Connecticut Seal

General Assembly


Substitute Bill No. 855

    January Session, 2009



Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened:

Section 1. Section 22-26c of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof (Effective July 1, 2009):

(a) There shall be a Connecticut Farm Wine Development Council which shall be within the Department of Agriculture for administrative purposes only. Said council shall consist of [ten] thirteen members as follows: The Commissioners of Agriculture and Economic and Community Development, the dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources of The University of Connecticut and the directors of the Storrs Agricultural Experiment Station and the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, or their respective designees; and [five] eight members engaged in the wine production industry in this state, [three of whom shall be involved in wine production and two of whom shall be viticulturists. The Commissioner of Agriculture shall appoint the members involved in the wine production industry] appointed as follows: Two members appointed by the Governor, and one member each appointed by the president pro tempore of the Senate, the speaker of the House of Representatives and the majority and minority leaders of the House of Representatives and the Senate.

(b) The term of one of the initial appointments from the wine production industry shall expire on the last day of July, 1988, the terms of two shall expire on the last day of July, 1989, and the terms of two shall expire on the last day of July, 1990. On or before the first day of July, 1987, and annually thereafter, the commissioner shall appoint members to succeed the members whose term expires. Said members shall serve a term of four years. The commissioner shall fill any vacancy by appointment for the unexpired portion of the term vacated.

(c) Members of the council shall not be compensated for their services but shall be reimbursed for necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. No member shall serve for more than four consecutive terms. A majority of the council shall constitute a quorum.

(d) The Commissioner of Agriculture shall be the chairman of the council.

(e) The council may receive funds from any source and expend such funds as may be necessary to carry out its duties. The council may seek funding and provide financial support to organizations for activities concerned with wine production and related products.

This act shall take effect as follows and shall amend the following sections:

Section 1

July 1, 2009



Joint Favorable Subst.-LCO



Joint Favorable