provisions (e.g. component maximums) and any conditions
related to the interim rate (e.g. management fee limif). It is typical for the Department to
issue 30 to 50 interim rates annually related to major capital projects, ownership changes
and hardship situations.

Resident Day User Fee

Public Acts 05-251 and 05-280 established a nursing facility resident day user fee to be
imposed effective for calendar quarters commencing on or after July 1, 2005 and
calculated by multiplying a nursing home’s total non-Medicare resident days during the
calendar quarter by the user fee. The current User Fees ($15.90 per non-Medicare
resident day/$12.20 for facilities with over 230 beds or owned by municipality) have not
been increased since July 1, 2005. The current user fees generatc approximately $128

million annually.

The resident day user fee is paid to the Department of Revenue Services by electronic
funds transfer on or before the last day of October, January, April and July for the
calendar quarter ending on the last day of the preceding month,

Resident days mean each resident service day and include the day a resident is admitted
and any day for which the facility is eligible for payment for reserving a resident’s bed
due to hospitalization or temporary leave or death. Resident days do not include the day
a resident is discharged or days for which a resident is eligible for payment, in full or

* with a coinsurance requirement, under the Medicare program.

The User Fee legislation required that DSS apply to the Federal government for a waiver
of tax uniformity rules to exempt nursing homes owned by entities registered as
Continuing Care Retirement Communities (CCRCs) from the resident day user fee. The
‘Department’s waiver request was approved in October 2005 retroactive to July 1, 2003.
There are 16 nursing homes associated with CCRCs and 13 are exempt from the resident

day user fee under the Federal waiver.

In order to meet Federal waiver requirements, the Act provided that a reduced resident
day user fee be applied to those nursing facilities that are licensed for more than 230 beds
or that are municipally owned. The User Fee was reduced to $12.20 for the affected

facilities.



Medicaid Allowable Cost Limitations in Regulaﬁohs and Guidelines

Allowable cost limits that are in addition to allowable cost component limits established
in statute (17b-340 CGS) to promote economy and efficiency (Direct Care 135% of
median, Indirect 115% and Administrative 100%) are as follows:

General (17-311-52 (i) Regulations)- Costs must be reasonable and directly related to the
provision of patient care, '

Administrator Salary (17-31 1-52(b) Regulations)- Annually updated salary limits by
facility size (# of beds). Limit for 120 bed nursing facility in 2009- $84,037.

Assistant Administrator Number and Salary (17-311-52(b) Regulations)- Limit to one for
each 100 beds above 99 beds. Salary limited to 70% of Administrator limit.

Director of Nurses Related to Owner (17-311-52(b) Regulations)- Annually updated
salary limits by facility size (# of beds). Limit for 120 bed nursing facility in 2009-

$59,065.

Dieticians (17-311-52(b) Regulations)- Annually updated hourly rate. $42.97 per hour in
2009. ,

Medical Director/Physiciang (17-31 1-52(b) Regulations)- Annually updated hourly rate,
$146.61 per hour in 2009,

Staff Related to Owners (17-31 1-52(b) Regulations)- Annually updated salary. $31,969
. for 2009. :

Management Compan}: Executive Salaries (Guideline)- President, CEO, CFQ, COO and
ually. $139,437 for 2009, _

other management executives-updated ann

Management Company (17-31 1-52(g) and Individual Company Cost/Service Review)-
DSS applies limit on total allowable matagement company fees as part of interim rate

agreements (Range $4.50-$8.50/day).

Rent and/or Debt Related to Facility (17-311-52(b) Regulations)- A fair rental value
allowance is calculated to yield a constant amount each year in Jieu of rent payments
and/or interest and depreciation costs. The allowance for the use of real property other
than land is determined by amortizing the base value of property over its useful life
(Hospital Fixed Asset Guide Book) and applying a rate of return (ROR) on the base
value. The ROR is linked to the Medicare borrowing rate and was 7.09% for assets
placed in service in 2007. Financing/refinacing fees not related to construction are
disallowed and only original facility construction, renovation and expansion costs are
allowed- not purchase price by a buyer. '

Professional Association Fees (17-31 1-52(h) Regulations)- Annually updated on per bed
basis. $35.45/bed for 2009. :




" Cell Phone Number and Costs (Guideline)- 3 allowed for up to 100 beds and 1 additional
phone for each additional 100 beds with a cost limit of $360/year per cell phone,

Vans/Automobiles Cost Limits (Guideline)- $28,000 for automobile and $51, 000 for
Service Bus/Wheelchair Van.

Unallowable Costs (17-311-52(i)Regulations)- tuition/education, directors’ fees, travel
outside of 11.S., bad debts and advertising except help wanted ads.

Gifts to Residents and Staff (Guideline)- Limited to once per year not to exceed $25.00
value,

Expenses for Promotion/Enhancement of Owner’s Interests (17-311-52(1)(2)

Regulations)- Appraisals, advertising for self-pay residents, defense legal fees (reviewed
case by case), refinancing fees, etc.

Expenses for Comfort/Convenience of Owner (17-311-52(i) Regulations)- Home offices,
personal use of facility vehicles, gifts in excess of guidelines, etc.







